We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We just expected more from a Hyatt Regency hotel.
When we arrived neither of our two rooms had been cleaned properly, including dirty towels dumped on the floor in one of the wardrobes. We had 2 newly refurbished rooms, and they are large and fitted out very well, but dirty and dusty surfaces, partially hoovered floors, dirty towels and uncleaned washbasins don't exactly endear you to a room. On the plus side when we pointed this out, the response was quick, and after that the rooms were kept clean. Another cleanliness indicator though was the length of time things such as crockery and glasses from room service were left in the corridors. The record was a tray with a plate and glasses which sat there for almost 48 hours. Given the number of rats we saw at night in the streets of KK, probably not the best idea.
2 days before we arrived we received an email informing us that the swimming pool would be out of action until the end of January. Shame nobody had mentioned that before! They told us an arrangement had been made with Le Meridien to use theirs and that transport was available. So one day we decided to make use of this, and when wanting to come back, were left waiting like lemons for 40 mins before being told to "jump in a taxi". This was all apparently due to a miscommunication amongst the staff. More like rubbing salt into the wound. Service at breakfast was hit and miss, one time I asked for more butter and tea 3 times before giving it up as a lost cause, and that wasn't the only time or porblem.
The hotel's smoking policy is another issue, in that the main area where you have breakfast, and where the NYE buffet and band were, was all a smoking area (even though there's a very misleading "No Smoking" sign stuck up high on one wall). Us non-smokers have to go to a low-ceilinged, freezing back room. I'm sorry but in this day and age in a US hotel chain, that smokers who inflict their habit on others get superior treatment than non smokers who don't, is intolerable.
The whole set up just lacked a huge dose of common sense.
In addition when we pointed this out, we were treated rudely and very unprofessionally by the "Director of Food & Beverages"
During our stay we were given a free night, a bottle of wine, and we ended up not paying for the NYE buffet, which was all very good of them, but we weren't looking for discounts and refunds, just a nice relaxing stay. Unfortunately there were just too many issues stressing us out for me to be able to write a good report.
We stayed in 3 hotels on our trip and the only problems we had were here. Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
By the way, regarding the 5 islands of the Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park, two including the largest Gaya, are now considered off limits to day trip tourists, as they are too dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    547
    152
    47
    17
See reviews for
290
431
107
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

The view was breathtaking. Waking up by a floor-to-ceiling window every morning overlooking the sea: amazing. A bed you don't want to get out of. The room is amazing. Especially love the bathroom. with such open concept. We got 2 adjoining rooms which had 2 different layouts. Service is great. [Except that the tour guide based in the hotel wasn't helpful at all. Researching on my own was so much better.] Its central location, along Jln Tun Fuad Stephen makes it so convenient to go anywhere around the city. I just wished they had free wifi. The hotel still uses cable to get on the internet, and it's chargeable! :/

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myeisha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed for a week over the Christmas period.
The hotel entrance was very tired looking. The lobby is dark and in need for a do-over. The restaurant facing the entrance looked spacious but again, rather tired looking and lethargic. Lighting could have been better. The staff were friendly though.
However when we arrived in the room - we had connecting rooms with our kids - I was very happy with the big picture window facing the water. We paid more for this ocean view room and am glad that we did so otherwise we would be looking at the buildings around us. We were also given the 10th floor that we thought was helpful for the ocean view. It was lovely to look out to the water especially when the sun was high.
The room was spacious, the bathroom was renovated. However the water pressure was weak and the hot water was not hot enough. It was a nice touch to have the "rain shower" option but it would last about 30 seconds before you need to push the button again.
The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows - they had both normal pillows as well as feather pillows - which I thought was really good. Also it was plenty of distance from the tv if you were watching it from the bed.
The carpets in the room should be changed too. It was thin and old. And my son's socks turned black after running around a few times.
Breakfast was ok - there wasn't enough cooks manning the omelette, noddles and roti prata station. I saw many guests waiting patiently but a few had to ask the waiters if there were other cooks around to serve them. The coffee arrived lukewarm and for the 7 days we were there, the dishes were all the same for the whole week. I recommend the beef rendang. The fruits were hit and miss, sometimes fresh, sometimes stale. The smoking section was near the entrance, while the non-smoking section was at the back, which is about 2 degrees colder at the back of the restaurant.
Location - it was ideal that Wisma Merdeka is just about 10 steps to the left of the hotel. There is also a laundromette 2 streets down perpendicular to the hotel - helpful when we are staying for a week. I had a nice foot massage for only RM30 on the street down to the right of the hotel. We also rented a car to drive to Mt Kinabalu. We found that more economical than taking a taxi. We drove to the park and walked up the mountain till we reached about 2.5 km in elevation. It was great fun!
We would come back to KK again as there are lots to do but I don't think we will come back to the Hyatt again. It was not worth the money we paid for the rooms. Also, I cannot believe that we still had to pay for internet service. Do be careful and check your invoice as they had over-charged us on that.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Some hotels are made great because of their staff. This is one of it. Hyatt Regency has a wonderful location downtown, making it easy to get to the travel agents that provide tours to the Tunku Abdul Rahman marine park, Kinabalu Park and various local, nearby destinations. I was amazed with how at least one very senior staff going out of her way to make sure that I had a pleasant stay, especially after I found out that the swimming pool was closed for renovation. With a kid in tow, a pool is an almost must-have for every vacation, and while sorely disappointed that we couldn't dip our toes into one, the particular staff made sure we still had a pleasant stay. The refurbished room we had was spacious, with a large flat screen TV and a DVD player installed. The buffet breakfast had a great selection and the bread from the hotel bakery is simply amazing -- among the best I've had all my life! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

The Hyatt has completely re-vamped all its rooms. Sea view room was very good and the view from the window excellent. Ideal position just behind the promenade and beside shopping centre.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulRWonnacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, not the greatest Hyatt hotel I have seen but absolutely nothing to complain about. Rooms was recently renovated, very clean and comfortable. The pool a closed for renovation when I visited. Staff helpful. Location great - not for you if you are looking for a beachfront stay, but a very handy location in town. Bars and restaurants close by, eay walk to shops and the jetty for boats to the islands. Recommended option of you are looking to stay in this part of town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeingIsBelieving007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

I recently spent an evening in a Club level room, with a view overlooking the South China Sea. From my room, and the Club lounge, I enjoyed a view of spectacular Kota Kinabalu sunsets, and enjoyed the outstanding, complimentary snacks and drinks in the Club lounge. The service was outstanding without being cloying, and attentive. After hectic days shopping and sightseeing, the Hyatt was a wonderful place to return to and get refreshed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing