We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed a week in early July 2010 in two rooms with our teen aged sons in one room and us in another. Had a really terrific time and can't thank the hotel staff enough. Every one of them did all they could to improve our stay. Had two Seaview rooms on the 10th floor which appeared to have been renovated in recent years - nice big rooms with good fittings in which everything worked as it should. Arranged tours from hotel tour desk which were all great and price very competitive with others we priced and in talking to other participants on tours who aften had paid more. could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_B_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

The Hyatt Regency is a very nice hotel indeed, particularly when you are staying in one of the newly decorated rooms. Service is outstanding and the food is excellent (though eating out in the adjacent Wisma Merdeka Shopping Centre is also a pleasure – and certainly more authentic and a lot cheaper). Apart from all other amenities that come with a hotel of this category, its outdoor swimming pool was one of the main reasons we chose for the Hyatt. However, it seemed the pool was also subject to the current renovation works as it was closed during our stay. To avoid complaints and discount claims, the hotel management had provided swimming opportunity in the nearby Meridien Hotel where we were brought and picked-up by a taxi. But such arrangement cannot be compared with having a pool next to the elevator doors as it requires much more time, preparation and hassle to have a swim. We used this arrangement just once and when returning from an excursion we had a shower for a fast cool-off instead. Luckily, we had only a short, 2-night stay before heading off into the hinterland

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I stayed here with my family (wife and 2 daughters) last week...I got the online Hyatt family vacation deal, which gave me one room at the regular rate (RM 350 - approx US$110/night) and a second room for the kids at RM 160/night - both rooms for around US$160, plus we got the buffet breakfast included. On arrival, we had 2 huge connecting rooms, new and clean, with a king-sized bed in one room and two double beds in the other, and a great sea view on the 10th floor. Hotel staff were extremely polite and efficient, and the overall experience was excellent.

We were impressed with the obvious attempts to make this a high-end venue and the efforts being made to provide good service. We were particularly impressed with the reception desk, wait staff in the Atrium restaurant for breakfast, as well as the Nagisa Japanese restaurant.

Location is okay - on the waterfront near the markets, which (as with most cities in the region) are noisy and smelly. However, the rooms were quiet and well air conditioned compared to the humidity outside. The views out into the bay and the sunsets are incredible.

For the price we paid, and the rooms that we received, we didn't feel that we could have done better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simple_er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

good location
you can find every facilities you need in the hotel
not so expensive

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Hi - i stayed in the Hyatt KK for a week whist visiting Borneo. Due to the limited number of 5* hotels in Kota Kinabalu (excluding resorts), it was a logical choice to stay in the Hyatt. Upon check-in i wasnt offered a discount or upgrade which i thought was a bit disappointing. We booked into a city view room - the rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom was on the small side and was equiped with a traditional lie-down bathtubs. I personally prefer large walk-in showers. The breakfast was good thou. Location is excellent, right in the heart of the town a short walk to the harbour. What would have given this a 5* rating is if the price was lowered to align it to the service and qualuty. One last thing - the spa was great (esp after climbing Mt Kinabalu) but again over priced.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This was to be the ending highlight of a three week holiday around Vietnam and Borneo. We booked two nights at the Hyatt expecting its reputation to uphold our expectations. What a disappointment! They are doing refurbishments, which are way overdue, but no-one told us until we had booked in. They apparently do have re-furbished rooms but we were put in the old ones that have mold on shower curtains, worn carpets and dirty marks on the walls. I think maintenance has been put on hold on these rooms ready for re-furbishment.

The location is central, but with a roundabout just outside the window, the pier and river also right on the doorstep the noise of cars, buses, motor bikes and boats coming and going didn't allow for much rest. As if this isn't bad enough there is a nightclub down in the basement and my pillow felt like it was thumping til the early hours both th Thursday and Friday nights that we were there. Thankfully we weren't there for the Saturday night!! I think management need to decide whether they want to keep the nightclub patrons happy or hotel guests - hard to see them doing both.

The staff tried hard but even so the service was sub-standard. We would probably have accepted it if it wasn't supposed to be a five star hotel. We waited 45 minutes for a drink by the pool, with the pool attendant having to ring and chase it up four times.

This was also the only hotel in all our travels that didn't offer free internet access.

Very disappointed and certainly won't be recommending anyone come anywhere near this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonmali352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

This is a very tired and substandard Hyatt. I just needed one night in Kota Kinabalu before heading off to a different location for the rest of our vacation. Not knowing one hotel from another, I went with the name brand, assuming that offered predictable quality.

On the good side, the food was good (though not great) and reasonably priced. We had lunch in the Chinese restaurant in the lobby and then a buffet dinner also in the lobby. The location is also convenient to shopping, restaurants, and to the city center and pier.

Ironically, the location was also a negative. There was a foul odor coming from somewhere near the hotel, perhaps the pier. Traffic in the area was also occasionally loud. The worst part of the experience was the room. The carpets were dirty and worn, covered with patches in some spots. The beds were okay. While it seemed clean, it also had a musty and moldy smell. Hotels in the tropics are prone to mold, but I thought the Hyatt would suffer less from this problem. The service was friendly and efficient so few complaints there.

The swimming pool was fine but its location was terrible. Residents from the dilapidated apartment across the street looked right into the pool area so privacy was a problem. The pool was also set across from the street and the pier so noise and odors were abundant.

Had this been a local or no name value hotel, I would have been more pleased with the experience, but I paid a premium for the Hyatt brand but didn't get the value. The Hyatt either needs to step up its game here or sell this place.

R

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexetersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £71 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing