We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for business and short holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect for business and short holiday”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was really delighted that Hyatt still maintained my points after 15 years and let me use them all for a great 4 nights at this hotel. I emptied my account and was received like a VIP. A very friendly receiption, a birthday cake, a room upgrade as a surprise etc. Just wonderful. The seaview room was very nice (#120X), comfortable, great view, well maintained, with really nice bathroom and interior. Hyatt!
The "club lounge" had nice breakfast and cocktails every day from 17h to 19h with all inclusive mode of operation. You never felt that there is any drive to keep you dry or cut things short. Snacks and drinks were not really top quality, but hey, for that price it was really perfect.
I would chose the hotel again if I need to stay in that city. A good location also for daily excursions.

Room Tip: Floors 12, 13 and 14 are for the Regency Club which means breakfast, cocktail hour and good internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitzOblong_SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear FitzOblongo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here at our property and felt the warm Hyatt hospitality we strive to provide to our guests!

We're also happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the glorious sea view in your room as well as the facilities of the Regency Club lounge.

We've taken note of your comment on the food quality at the lounge as well and will aim to improve in this area.

It is our sincere hope that it won't be another 15 years before we get to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Kinabalu!

Until then, do let us know if we may be of further assistance to you.
Thank you kindly once again.

Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    572
    163
    51
    20
See reviews for
304
459
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our trip to Malaysia.
The service was good and the quality was high.
The pool area was decent, and the breakfast buffet was a good value.
I used the spa in the hotel for a hot stone massage and really enjoyed it. I thought that the price was great for a spa in a hotel (at least compared to American hotels).
Especially enjoyed the free wifi.
Area is great, easy walk to Jesselton Ferry, mall, restaurants, etc.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel, 2nd after the refurbishment. Overall, the service, rooms, etc are great and as expected. 1st day, we had lunch at the coffee house and tried the famous signature oxtail assam pedas. Highly recommended!!!
Our daily routine is having coffee at the Mosaic Cafe, which relaxing and people watching. After 8.30pm, all bakery items are sold at 50% discounted rate. Total value for your money! great coffee, great buns & puffs, and the ice cream is fabulous!!
Also spent some time at the Shenigan Bar.....the band is great....not sure what it is called. Good singers and selection of songs.
The staff are mostly friendly, courteous and helpful. However, we noticed there is short of staff at the coffee house and Mosaic Cafe...quite suprising considering it was during weekend, and peak period (i.e. school holiday)...and hotel was fully occupied. Experienced delay in getting orders, and service assistance at these 2 outlets.
Not satisfied with the breakfast buffet spread. Eventhough it was quite extensive, the same menu served everyday, weekend and weekdays. Anyway, the bread selection was good, and they do serve commercially packed yogurt and Nutrigen!! Love it!!
The internet service is free for 1st hour at the business centre, which is extremely helpful.
Will surely return to this hotel in future visits to KK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntanWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

It was my first time staying at the Hyatt KK. I liked the interior design of the room and especially the bathroom "à l'italienne" that opens on the bedroom (some hidden Woden panels can slide from the walls and close the bathroom). The bed was comfortable and although I had a short night I slept well. My package did not include a breakfast which was a blessing because the buffet is served in the atrium where the sound bounces against the walls, giving the impression of being in a hospital (better have something local in Gaya street). I found the rates high compared to nearby hotels like Horizon (always fully booked) that also offers modern and spacious rooms for half the price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pmdaguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt last July for 7 nights. We had a wonderful time the hotel staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. The service was fantastic they made you feel very special. The buffet breakfast each day was delicious .
The rooms were clean and tidy.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel also because it was central to everything....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Jan S,

We are elated to hear that you had such a great experience in Kota Kinabalu at our property.
We pride ourselves on authentic Sabahan hospitality and feedback like yours really goes a long way to making sure we are on the right track. We are happy to accommodate our guests every wish and enhance your experience as much as possible.

We also like to thank you for your comment on the breakfast and housekeeping, as our staff put in a lot of effort to make sure every guest's expectation is more than met.

Thank you once again, Jan S, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu.

Warmest Regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a few troubles initially as we were booked in for a night at date end of a tour and then we book an extra night the following night to extend our stay, I emailed months in advance to link the 2 nights so we wouldn't have to move rooms but couldn't get anyone to understand what i was asking. However on our way through to start the tour I went in, in person and I was promptly helped without any problems and when we checked in 2 weeks later it was all sorted. No matter the request we were quickly assisted (ice to the room, directions to restaurants, a spare seat). The pool is magnificent and breakfast was a magnificent selection. The rooms were beautiful and views from the rooms overlooking the water, beautiful. Sunset was magnificent. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Views from the sea view rooms are well worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Has all the right settings but is not up to 5 star expectations. Staff let it down. Left standing at the from counter to check in as booking did not appear despite our confirmation 12 weeks previously. No idea about customer service as we had proof and had also upgraded to the Club Rooms and should have been booking in upstairs. Luckily there were rooms available after having travelled so far. Virtually accused of just dropping in uninvited. Yeah right.
Bags were loaded and left in the lobby. I had to direct the door staff to take them to my now reserved room.

Room was magnificent but smaller and more expensive than what we had in the centre of KL and without the refinement. We had great views across the China Sea and enjoyed good food and mediocre service. The staff on occasions just do not seem to be able to understand they are employed to meet the needs of the client. Lazy in some cases. For example the doorman just stood at the front entrance texting on his mobile phone with his foot holding open the door ignoring everyone coming and going. That's all his job is.. to meet and greet. Like in Australia it did not happen when the boss was around. Slack and stackable. Get an automatic opener. .
Bizarre.
Other than that most of the staff were very nice and very helpful. Left some deserving tips. Its a lot more basic in Kota Kinabalu. However you are less likely to be mauled by the Taxi Fares as it appears fairly controlled. If done over report the taxi to the hotel concierge and they ban them from the hotel.

Located right next to the shopping centre Wisma Merdeka you can get better than KL exchange rates.
There are limited facilities in the Hotel. Its restaurants are good but no deals or specials for guests unlike that in other hotels. Average evening meal costs 100MYR pp. so pays to eat out and eat cheap. The rooms are compact but modern fit out and beds extremely comfortable. Very congested main entrance so watch for traffic.
The Malaysian Tourist Bureau has a kiosk near the front desk which is worthwhile for information.
The Club Facilities on the 13th floor are excellent and worth the extra surcharge with internet café, breakfast and cocktail hours each evening. There is a pool and a serious looking smoking room for stogie smoking.

Overall not the best value for money. Would return but not automatically and would look elsewhere first. It is centrally located but is a pretty central city so no big advantage.

Room Tip: Get the Club Rooms with an ocean view for the extra its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Linron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing