We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bad check in experience - terrible first night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad check in experience - terrible first night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Whilst on a mini tour of South East Asia with myself my husband and two children aged 18 and 14 we stayed at the Hyatt for 8 nights. The check in (and out) experience was terrible. We were given two twin rooms even though we are a married couple, we were on a smoking floor even though we requested (and were guaranteed a non smoking room) and we overlooked the atrium which has music until midnight and we had just flown from London so were tired.

Anyway it got better we were moved the following day to a town view room which was fine. The rest of our stay was fine - the location, pool, jucuzzi and steam room were great. On checking out we were charged 4 different prices for breakfast so we had to go through the bill very carefully and check the charges were right. Disappointing for such a large and reputable hotel chain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Efficiency of front desk
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    520
    148
    47
    17
See reviews for
271
401
101
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed in a Regency Club room (1303), which overlooked the South China Sea and the islands of the JAR nature reserve.

The first thing I'd say is that the hotel is a 4-star hotel which was built about 20 years ago. It's true to say that it's in need of a bit of TLC, in terms of re-decoration - it's all a bit 1980's chic really. If you can overlook that, then everything else about the hotel is great!

The service is excellent, the food also was excellent with a superb buffet breakfast each morning (I would recommend booking the full breakfast, even if you stay in the club rooms, where a continental breakfast is provided free).

The swimming pool has been criticised for a lack of character, which is true, but its a decent CLEAN pool with loungers around and towels available to use. The pool area gets sun throughout the day and there are parasols with each pair of loungers, so I thought the pool was fine!

Being in a club room gave access to the club lounge which provided unlimited drinks (alcoholic and soft), with waiter-service between 5 and 7 pm each evening. Along with the drinks there was also a small buffet with a range of foods each evening - always fresh fruit, crudites and cakes with 4 or 5 savoury items which changed everyday - things like sushi rolls, satay etc. For the extra 30 ringgit per night this seemed like good value, especially as you could help yourself to soft drinks, tea and coffee with fruit and biscuits throughout the day as well.

The location of the hotel is excellent, the club lounge overlooked the south china sea and had wonderful views of the sunset over the islands. The hotel is in the middle of town, so you can easily go out and eat very cheaply, you're certainly not stuck out in a resort with no other options available.

There are lots of bars around and about, most of which seemed modern and uptodate, such as you'd find in the UK. the bizarre thing is that lots of the bars have bands, which play everynight, doing covers and requests! The really weird thing was that the two we saw, both had 7 members, with 2 girls and 5 guys. they were both excellent entertainment and "musica" in Shenanigans provided the soundtrack for our holiday!

  • Liked — The Location, in town centre with wonderful views
  • Disliked — The decoration!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianBettley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

As other reviewers have said, the rooms are very nice (except for the carpeting). The in-house restaurants were good, as was the
spa, and we found the staff to be charming and helpful.
It is a standard business hotel, and perfectly acceptable if you want to be in town. For a vacation, however, we prefer the Shangri-la.

  • Liked — Great service, nice rooms.
  • Disliked — Too business-oriented for a vacation, though it is near the bars in town.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

After returning to KK from Sandakan we decided to try the Hyatt. We were a little bit dissapointed, it's just your regular Hyatt.

We had a suite, which was beautifully decorated and very spacious with a huge bathroom. I have nothing bad to say about the room I loved it! There was even a room for luggage!! There was a tv in the living room and also in the bedroom (also dvd players). The view of the sea was also great.

The pool was ok, nothing spectacular. Just had a quick swim, the pool area really doesn't entice you to stay longer.

I had a few shorts washed in the laundry but mainly used the chinese lady's laundry a few steps away from the hotel. It was so much cheaper and very efficient and the clothes came back just as clean (if not cleaner than Hyatt).

The breakfast was served in the club room but I'd rather have eaten the regular breakfast, didn't ask if that could've been possible. My hubby got food poisoning from the yoghurt (most likely) at breakfast which was sitting in a bowl for the whole morning (okay - his own stupidity for eating it). When I complained 3 sorts of different managers came to apologize (that didn't help!) and they asked if he'd seen a doctor.

There was also a nice evening snack included in the suite, served in the club room - drinks (wine, soft drinks, beer..), satay, sushi - that sort of thing.

The location is great - near the sea and good restaurants and bars just outside. There's also a shopping complex right next to the Hyatt.

If you like Hyatt type hotels I'm sure you'll like this one as well but I felt that it was missing that special "something".

  • Liked — The beautiful suite.
  • Disliked — Food poisoning.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

Room type: Ocean View Room
Stay period: 27 April - 30 April 07
Room rate: RM225 before taxes, RM258.75 with taxes. Approximately USD75.00 inc taxes at the time of booking.
Booked through: Hyatt.com with its "Guaranteed Lowest Rate"

We actually booked a City View Room but was given an Ocean View Room which was supposed to cost RM30 more.

I would have to say the services are 5 stars. The safe in the room was not working and we called for room service, a handy man turned up within 5 minutes or so and fixed the safe. Great services including extra housekeeping needed and in-room services (food).

The room size is 45m2 and its bath room is large.

Everything is great except the carpet looks exhausted.

Claudia Lim

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Redglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

Booked direct online with the Hyatt - Had the Ocean View Room - what can I say - excellent!. Has a balcony with breaktaking views. The room itself was excellent, modern & large, also the bathroom was quite large. The staff have been excellent - attentive & friendly. They did forget to clean our room after the first night however this was promptly attended to within 30minutes of advising them. Lovely huge foyer with nightly entertainment of two good singers whilst relaxing with drinks. The buffe dinner was more than excellent. The Chinese restuarant was excellent also. There is also Shenigans bar next door, good gyms & the pool was wonderful. Will definately return to the Hyatt - its right in the centre also & right out the door is a good shopping complex.

  • Liked — central location & attached to a shopping centre, & variety of restuarants.
  • Disliked — loved all of it
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
12.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing