We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope it improves after the renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I hope it improves after the renovations”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel, but has its problems. It's dining outlets are being renovated at the moment, which explains the minor disruption in the lobby, and limited menu on offer in the restaurant, but can't really excuse the poor quality and shocking presentation of the two room service meals I ordered - I'm not exaggerating when I say I've had better airline food! I had to send back the coffee, and they even messed up a simple beverage order.
The buffet breakfast was OK and the staff there are very friendly.
My room was big and bright, with a great view of the water, but the furniture somewhat shabby. I hope the rooms are next on the refurbishment calendar!
I'll be back in Sabah later in the year, but still not sure if I'll be back to the Hyatt - that may depend on post-renovation Trip Advisor comments!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    563
    159
    50
    18
See reviews for
300
451
110
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on two occasions. Firstly for a few days before flying to Sandarkan for a jungle stay and secondly we returned for another two days before flying home.
On our first arrival we were met by a tiny young lady with a wonderful smile.She informed us that our rooms were not ready, but would we like to sit in the bar and have lunch on the hotel for the inconvenience. We had shown no discontent at the rooms not being ready as we did arrive at twelve noon. Throughout our stay in a wonderful room overlooking the South China Sea cleaned immaculately each day, we met nothing but excellent and friendly service.
When we left we needed an early call at five a.m. After the phone in the room rang at the correct time, ten minutes later there was knock at the door. A pleasant young man from reception wanted to be sure we had received the message as he knew we had to fly out that day.
the food was excellent in both the restaurant and in the bar and coffee shop attached to the hotel.
Borneo is a wonderful country exciting and everyone very friendly.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view. Lower floors covered by conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Perfect location for a holiday - centrally located, and good facilities after the renovation 1.5 years ago. Very good sized room.
We stayed 5 nights. Checked in close to midnight and went for a late dinner / supper at a bar and café - Upperstar - across the road from the hotel. Finished the night (or shall I say morning) with a night cap at Shenanigan pub at basement of the hotel.
We were allocated a sea view room when we requested for it at check in - thanks Hyatt :-)
It is within walking distance to most city tourist attractions. We walked to Jesselton Pier to board a boat to Manukan island. Had dinner at the seafood night market as well as Port View Seafood Village at the Esplanade.
Hotel staff were very polite and helpful - they gave us very good advice on island and Kinabalu park tours.

Room Tip: Pick a room with sea view, and L3 and above as there's the hotel pub on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzMaidencruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our second stay at this lovely hotel, which despite current renovations, is still a treat. Our room on the 11th floor (ask for rooms on the end of the hallway) gave us expansive views of the waterfront and islands not to mention gorgeous sunsets. One of the best parts was being in the middle of the downtown area where it's just a few blocks to the Gaya Street Sunday market, the fish market, Filipino market and to lots of "kopi" (coffee) shops for scrumptious meals any time of day for less than $5US per person.

Hotel staff are always cheerful and go out of their way to be helpful. Our king bed and pillows were very comfortable and always clean and tidied. The pool is a luxurious way to cool down from the humidity and heat of the day.

The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport.

The only thing I wish they had was self service coffee/tea.
If you're not already a Gold Passport holder, get one! We used those points for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the end units on high numbered floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A luxury hotel. Loved the room. Have a romantic setting. Walking distance for foods. Near to the famous Pasar Basah in kota kinabalu. Near to the malls. Easy access for taxis. Friendly staff. In the town center. Neat room

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZulaikhaJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

13 nights here was just great the staff could not have been more helpful as we checked in asked a favour as it was our wedding anniversary could we have sea view not just that they gave us a room upgrade and the fruit in our room was a nice touch made us feel very special they did not have too go that extra mile but they did so thank you to all the staff even the pool guy,and the man that gave us umbrella,s just because it might rain ( and it did ) amazing ps my car broke down and they sorted itt. all the hotel team new my name (how do they do that) im sorry to say could not remember all yours but we will never forget how you made us feel we had a great time at the hyatt kk thank you mr paul and angela reeves ps one last thing beer bit expensive there is no need for it no one was in shanagans only me and the wife anyway two beers later no one at all and they closed up well done 35 myr for 1 beer A little tip for would be travellers five yards across road 5 myr come on think about it mr boss man/lady

Room Tip: just ask because if they can they will do it honestly put it this way i only wanted to go outside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A quite good experience , even if the hotel was in full renovation (really needed) , and only 2 restaurants were open. The view to the bay especially at sunset is spectacular, even if you have to pay a little extra. The rooms are getting old , I have to ask for a new desk chair as the one in the room was really broken ! Service is generally good. The breakfast is average, but with plenty of choice. The Japanese Nagisa restaurant is really top however the room services selection is very poor.
Close by at night plenty of restaurant and the open Fish markets where you can eat fresh seafood. The boat trip to islands is enjoyable, either in a group or by renting a boat for the day (around RM 200).
So a good option with Le Meridien , and let’s see how it will be when they complete the ongoing renovation.

Room Tip: Bay view , a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing