We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a lot of improvement”
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need a lot of improvement”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently from 23rd - 26th May for an outstation job. This hotel has one of the good location as it is near to malls and the market. From outside, the hotel looks modern but unfortuntately, the room that I stayed was nothing to shout about. It is a typical old school design. The steep price doesnt consumerate with the entire concept. There is no HBO or AXN channel except for TLC and Fox Sport and not forgetting the local channels. It is quite boring but this is what the hotel is offering.

Upon checking in, I had to ask the front desk staff whether I can check in instead of the person greet and smile.In the website, showed there is a gym but there was no indication of the facility. The room doesnt have a safe deposit box and the pillows are too soft and feels like it has not been changed for quite no of years. Some towel were changed ( I actually used the face towel but the housekeeping changed the rest except for that ) and the bath mat were not in a good condition.

This hotel needs a lot of refurbishment, training to their staff about hospitality service. At the cooffeehouse, me and colleague went to buffet line and upon returning, there was a tray on my seat and I believe the staff was unaware that we are still having our breakfast. The staff needs to learn and be alert on how the cutlaries are being placed on the table whether the guests are still eating or have finished dining.

I would suggest that those who wants to check into any htoel in KK, thouroughly do your research and decide after getting your findings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reen373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    258
    164
    46
    29
See reviews for
88
126
44
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wrong timing for start since the it's under renovation when I arrived. From the rates charge, I do expect a higher standard of services. TV channels are too limited and it get worse since I don't speak Mandarin or Cantonese. Annoyed during breakfast, their crew having a good time giggling. So it spoilt my day eventually. Thumbs up for housekeeping and front desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaNM241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed on Nov 2013 for a business trip. The hotel located along side with top hotel in Kota Kinabalu. It is just beside the expensive seafood restaurant. In future, this hotel view that facing sea will be block by a shopping mall. The room is not well maintained and the lighting inside the room is creepy. During my stay, some floors is in renovation process and you can hear some noisy sound from your room.

I've organized an event here and the support staff for this event was not really helpful. Time management for the event setup is also poor. The technician is the one that assist us during the event. The hotel transportation is also quite expensive for us.

However, the variety of buffet lunch and breakfast is fascinating. A lot of food to be choose. The hotel location is only 15 minutes walking distance to Filipin Market. It is also nearest to seafood market. I bought a lot of lobsters here and make sure you go here as early as you can in the morning if you want to bring it back home.

Room Tip: Only choose this hotel if you don't have any other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vr_mission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 3 days 2 night for some work purpose, so that includes my meals are being provided in this hotel too. the buffet is simply amazing, so delicious with lots of variety to choose, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. really enjoyed it. the room is comfy, spacious and the staffs is very friendly and helpful too. the location is also great. it is within walking distant to the pasar Philippine and other shops if we want to do some shopping.no wonder this places is so pack with guest checking in. the only lack i can find about this hotel is the swimming pool is quiet small. i will definitely come again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better. if possible, pick room with sea view, although city view isnt so bad either
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazaaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here on our way to Sandakan. It was clean, some rooms were being renovated and it was not before time. It was centrally located which meant we could walk for a meal. We only ate breakfast in restaurant, this was okay. I left my camera in lobby and was pleased the next day that not only was it found but the clerk went to lengths to make sure it was mine.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from this hotel but it's in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night after a week i the jungles of Bporneo thinking I would treat myself to a bit of luxury and a good shower/bed before flying home the next day.

I paid $100 for the room and found it not to be worth the money.

There was lots of mould in the bathroom, the room and furniture was very dated and worn, the staff need some training in customer service. And when I arrived to check in at 4pm I was told my room wouldnt be ready for another hour, despite being advised check in was from 2pm when I booked.

They are renovating some of the floors, but unless you get one of the renovated floors I would suggest looking elsewhere. For $100 you can get MUCH better value in KK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchy_Funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Date of stay: 20 - 22 March 2014.
Room number: 1109
Room is great... No complained.
BUT, the Service Staff at CAFE is having SOUR FACE!!!! Seems not happy serving the customers...
I think the service staff @ Waterfront
Hawker Centre is giving better service than the hotel cafe service staff...
The last night stay @ KK.... My wife and me,,, went to Le Meriden Hotel KK, having our dinner ... The service being served to us is VERY EXCELLENT...
Future trip to Kota Kinabalu.. Will stay at Le Meriden Hotel, KK.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ksjyusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing