We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & value”
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
BINTULU
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location & value”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The room was average but comparing the price with other hotels, it is quite affordable. Not so bad though. The hotel is also very near to the town area & can have a walking distance to the nearest shopping mall. Not the resort type of hotel but ok for just to spend the night ater a long walk around KK.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NURY888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    260
    165
    48
    30
See reviews for
91
127
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Had a two nights stay at this hotel during my business trip in mid of November.

The hotel is a bit old and rooms are small with not so comfortable beds. Bathroom is basic but clean.

There is a Giant Supermarket near the hotel which is convenient to grab some quick bites, food and water.

Breakfast is good with varieties and not so crowded, probably it was already 9+ in the morning.

Overall stay is ok for short business trip but I will not stay here for family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light-cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on a business trip. Nice hotel. Nothing great and nothing bad. Importantly the price is cheap considering the service. Some rooms are under renovation but did not hear or see any contractors working. So what i can say it is quite nice. Smoking room available without the smoke smell. So that is nice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank azizyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was accompanying a colleague who was in 'KK' on a business trip. On checking in we were only given breakfast coupons for one person (breakfast for two had definitely been requested on booking) and we had to argue until this was allegedly resolved. How can you provide a twin room with double occupancy and argue over a breakfast coupon ? Although we were provided with six coupons for three days there was still an argument at the breakfast desk next morning. Groan...! Eventually they admitted they had made a mistake. The breakfast selection was fair and the food tasty with some Western dishes available. Service was pleasant and efficient. Our tired room had a safe which was broken and needed the maintenance man to come along and fix it. The safe was not bolted down in the wardrobe and could be lifted out and taken away. The maintenance man just shook his head when I pointed this out. I wondered if we would get the blame for the safe being broken ! I liked the slip of paper itemising the towels in the bathroom and warning that we would be charged if any were missing. Gosh ! This hotel loves to think the worst of its guests. To add to the insults the bath water was tepid instead of hot. Towels were fluffy but having a shower necessitated a stoop as the shower rose was mounted very low on the wall above the bath. However, the bathroom was spacious. Our so-called 'Non-Smoking' room had a good collection of cigarette ash in the wardrobe. I stayed in the room for a few hours during the day to avoid the deluge of rain and there was a lot of noise from the ongoing refurbishments on the upper floors. The work started at 08.30 with tapping, drilling and sanding noises. I was not able to use my computer as there was no wired internet due to the refurbishments. TV reception was also hopeless at times. The room was clean and comfortable with old fashioned furnishings. I liked the two pillows on each bed. As the title suggests there is nothing to excite about this hotel but it is adequate for a short stay in 'KK'.

Room Tip: I look forward to trying a 'refurbished' room for future stay here, so maybe see if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

It's too old. Smelly like cigarette odour & old wood furnisher. The carpet it's dusty. It's interior design most like 3* hotel design and I think it's more better shopping mall toilet than this place's toilet. Never change a bit. Still the same like old time. I notice that they just renovation and upgrade on G floor. The lobby huge, feels luxury, and full of blink like that. They just want to impressed guests from the outside especially lobby floor?. Ohh come on! Look at this room! NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY PAY TOO MUCH EXPENSIVE for this place. Not recommended guys! Because I'm standing in the middle of this room now!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArenAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is undergoing an extensive renovation program. Some floors have been refurbished but work is still ongoing. We were in a group and had a mix of old and new rooms among the group. The newly re-decorated rooms are modern and attractive with shower cubicles. Wifi is good everywhere. Flat screen TV is provided. The restaurant serves good food and prepared a large spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. However, when we were there (week 21st Oct 2013), the restaurant is practically closed for walk-in guests looking for lunch due to some events taking place at the hotel. We had to walk out to the next door seafood restaurant for lunch (more pricey). Else you have to wait for the lunch crowd to disperse after 2pm.
Location wise, you can view sunset towards the sea, and sunrise with a magnificent clear view of the tip of Mount Kinabalu towards the back of the hotel. There are a few malls, food stalls, restaurants and convenience shops within walking distance of the hotel. Overall, the staffs are friendly enough and it is a pleasant and safe place to stay. I will give it another STAR when all the construction work is completed.

Room Tip: If you did not get the city facing rooms,you can catch the sunrise from the lift lobby of the 12th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khairi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Promenade Hotel KK is one of the premier hotels in KK, Sabah for quite some years, but it has not changed much over the years - physically as well as its service, although some levels are now under renovation and hopefully that will improve its standing.
My family had been staying there quite a number of occasions whenever we are in Sabah. But during our two-day stay there from the 9th till the 11th of October 2013, we were quite disappointed and dissatisfied with their reception and service.
Having arrived around 12 noon, we requested to check-in early as we had to be on a trip to Manukan at 1 pm but was flatly turned down with lame excuses such as check-in time is only after 2 and there are no available rooms at that moment, really? Not even a single room even though some may have checked-out early just like what we did at 7 am on the 11th.The receptionist is not very friendly too as she would not want to listen to your problems as can be seen by her facial expression. So, we were asked to go to the gym to change for the Manukan trip. When we requested for an extension for late check-out, again we were flatly turned down, ah, never mind if you are a repeat customer. So, we had to check-out at 7 am as we could not come back before 12 noon.
Service? Just average - no shaver, newspapers, wi-fi in the room, slppers and the pillows are so flat that you need two at least to lie on. For us, this will be the last stay in Promenade.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room with a sea view which overlooks the sea, which have only a few as a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 649Teoh649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing