We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Ask for a refurbished room!
We stayed twice for 1 night on each occasion. The first night was in an unrefurbished 5th floor room, the other in a refurbed one on the 11th floor with a sea view. The contrast was stark.
The former was just ok, not Hyatt standard but adequate and all rooms are being updated. The new room was just fabulous! Having travelled to over 100 countries it had more style and was better designed than anywhere I've stayed. The pool is large and clean, the Chinese restaurant excellent and breakfast buffet good.
Beware using the internet in the Business Centre which is perhaps one of the most expensive in the world - $1 for 3 minutes.
A contrast to the excellent value for money for our overnight stays for which we paid just £80 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

The hotel is a large multi storey building on the seafront road in KK. Its about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the night market and the main strip of tourist restaurants. The hotel describes itself as 5 star but I doubt it would merit that in Europe. It is however probably one of the best hotels in KK. The rooms are fine—clean, spacious and well decorated. It was described in Lonely Planet as slightly frayed at the edges which I think is a little unfair. Our room had a small dark stain on the carpet, which would have been replaced in a European 5 star but apart from that it was fine. Our room looked out over the sea and the offshore islands and had a balcony around a foot wide. I saw a couple of guests stood on this but don’t believe its encouraged by the hotel..There is a pricey restaurant and delicatessan on the ground floor and a nice swimming pool, though this is situated by the main road so is maybe not the most relaxing location. The staff were helpful and efficient and there was free internet and printing, which you’d expect from a good standard hotel but don’t always get in Asia. In summary, a good, clean safe option in KK, and the internet price was fair too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed in the Hyatt Regency for a few nights and also the Le Meridien. Both were clean, well located and had gyms. They are both located along the water (only a few blocks from each other) and had swimming pools. We didn't spend too much time at the pools, but they were fine. The staff was pleasant and helpful at both hotels. The Le Meridien was a little older, but they were both of good quality. We had a normal ocean view room for the Hyatt and were upgraded for the Le Meridien. So the room at the Hyatt was a bit smaller, but still a normal size hotel room. The staff at the Hyatt brought up some free fruit after we checked in, and the maids checked the room twice throughout the day - cleaning up a bit and replacing toiletries.

We had to split our stay between the two hotels bc of availability, but I would stay at either one again. The reason I'd choose the Le Meridien over the Hyatt is bc of the free wireless. The internet at the Hyatt was not free, and was actually on the expensive side: $0.90 RM/ minute or $54 RM/ day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zutaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My lasting impression of this hotel will be of the service. We had booked a club room and were brought to the lounge where checking in was a dream and the fantastic staff gave us suggestions of what to do for the evening, where to eat etc. The club facilities were great and all staff again very helpful. Our room really was gorgeous BUT there were these teeny little bugs running around the sink area which was offputting. The morning after a night out we went down to the spa - bit of a maze to get to but the treatments were just blissful and again the staff absolutely lovely. Overall a really great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alv30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Very dated hotel, and the room on the floor where I was staying was disgusting. The ceiling was very mildewed, and dripped when I got out of the shower. When you pushed the flush button for the toilet it would also drip water. The carpet was stained and mildewed and the walls could definitely use for another coat of paint. I was only there for two nights so I didnt even bother trying to move rooms. The staff were pleasant enough and the food was good at the breakfast. I definitely would not stay there again and I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

almost everything about this hotel is very good, especially the room service, housekeeping, etc. just ask whatever you want, the staffs, they'll never disappoint me so far..i really enjoyed my last stay over there about a month ago..

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank mohdsyahrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The great place to stay situated in Kota Kinabalu. Great sunset view. The best Ekor Asam Pedas and in house burger. Nearby to KFC, shisha, Burger King and 7E for convenience. Parking facilities complimentary.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Zakuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £71 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing