We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay in KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine stay in KK”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent two nights there Dec 30 to Jan 1. Location is right on the waterfront. Our suite was massive, but nothing special (aside from the huge, dead cockroach). Bed a bit on the hard side. Be warned that the a/c vent in the bedroom will direct cold air to your head while you're in the bed, which is annoying. Club lounge was nice and had a decent selection for evening cocktails. They didn't acknowledge my Hyatt Diamond status nor offer the requisite benefit. Otherwise, service was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    570
    163
    51
    19
See reviews for
304
457
112
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here from 23-26th Dec 2013 for Christmas! The staffs are friendly and helpful, they made us felt so welcomed every time even before you stepped into the hotel lobby! The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Good location. Nice swimming pool but did not have the chance to swim yet. Will definitely come back to stay again! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limmk612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear limmk612,

We are ecstatic to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay here over Christmas!

We feel blessed that you felt the genuine warmth that is the Hyatt brand as well as our own Sabahan hospitality. We love making our guests feel at home and comments like yours make our day!

We hope you will return and stay with us soon and be able to use our swimming pool the next time you visit! Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Helpful and competant staff. Food surprisingly good. Perfect location, walking distances to many local experiences. Happy to recommand. Moderately priced. Never do currency exchange in the hotel. Asdghkllpiyghjhvgddhjfgfddsfhhbxfhj

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted that you got to enjoy the warm sabahan hospitality we pride ourselves on. We also strive to provide dining options for every tastebud.

As for the exchange rate, we are sorry that you had a bad experience. Our rates are comparable to other five-star hotels in the city and we provide it as a value-add service.

We hope that this minor experience will not stop you from staying with us soon! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I arrived there at 2300 due to some last minute cancellation of a trip and was told that there was only one suite left. I took the room but the young female and male staff that didn't really want to serve me. When I entered the room, obviously, there was someone resting in there with dirty dishes and cup. I called the reception twice with answer, but no sign of anyone coming. I then called the room service, that reluctantly called in someone to clean instantly. I was quite angry. I had breakfast at the top floor and the breakfast was good with great view. When I left, a more senior manageress came to apologize for the room situation and offered me a discount. At least, someone still care about its service. I picked this hotel as I stayed here 10 years ago when I was younger and when it was the only 4 stars hotel in town. I had a very good memory. First was disappointed by the poor service in the reception but the manageress showed me that it's still worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Reading a few other reviews of this hotel, I am happy to recommend it. This hotel shares its market with local Malaysian travellers and tourists as well as foreigners, so if you are looking for a glass and chrome Caucasian experience, look elsewhere. But if you want reasonable value, excellent service, well appointed rooms and a good location, then this is a good place. The hotel exterior is old, and the interior décor is a little dark but on the whole it is well maintained and appointed. We only had one meal here other than club lounge breakfasts which were quite OK, but the lunch wasn't the best. But we were competing with the main buffet with an a la carte order in the main dining area so that might explain it. I would take the buffet in future, it was just a little 'bigger' than we wanted to have for that particular meal.
The club lounge staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, and made us feel completely at home all of the time.

Room Tip: We took a Regency Suite as part of the Hyatt Gold privileges. It was a great room with a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I first visited Hyatt KK about 5 years ago, and it was showing signs of its age. In 2013, the rooms and pool have been refurbished, and it has been transformed into a most modern and luxurious establishment. I stayed here for 4 nights for work, and its location in the center of town was most convenient. I could just walk to my event venue at Suria Sabah Mall, and other offices were conveniently reached by taxi, of which there were plenty waiting outside the Hyatt.
The rooms were very comfortable and had man space-saving features. The bath area was separated by sliding doors that converged to completely separate the restroom when in use,but when retracted, allowed the room to have much greater space and light. All the essentials were hidden under the kitchen sink - it took a call to reception to find out where the kettle was!
TV was an LCD with many satellite channels available.
Breakfast was OK - many of the same dishes were repeated throughout my stay, and there was not as much variety as you would expect from a 5 star. There were also odd touches, like serving dim sum with salty soy sauce.
My family joined me halfway during my stay, and the hotel was able to arrange 2 rooms with connecting doors for us. It must have been logistically difficult to do that, as I had come earlier. Kudos to Hyatt staff for that sleight of hand!
Highly recommended. I miss it already!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room. The sunsets are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear DonBoy69,

What a pleasure it is to have you as a returning customer for so many years.

For your kind information, we underwent a major room and poolside renovation which was completed in 2011. We are glad you find the changes aesthetically and functionally pleasing.

We are indeed lucky to be situated in the central business district, close to any kind of needs our guests could want and we are glad you got to take advantage of this.

Your feedback on our breakfast options has been noted, and rest assured we strive to provide a variety to suit every tastebud.

We try to accommodate our guest's every need and want to our best ability so we're thrilled to know that you had enjoyed your stay here with us! Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!


Julia Chan
Public Relations Manager
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

While the hotel is a little dated the club rooms were comfortable and the lounge great for breakfast and cocktails. However, the highlight is the service. The staff were incredibly polite, helpful and efficient. They made a point of remembering my name, albeit Mr. Paul. The club lounge offered great views of the bay and Gaya Island.

Room Tip: Seek a seaview room, usually even numbers. Pay a little extra for club floor since breakfasts and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
661 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing