We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location and awesome view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location and awesome view!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a conference and the place was amazing! We got a room that faces the golf course, so it was rise and shine to beautiful greenery. Next to the hotel is a small harbour whereby yachts are parked. There was fish, sea urchins and corals in the harbour, so walking around it was sheer delight. Breakfast was nice. Service was awesome. My husband forgot his wallet and left it at the breakfast location. It was returned with everything intact. Staff are honest and professional. Awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicmarrymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuteraHarbour, Management at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear nicmarrymic,

It is delighting to hear such a motivating comment from you and also we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us. We do hope to serve you again in the future. Should you come back again, do let us know. We will be at your service.

Have a nice day.

Best regards,
Sutera Habour's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    1,036
    322
    125
    96
See reviews for
855
963
94
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Beautifully located and surrounded by 27 holes of golf and a beautiful sea (brillant sunset everyday), this hotel just fails to bring the last few details to the table to get 5 stars. Pity. It needs the Shangri La touch and systems.

Room Tip: Sea side is better but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuteraHarbour, Management at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Lankylee,

We thank you for finding our facilities has something to offer to you. We are improving everyday in terms of services in order to give our guests the best hospitality that we can offer. We apologize for any lacking in any areas that maybe out of our control. We are glad to have served you.

Have a nice day ahead.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Sutera Harbour Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was our 7th trip to Sabah, to stay specifically at The Magellan Sutera. The staff are amazing, the suites beautiful, the pool areas are relaxing and comfortable (although it may be time to replace the towels and deck chairs at The Magellan). The food is breath taking and we especially love Spice Island and Mings. Would recommend thus resort to anybody looking for that upmarket stay. Forgot to mention Mandara Spa is heaven.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkirkwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuteraHarbour, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear bkirkwod,

We are delighted to hear that you are having a wonderful stay here at The Magellan Sutera and to visit Sabah for the 7th time is amazing. We are taking notes on your comments regarding the towels and deck chairs. We will try our best to improve or innovate our services and facilities for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.

Should you come back to Sabah for the 8th time, We will be more than happy to be at your service Sir.

Have a wonderful day.

Warmest regards
Ravi K
General Manager
The Magellan Sutera Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, after a SAGA trip around Borneo. Having been staying in small lodges throughout the previous 10 days, this hotel was a bit of a shock to the system. Over 450 rooms (that is just the Magellan Sutera) and there appeared to be people everywhere. The reception area is absolutely huge, and accordingly feels somewhat impersonal. All the staff were friendly and polite, but service at the bars and restaurants is very slow.
Our deluxe room was looking very tired, with some unpleasant stains on the carpets, a leaking toilet (which was eventually fixed) and a "threshold" board on the floor which had a couple of screws sticking out of it, and was quite loose. The food was excellent, with a mind boggling choice, but again the restaurants were all very busy, and unless you pay a lot extra for the a la carte restaurant you will not be able to have a quiet evening meal.
One of the main downsides to the hotel, for us, was the large number of young families, who seemed to fill the pools with their children, and a number of young adults who, having spent a lot of time drinking were very noisy throughout the night, and on one occasion were still on their balcony drinking at 6.30am!
Overall, although the hotel looks good at first sight, it would not be a hotel we would re-visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foresthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Magellan Sutera Resort Sept 2011. We had booked the Honeymoon Package for a 4 days 3 nights stay.

If you are looking for a place to honeymoon, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place! We were lucky to be upgraded to the suite, which is a massive space, with two balconies, and views of the South China Sea from every window!

The Honeymoon Package included a Breakfast Buffet and one Candlelit dinner at Ferinands which is a first-class restaurant. I've been to a number of nice restaurants in North America, and I have to say that the food and service is nothing compared to the excellent service we experienced at Sutera. The package also included couple spa treatments, and a jetty ride to the private island nearby.

This resort was beautiful and was such a relaxing place to unwind. You really feel spoiled here. I agree with some other reviewers that the food is pricey, but if you book this package, almost everything is included, which saves you a lot of money. And heck, you can't put a price on PARADISE!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for the Sea View rooms. You will find it less noisier as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipperino14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruckmuehl, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

on the last stop of our trip we passed by at The Magellan Sutera Harbour...we came from Manukan island, where we decided to change hotel. As the lodge on Manukan island and the Magellan are belonging together, the staff on Manukan made it possible to change over to the mainland. We stayed in room 6339 and a had a great time..ocen and pool view, not far from the breakfast room besides the pool. We enjoyed the great variaty of food and the quality was very good. We can recommend as well the Muffinz-Cafe..with very delicous cakes and icecream. The kids used the pool billard offered free, and in the evening we went bowling. It nice entertainment epsecially if your kids are not interested in any evening shows...The pool is very clean, and the tower resevation has no chance here...very nice...
The staff loves kids, and the ocean and little beach offers even here some snorkelling...with a lot of fish...bread is available for the fish..its not really what you should do feed the fish, but for the kids it is still fun.
Our last days in Borneo where made as well with the nice staff and the sourrounding perfect.
I can recommend it ..and even on Aidul Fitri, you can get some quiet moments...
Thanks to everyone ....we will be back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLover010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

3 nights. Good spa. Good pool. Good gym. Good other pools at Marina. Good location. Good shuttle into town (not free..RM3 per person). Good size room. Excellent shower. Need to be on the Ocean View side to avoid aircraft noise. Great view. Good food options.

Check-out extended to 2pm upon request.

Did not change the towels daily. Had to ask TWICE..(each day).

Internet in room does not work. Have to use Wi-Fi in reception.

Whilst staying at the hotel gives guest access to the Marina, it does not allow for Marina member prices on food and drinks..(ie no member offers)..nearly a costly experience. Staff unable to discuss a complaint. Just say "yes" all the time without actually understanding.

Drinks expensive throughout the hotel...(relative to Malaysia...ie close to European prices)

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View...otherwise Aircraft are noisey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing