We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promenade Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promenade Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Promenade Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I'm a solo woman traveller in my 40s, stayed 5 nights with a group tour.
The hotel seems to be a gracious faded lady. The room very big clean with glorious old wooden furniture and fittings. Other said it was 'shabby' but that's a bit tough, she's just past her glory days maybe.
When I got sick (not at the Promenade), Laura and especially Nobilan were empathetic beyond my imagination. I was taken to hospital and cared for wonderfully in my remaining days there. Who cared then that the fittings were past their best?

My 5th floor room had an exit to sit outside, just lovely.
Incidentally I really recommend Borneo Trails, we did a specific orchid-experience with them over 3 days. Not only orchids but much else unexpected. The company won an award while we were staying.
The internet is MYR5 per hour (and round behind the hotel its MRY1/hr at the cyber cafe full of gaming teenagers), but I was delighted to get a discount with my long time blogging and hey, the service outweighs the weary feel.
Oh and the lobby boys in their uniforms are nice eye-candy.

Room Tip: The sea-facing rooms have the most beautiful sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    243
    156
    42
    28
See reviews for
84
118
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Head a great experience at this hotel after reading reviews here on Tripadvisor. We booked the 10th floor and paid extra for the Executive Lounge. We actually were put on the 11th floor which was excellent. We had a suite, with two big windows overlooking the ocean, loads of room to relax. The breakfast in the Lounge was good, with plenty of fresh fruit and pastries. Not too much in the hot area unless you like Asian type breakfasts, but generally plenty to choose otherwise. Canapes in the evening are nice and lots of variation, and the drinks flow easily. Sit out on the balcony and take some photos as the sun sets. The bar staff are really good, and the Lounge Bar downstairs has free internet. There is plenty of entertainment in the bar and the nightclub too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieclaire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Accommodation was very clean, but very average. Very old furnishings. Staff polite but not friendly. Location was very good. Very close to restaurants, markets and shopping centres. Food in the restaurant was very average. Much better options available in the restaurants on the wharf.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeannv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was here for a course and the organizers booked a twin-sharing room for me and my colleague. The hotel is located at the end of a major road facing the sea, so most of the tourist spots like the bars, pubs, Phillipine Markets are within walking distance.
The hotel room was clean and spacious enough for 2 persons on a business trip. Staff were attentive and were prompt for their wake up calls. All the usual amenities were there including an ironing board. TV was still the old CRT type. When are hotels going to shift to LCDs? The only problem I had was that they took quite long to make up the room even though I left the sign outside the door from morning. They only cleaned the room at 3pm.
As some of the other reviewers mentioned, the pool is located besides the cafe and main entrance. Not a problem for me, but if you're shy, this might not be the best place to be showing off yourselves to gawking diners! :)
Overall, the hotel is good enough for short stays. A lot of government departments and agencies like to hold their courses here, so getting a room might be a hassle. Not a bad choice but I might check out Le Meridien next time I'm in KK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed here on holiday and business, on three separate nights, all booked ahead. It's a comfortable place but NOT a four star. The bath is like a standard motor in motel and so is the pool. The pool is located next to the main road in front of the hotel's main restaurant, and separated from the road by a chain link fence.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking floor, which are only two of about 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geojak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Kudos to the whole staff and management who have clearly contributed significantly to the hotel (and its subsidiaries) which is extremely popular and well run. I'm glad to have experience the hospitality and service which are very highly commendable. We certainly will look to Promenade for our events. But our only concern is that it is always fully booked!.
Anyway, we will continue to try our luck. And also spread the word of THIS PLACE worth going to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TST_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked the room online and the rate was very attractive. Looking at the location i was thinking it should be a good deal.

When i arrived the hotel only i realised that the best value room that i have been booking from hotel is location at 3rd floor which is where all the hotel offices/department were. The rooms seem like a bit runs down.

Anyway, the breaskfast selection was ok and is close to Philipino market and Wawasan square. Jesselton Jetty is also walking distant too.

Besides, as a business traveller, i was a bit puzzel where parking is not complementary and guest has to pay for parking

Tip: If you purchase any live fish, you can request to use their frezer with some charges.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuxannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing