We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera for a week & it's a great experience. It's quite affordable and the sceneries were wonderful & the room (we had the deluxe sea view room) was lovely (eventhough a tad small, but still amazing). The staff were really friendly & not a day goes by without somebody smiling at you. The pools were amazing as well & it's a great thing that you could use both the Pacific & Magellan's pools regardless of where you are staying. The only thing that's keeping me from giving them 5 stars rating was the fact that the walls were quite thin since we could practically heard the occupants next door entirely conversation at 4am! But that's hardly the hotel's fault though so overall i still highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,779)
There are newer reviews for Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

We had 6 nights at the Magellan Sutera after a very busy 9 day tour of India. For a mixed group it proved to be the perfect place. Beautiful rooms and public areas, a great range of facilities and activities, a few minutes from the the shops and markets of KK....& within relatively easy distance of Mt Kinabalu & the Orangutan sanctury (worth a visit even if 'nature isn't your thing'!). The resort itself didn't feel busy with plenty of space to relax and comfortable lounges, a elegant Spa and both good pools and direct access to the sea.
The only thing that let the resort down was the dining; the quality of the food and on occassion terrible service ( Al Fresco). Fortunately we discovered the fish market in the town!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Part of huge complex which is nicely set up, but always have tht slightly wierd feeling that its been dropped from space onto an otherwise unsuspecting KK. Not a place to saty if getting a sense of the local culture is important to you. Great place to stay if you want to escape all that.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wondering_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

the hotel facilities where great the staff where great the food at Al Frescos great , but the room was pretty average lights on some of the lamps didn,t work, carpet pretty grotty,good do with a repaint also.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithwh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just returned from a week at the Magellan Sutera Harbour. We saw a package with Malaysian Airline and thought it too good to miss. Although we don't usually go for "big" hotels and didn't really have much of an idea of what to expect from Kota Kinabalu we had a wonderfull time. The Magellan is very spread out so it never felt busy. The pool area is lovely and all the food we tried was excellent. The buffet breakfast was 1 of the best we have seen. The staff were all helpfull and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work. Any issues we had (ie door not locking) were fixed straight away. The hotel shuttle bus was very handy although the traffic in town at peak times can be quite congested. We liked being able to walk along the boardwalk between the Magellan, the Country Club and The Pacific past the marina and being able to eat at all 3 places and charge it to your room. Our have only regret was we didn't have time for everything. Guess we will just have to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyozPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This in fact a luxury resort in the city of Kota Kinabalu. There are two wings, Pacific Sutera and Magellan. I would recommend you to go for the latter as the rooms are newer and much nicer even though P.S have start putting effort for the refurbishment in their room.
Even though the resort does not have sandy beach but it's attached to a beautiful harbour with all the boats alight calmly. You should check out their club facilities which i think its nice!
The hotel staff are friendly and attentive and the meals are acceptable.
The sad thing to see in this resort is everyone is allow to go in and out from the hotel despite they are not the hotel guests hence i am quite concern on it's security.
One of the best thing i found here is they have a beautiful sunset view!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor rooms instead of lower. Garden or Sea view is not really matter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwok4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Ever dream of 5 star accomodation(resort style)yet only 2 minutes drive from the city centre;its none other than the Sutera Resort;seeing is believing!Awesome hotel rooms coupled with the most amazing unique landscape makes it one of the most sought after accomodation in kota kinabalu,Sabah

Room Tip: There is a choice of land view or sea view;obviously the sea view is more awesome
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,472 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £92 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing