We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location, and staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

First time to Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu and would stay here again as central to town and right on the Bay with lovely views.The Breakfast Buffet was fantastic with a huge selection of goodies for all tastes and the service is also great and friendly staff. Room are huge and very English style furniture. Bath tub and separate shower and huge balcony where we stayed on 14th floor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAKLAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    582
    166
    52
    22
See reviews for
314
468
114
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

After hearing some of the other reviews I was a littlw worried staying here. First the positives
Easy check in and check out
Clean good sized room
Very good staff at the restaurant
In town and close to the airport

Negatives:
The place is a bit old (however they are starting major reno's)

Overal we had a great stay the staff were very good the food was good and the room was more then ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshnTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I stayed 4 nights at a spacious and comfortable room with a nice view to the sea. I had booked directly with the hotel via internet, however, although I did receive a confirmation from the hotel and showed it to the staff at the reception they couldn't find neither my name nor my booking. As it turned out not a single case as my friends who arrived 1 and 2 days later all experienced the same problem. Especially the male staff is incompetent with poor knowledge of English. The same applies to the guy wo attended the business center when I needed a print out and coloured copies. He didn't have a glue what he was supposed to do. The same happened to one of my friends who like me was sent to another business center on the 20th floor who send us back to the ground floor. By chance one expat hotel manager crossed my path and saved me from the ineptness of his staff.
The food selection at breakfast is excellent, food for lunch and dinner at the same restaurant is good. The room cleaning staff does an excellent job. The loacation is great with many shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Overall the building, cleaniness and services were above average. Definately owned the name 'Hyatt'.

Beware of a red cab driver, M*hd Amin Bin Tahir, HS158. He always wonder around the Hyatt hotel. He got his friend and brought us to Kudat illegally. We didn't know red cab are not supposed to go out of town and we were stopped by the police. The police told us white cab, ie for out of town travel, charged us RM25 per person whereas He charged us RM100 per person to go Kudat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykfanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Large comfortable room with all the mod cons and good air con. We stayed twice within 2 weeks as part of our Borneo tour. On the first occassion we had a room with a view over the inside (looked out over the dining area / bar) and it was nice and quiet, very comfortable. On our return we had a room with a city view. This was noisy, but did not keep me from sleeping. Again the room was very comfortable.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboyholidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We booked and paid for this hotel in December 2008, so when we arrived at 6.45pm the night of check in we thought everything would be ready to go - we were wrong!! When we initially arrived we were told that the room we had been allocated was not available as the people who had been staying there the nights before had extended their stay, as a result we were given a welcome drink and asked to wait 20mins while they turned a twin bedded room into a king bedded room. 30 minutes later my husband went to ask if the room was ready, the man told him no and that he needed to be more patient (how rude!!!)!

Another 30 minutes passed and we spoke to another member of staff, a female who knew what she was doing. She instantly found us a room and got her colleague (the initial man) to get us the keys, when we finally got to our room we were shocked to find that it was not made up - dirty towels, unmade bed, toiletries everywhere. The female staff member then appeared at the door apologize profusely for yet another mix up!

To her credit she did send us some fruit, wine and cookies, this was very nice, but all we really wanted was a hotel room!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hol_and_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Had a couple of nights here to recover from the long flight before starting a tour round Borneo. Had 2 interconnecting rooms which were a good size, with large beds, good size bathrooms and seating area. Nice view over the sea. The Pool area was small but adequate. We had one evening meal there which had plenty of choice and of a good standard. It was in an excellent location for exploring KK , the markets and the seafront. The basement Spa was also useful after a long flight, had a welcome massage!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing