We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service not a standard Hyatt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am currently staying in Hyatt. service in the reception desk was not good. Rooms are not clean. The towel was smelly and the bed sheet is dirty. I cannot imagine this is a 5 stars Hyatt hotel.

The only thing good here is the location. It has a very good and convenient location.

Overall, I am not having a pleasant experience and stay in this hotel. Disappointing!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Crystal0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Crystal0327,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We can assure you that this is not the standard that we normally adhere to as our team members are encouraged to make every effort to exceed our customer’s expectations. It is clear that on this occasion, we failed to live up to our standards. While it is never pleasant to hear that we did not meet the expectations of a valued guest, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as it will assist us to continue to improve our level of service. We hope to welcome you back soon to a better experience.

Arifin Darmawan
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night before my Sabah Adventure Challenge. Central location for exploring Kota Kinabalu and close to some very good restaurants, however overpriced for what was provided. The reception staff were very helpful on the day, but given no help with my bags by the concierge. Requested for one bed but got two single beds, comfortable but one of the beds had linen with stains on them. Left very early next morning so can’t say much about their breakfast. Will only go back if I had no choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The experience at this hotel was nothing to really shout about.

The sea view room provided great views of the sunset and had a really comfortable bed. The rain shower was amazing, but the shower curtain was a bit mouldy at the bottom.

Some people mentioned that the bathroom is not really a separate room, but that was not really a problem - the bathroom is separated from the room by a glass wall, on one side only, and there are blinds that can be pulled over the glass so it really was not a big deal.

Breakfast was quite a fiasco. No one came to offer to seat us. Coffee and tea was not available at the buffet and you had to order it, but waiters were so busy. It took 15 minutes just to get a glass of water. Selection was ok. Omelette chefs were very professional though. One of the chefs came up to me before I ate my omelette to confess he forgot to put in cheese as requested, and offered to make me a new one. I appreciate the effort!

Overall, considering the price, I would advise paying a bit more and staying at sutera harbour instead (was there earlier in the year and they set the bar really high for KK accommodation). However, if you prefer being able to walk around KK city conveniently, Hyatt would be a better choice as it is walking distance to many places you might want to visit, such as the Sunday market/seafood restaurants.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Elliealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the city. We stayed 2 nights separated by one night away in a homestay during our cycle trip. The first night we were given a room that looked into the atrium - basically a room with windows that did not look out. It has a balcony, but you don't get any sunlight, and can't tell whether its raining outside or not. If you opened the balcony door you could literally have the smell of food from whatever buffet was being served in the Atrium. Also the room has an odd open bathroom concept, and we didn't even get the full complement of towels - no hand towel. Small little things like the teaspoons for the tea and coffee facilities and notepads were missing. The furniture was a bit old and tired.

The 2nd night we requested for a room which faced out. This room was by far better, we had a city view room.

Overall comfortable rooms. Only giving it 3 stars because of the strange "windowless" rooms, and not the usual Hyatt room standards.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms overlooking the Atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

An easy 20-30 min ride from the airport, this hotel is by the sea, 3 min walk from the evening food market where you can choose the fish and seafood you want and have it cooked the way you want to experience KK life at its best with the locals. If you want to eat up market, then the hotel's Chinese restaurant serves a wife range of some very interesting dishes (try sea asparagus, a kind of seafood). The rooms are well appointed, modern, excellent shower and dreamy quality of bed and sheets - a good night's sleep guaranteed. The breakfast has a wide choice to serve different palates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This Hyatt is a Regency rather than Grand Hyatt standard. It is tired on the outside but reasonable inside. The pool is basic but adequate with sun lounges and cabanas and magazines available for browsing. Rooms are on the large side, some with open bathrooms (toilet and shower have doors but vanity area is open) and some have regular bathrooms that close off properly. The hotel is designed such that some rooms are outward facing and some face inwards to the atrium. These interior rooms have a sliding door and Juliet balcony, but on the downside lack both view and privacy unless you keep the curtains closed. They are also swathed in an odd yellow light from the atrium. Rooms are a reasonable standard and generally well maintained, although a lick of paint to cover over scuff marks on the walls would not go astray. TV Channels in English are limited (4). Housekeeping was a bit variable. Most days we had to ring for towels and shower products as they were never replenished - very unusual for a 5* hotel. This was my main gripe. If you are a Hyatt regular you will probably find the service lacking somewhat compared to other outlets. This one seemed to lack the personal recognition or service I have been accustomed to elsewhere with Hyatt. Not saying anything was bad, it was just middle of the road in this respect.

The hotel is well located for an easy walk to restaurants, Jessleton Point boat harbour, Wisma Sabah mall and the central markets.

Room Tip: Ask for an outward facing room, not an atrium facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KWKW727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hyatt Regency locates in a good place in Kota Kinabalu. I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is a bit old for it was built decades of years ago. The breakfast is nice as well as the intreseting interior decoration of the hotel. It takes about 15-20 min to walk from Hyatt to the city center which is queit small .

Room Tip: You can choose a room facing the see in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £69 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing