We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to all staffs!”
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Kudos to all staffs!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Kudos to the whole staff and management who have clearly contributed significantly to the hotel (and its subsidiaries) which is extremely popular and well run. I'm glad to have experience the hospitality and service which are very highly commendable. We certainly will look to Promenade for our events. But our only concern is that it is always fully booked!.
Anyway, we will continue to try our luck. And also spread the word of THIS PLACE worth going to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TST_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    261
    167
    50
    33
See reviews for
91
131
45
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked the room online and the rate was very attractive. Looking at the location i was thinking it should be a good deal.

When i arrived the hotel only i realised that the best value room that i have been booking from hotel is location at 3rd floor which is where all the hotel offices/department were. The rooms seem like a bit runs down.

Anyway, the breaskfast selection was ok and is close to Philipino market and Wawasan square. Jesselton Jetty is also walking distant too.

Besides, as a business traveller, i was a bit puzzel where parking is not complementary and guest has to pay for parking

Tip: If you purchase any live fish, you can request to use their frezer with some charges.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuxannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We reached the hotel at 2 pm and were told that our rooms are not ready. We ended up waited for an hour plus before the room is ready. The moment we stepped into the room, we were smoked out! The whole room smells like an old cinema house when public smoking is not prohibited. We asked to change to another room but was told that all rooms are full. Next 'surprise' was the room was not equipped with a safe! So every time we want to get out for island hopping, we had to use the locker service in the lobby, For 3 nights we stayed there, there's only one night when I get to enjoy hot shower. The rest are freezing cold water. We called to the service desk to ask but were told that there's problem with the boiler and it will take a few hours to get hot water into our shower again. I waited until 1am, but still get freezing cold water! We took their towels out for island hopping activities and when we got back, we received a note from the hotel housekeeping, reminding us, 2 towels were lost and will be charge on us upon check out. Having been to hotels in Phuket, Krabi and Bali, we always take out their towel during island hoppings but had never received such warning notice! The swimming pool is a joke!

Location wise, it's far from Jesselton jetty and the main markets. We ended up renting a car but had to paid MYR2 per entrance for the hotel parking even though we are staying at the hotel!

The only thing I like about Promenade is probably their patissier who made very good cakes and breads for breakfast. I enjoy their pastries very much. I would happily stop by to buy their breads and cakes but I would never stay here ever again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nee_Etp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Really lovely hotel, attentive staff, great location, good food, pool close to street but cannot be seen while swimming. Glad we moved out of an other hotel to finish our stay in Malaysia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddyboots73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was our second stay at his hotel and it was still as good, Location is excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Rooms (Promenade Floor) and food were great. With regard to someone's previous comment regarding the pool being smelly, I believe that the smell referred to would have come from the nearby waterfront which does have a polution problem. We always found the pool to be fresh and clean. Hard to find anything negative about our stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Well worth the little extra cost for a Promenade floor room with seaview. Rooms are great and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great location , good breakfast, good service & large room, also provide airport transfer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonmums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Promenade is overdue a refurbishment in the rooms if it's claims to be a four star hotel are to be taken seriously. The restaurant is very nice and the breakfast was great. The best thing about the hotel however is the location as you are a short walk from the waterfront area with a great choice of bars and restaurants. I visited the hotel bar in the evening and there was a very friendly group and the bar staff were also extremely friendly. It may not be as pleasing on the eye as the Meridian but after staying in both I prefer the Promenade for the staff. For a great night out visit the Sedco square seafood centre when you are in K.K.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted00120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing