We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2008

While this hotel has most things you will need, it is poor value for money in comparison to other hotels I have stayed at in Malaysia. It is no four and certainly no five star. The rooms, while relatively spacious, are old, the bathroom is dirty - think mould stains on the grout. The carpet is worn. The internet is expensive. There was no mini bar, no toothbrush. My room smelt, I could not use the airconditioner because it made the air feel damp and smelt mouldy. There is a lot of noise from the noisy street outside. This hotel really needs a revamp. I would have no problems with it if it advertised itself for what it is - but it is far too expensive for the ambience it offers. Perhaps there are rooms that are better than mine, but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lisa046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

Hyatt Kota Kinabalu offers a great rate! I don't think you will be able to stay at a Hyatt for less than $US100 (Ocean view!!!) anywhere else in the world!

The hotel's location is great, you can easily walk to the ferry point to catch a boat to go to the near by islands and there are plenty of restaurant/ shopping malls near by.

The room itself is spacious and comes with a balcony - completes with a spacious comfortable bed!

The only complaint I have is probably the noises from outside.
I stayed on the 9th floor and yet I can hear the music from the club/ pub near by. There are also planes flying pass around 1am which is pretty loud and you can hear the motor of the boats in the early morning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sophdobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Although the hotel is very tired looking and in dire need of renovation, or at least some cosmetic work; my stay was very enjoyable, mainly due to the genuine hospitable nature of all the staff that I encountered.

The rooms are quite large but very bland and totally lacking in colour or artwork. The small balcony overlooking the ocean is a big plus.

This was not the standard that expected of a Hyatt property. The towels were very thin, the bathroom amenities limited, and very few international Tv Stations. The pool while quite large and spotlessly clean lacked any form of atmosphere.

Location was good, within walking distance to most places.

Would I stay there again ? Most probably as the pluses outnumbered the minuses.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Part of Titan Hi Tours Borneo Adventure

We stayed here for a few nights and we were not disappointed, this is a lovely hotel.

Very grand in the entrance reception. The rooms are huge with nice bathrooms.

The restaurant has a good choice for breakfast.

We ate out whilst there at Little Italy (Italian Restaurant) great food! and The Cocoon Bar we had local dishes here and paid about £1.75 for a huge bowl of curry and noodles. Fab. I loved the Cocoon bar with live entertainment most nights. Beer is about same price as UK.

KK is a fab place, you do not feel threatened at all and is as safe as anywhere.

10/10

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newlife_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Only there for 2 nights so decided to stay in Kota Kinabalu rather than the rather remote resorts to allow us easier access to shopping. Should not have bothered.
The Hyatt is centrally located and close to shopping centres and the markets which is the plus side.
The rooms were fine however we booked a sea view and got the 8th floor which had no balcony or full height windows.
The breakfast was OK on the first morning when we ate a bit later but on the 2nd morning we came down bang on 6.30, their starting time as we had a flight. There were no waitresses or chefs until 6.50 and even then only 1 very unintersted girl. 2 star service at best.
They advertise a swimming pool but it gets the smell from the fish market and very strangely you need to walk through the restaurant and foyer to get to it so no returning to your room in a towel.
Unless you are here on business stay at the resorts or at least the complex at the harbour which looks only a short boat or taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

The good service normally expected in chosing such a well known hotel chain ends immediately once left the lobby.
The hotel definitely needs a real renovation, and I guess it was beginning during my stay since there was a noisy works in progress on my floor.
This hotel represents anyway a good choice while in KK expecially considering the rates they offer.
Good location in front of the sea and walking distance from the jetty pier where you can catch the boat to the fantastic islands in front of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kinothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

This was the first hotel we stayed at during a 2.5 week trip to Borneo. We had booked a sea view room online and were upgraded to a club room on arrival, this meant that we had access to the club lounge where we could take breakfast and had free internet access all day plus drinks and canapés from 5-7pm. Complimentary softdrinks were available all day.

The hotel is a typical 4 star hotel aimed at business men but with a good helping of families as well. It has a gym, several restaurants and a pool area. The pool area is adequate, it could do with some cosmetic improvements but has comfortable loungers and a decent sized pool.

Our room was large and comfortable with a separate walk in shower. All rooms have a balcony. 2 small bottles of complimentary water are left in the room each day.

Staff were all friendly and efficient.

The hotel is very good value. We paid 54 pounds sterling including breakfast and taxes.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Les_vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £76 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing