We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magellan Sutera Resort”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Great resort and very welcoming. The staff are fantastic. Ask for room high up and other end from kids pool. Dining great. Definitely stay again. Not too many kids so great for couples. Could not fault anything. Very relaxing especially as there were lots of older clientele or couples.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up to get best view. Ask for ocean view away from kids pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarnigeOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    969
    297
    115
    84
See reviews for
776
903
85
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a large very clean room overlooking the golf course and an inlet. Very nice, but there was no balcony which was a big disappointment. Another disappointment.. it was my birthday and we had to ask for the promised bowl of fruit and the flowers never arrived!
The breakfast was good and very extensive with many Asian items as you would expect, but a poor selection of fruit, only pineapple and 3 types of melon. The egg station was a bit hit or miss. We ate in the hotel each night there were lots of places to choose from. I enjoyed the salad buffet and sunsets at Breezes...make sure they give you the more expensive evening menu not the lunch one. The food was good but expensive for Malaysia. Big mark up on the drinks also. They do have happy hour in the afternoon. The swimming pool is very shallow..safe for children but no good for adults swimming. Lots of beds available. I got as far as the sea edge on the small beach, but refused to go in when I saw the floating debris but my husband went in on another day and said it was clean. There is a lovely walk around the marina just right for an evening stroll. The lobby could do with seating for people. There is nowhere to sit unless you buy something to eat or drink. This is not ideal when you have a late flight.
Location is very near airport (30MR in taxi) and also near KK centre. There is a shuttle to the city(3MR return). We took a taxi to the local Mosque and museum. Also walked up Signal Hill through a wooded area and onto the wetlands.

The staff without exception were second to none. Very nice lady in the buisness centre where you can print your boarding card. They were all delightful, so friendly and helpful and always remembered our names. I can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Fantastic Place it feels like 5 Star vacation. The hotel staff are very pleasant and would like to come again this year. The Island hoping trip is very memorable. On top of that Kota Kinabalu City is nearby where you can go for delicious local food. We had seafood all night long.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazrisalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

i stayed in the club room but was not allowed the facilities eventhough this was agreed upon upon checked in but later after contended, were given the facilities but on the last day of stay, the facilities was again not allowed. very disappointing. the representation of the hotel staff is not honorable. also,was accused by their Guest Service Manager, Marina of stealing their blanket which belongs to me just because the blankets i was having at the lobby is of the same colour as the hotel. I have to ask Marina to go and check the room first before she claim that the blanket i was holding belongs to the hotel (as she insist that the blanket belongs to the hotel).Not only the manager, the staff was not polite.

on housekeeping, the room was still wet after it was made up by housekeeping. complaint to the staff and was told that i need to switch on the air-cond if i want the floor to dry. after 15 minutes, floor still wet, when i make complaint again,the staff came with a wet mop and start mopping.when finished, found out the floor is worst than before she mop.the club room has no balcony and therefore no ventilation.

comparing food with Pacific Sutera, Pacific Sutera serve way way much better breakfast than Magellan Sutera and is more children friendly too. if staying in club room, Pacific Sutera has better facilities and all drinks at club floor are self-service. Magellan only have 2 staff to serve the club and only tea and coffee are self-service and all other drinks must request from the staff and the staff were short handed. so after drinks ordered, need to wait for long time for the drinks to be served.

Room Tip: do not choose club room if you prefer balcony. club room is more expensive but without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bee2ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Director of Marketing Communications at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We would like to thank Bee2ee for the comments. The General Manager of The Magellan Sutera Resort has personally contacted the guest to clarify the matter. Thank you for spending your holidays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

After a hiccup with check-in (make sure you double check which location you select on website, even if you begin on the website of one location, on the booking page brings up both locations), we were given directions to our room (maybe it is not their policy take guests to their rooms?).
All the staff were very warm, friendly and accommodating and the service was excellent. Except the first room we were allocated (7532) although it had a lovely view of the sunset, it had an adjoining door to the next room, who stayed up having a drinking party until 4am and we could hear them loudly through the door, as well as the party members letting the door slam against the hinge they used to prop the door open all throughout the night. Called down to reception who said they would have a security guard to attend, but if they did come, they did not stop the noise at all.
We know we can't stop people from partying so we arranged to change rooms the next day to 7456, which did not have an adjoining door thankfully, but also no sunset view... However, we preferred a good nights sleep so it was fine.
The atmosphere was very relaxed at Magellan (compared to Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, where we spent an afternoon and staff seemed under pressure and therefore not as friendly and very unorganised, also lots and lots of screaming kids there).
The travel agent at Seacoast was very disappointing though and grossly uninformed, as we were told that there was not much to see snorkelling around the islands, but we decided to try it anyway and we saw many fish and lots of coral!
Breakfast was average and although the food at Ferdinands was presently well, it also was only average. However the service at Ferdinands, we had a waiter named Mankawi(?), was exceptional and he made it very special for us (honeymooners).
Last note - careful of using their adapters! We used one and it sparked in my husbands hand and short circuited our room!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A lovely and relaxing place to spend a few days at in KK. A small beach, but nice lounge chairs, tented "couches", etc. overlooking the islands off shore. Incredible sunsets each night with the attentive service from Breezes - the bar/restaurant right there on the beach--for wine/cocktails/snacks as one enjoys the color. Pool was lovely and large. Plenty of shade shallow areas for little ones.
Lobby was lovely --tons of beautiful orchids. Service was fabulous --from front desk to coffee pourers at breakfast. Only downside is that it is a 10 minute cab ride to town, but that is $5 US each way. There is a free shuttle to some of the malls downtown, which also drops you near the big night market and food stalls area that is so popular.
The harbor behind provides breezes for the outdoor eating. We also took one of the boats located right behind the hotel --Sea Quest --out to the TAR islands off shore. A very nice excursion. So convenient from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice for Kota Kinabalu. Definately worth getting the sea view room and the view out to the islands is great. The hotel is well located close to the jetty, is a five minute taxi to the centre of Kota Kinabalu and the night fish markets, has a nice pool, a great Chinese restaurant and is generally pleasant and relaxing. Not really a resort type holiday but a good option when staying a few nights in KK. Far better than any option in the centre of town.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,995 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,333 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
627 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing