We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort with fabulous service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I actually won a holiday to the beautiful Kota Kinabalu so didn't actually select this hotel initially but I am so glad that this is the resort that we had the pleasure of staying in.

For the first three nights we stayed at one of the sanctuary lodges as part of Sutera Harbour Resort - Manukan Island. The island was a 10 min boat ride from the harbour and the view alone getting there was spectacular. We were greeted by the very friendly staff who gave us a run down of the island including the history and things to do. We were giving a refreshing iced tea, cool towel and lovely necklace each as a welcome gift. We arrived at the island just before 9.30am and were told that check in wasn't until 2pm which is standard. The very helpful staff gave us some beach towels and encouraged us to relax on the specially placed sun loungers on the beach for island guests. We were extremely tired after our flight and they told us they would have out room ready as soon as possible and we were walking into our beach villa by 11.30am.

The room itself was very nice with a living area and two separate bedrooms, a lot of space for a couple and even a family with children. We then set out to explore. The island itself is quite small with only 20 rooms and most visitors come for day trips to enjoy the pristine waters and snorkel. This meant the island did get quite busy during the day but it was perfect that there was a section of beach just for island residents to get away from it all. This is the perfect place to truly relax and switch off fro.m the world.

There is only one main restaurant on the island serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was included with the room and was a buffet each morning. The lunch and dinner menu was a selection of authentic Malay and western dishes, all very reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there was one night when we felt like the only guests on the island - true peace and quiet! We stayed for 3 nights as that was part of our package but I would recommend 2 nights and the. Island hop to one of the other islands near by.

We then went to the Magellan Sutera resort for our remaining 3 nights and on checking in were surprised and very pleased to hear we had been upgraded to a Club room. We were assisted to our room and were very pleasantly surprised. It was a very spacious room overlooking the marina with huge bed and very nice bathroom. The Magellan resort is very impressive - it's got everything you could possibly need and all guests have full access to all the facilities at both the Marina & Gold club next door and also the Pacific Sutera resort. Both hotels had beautiful pool areas, spas, numerous restaurants and bars, fitness centres and shops. The Marina then has a bowling island, movie theatre, squash, tennis, badminton.....everything!! Again the staff were extremely friendly and made an effort to learn our names. The room was serviced everyday and even again at night time. So many restaurants and bars to choose from each night, could have stayed here for a week or longer!! Staff also helped up book a trip to Rasa Ria orang-utan sanctuary which was a great afternoon.

I would recommend the Sutera Harbour resort to anyone visiting Kota Kinabalu, it truly is a slice of luxury with something to offer everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Clare P,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review about your recent stay with us, here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at both Manukan Island Resort and also The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Our team of staff endeavors in making each of our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as possible As such, our staff delight in recognizing guests by their names to provide a home-away-from-home experience for you. We are glad you appreciated their gesture.

Once again thank you for recommending Sutera Harbour Resort to other travelers. We appreciate all your comments as it succinctly summarises the guest experience and what Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again, when you are next in Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Return to the Magellan as we enjoyed it so much the first time, Iam writings this whilst sitting at the pool.

After a small wait at reception when we arrived which was no big problem we have enjoyed our stay, the staff are friendly and helpfull.

Suggest you take a ride on the North Borneo railway, booking early is a must, the staff on train are from the hotel so the service is just as good.

As previous reviews the rooms haven't changed since 2011. We are in room 7413 only moan is that the carpet have small stain marks and someone decided to leave a hot iron the carpet so a burn mark as well.

Good place for a holiday

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza59011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

i've booked 2 seaview rooms at magellan for 2 nights... requested one twin room and one with king size bed...

upon checking in, the front desk staff told us the room were not ready... so one staff guided us to the lobby cafe and gave us some welcome drinks... since we booked a day trip in the afternoon, so we wanted to leave our luggage with them... but then the staff told us that one of the rooms was ready... and i asked if it was the twin or the king... the staff told me they could only offer two rooms with king size beds!!! my goodness!!! shouldn't i be informed by the time of checking in?! what kind of its 5* service?! i was so mad... then the staff said "please understand their situation"... but then who can understand mine?! why should i make such request in advance?! the staff said i could mad at her but it would be the cause... my goodness?! magellan is a 5* hotel... i felt sorry about them... it is not a small motel but a hotel with 500 rooms... i told them that i would go out for a day trip and not be returned until 9pm... fixed it in the afternoon!!!

when i returned at almost 10pm... i could saw our luggage still at the concierge (for some 5* hotels they might have already moved to the client's rooms)... and finally got what i've asked... we were assigned to room 7331 & 7332... rooms are a bit dated... the mattress is a bit soft but still acceptable... the highlight may be the crabtree shampoo + body wash...

breakfast with nice environment... they have egg station but they don't do scramble egg... ooops... cause they served pre-cooked scramble egg at the counter... food selection has a wide range of choices... their bread is the best...

swimming pool at magellan is small but more resort feel... there are more pools at the marina club and at the pacific hotel... u can walk (but the sun is so strong)... or take the free internal shuttle...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccherman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear ccherman1978,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, The Magellan Sutera Resort. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations. It has always been our mission to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service at Sutera Harbour Resort. As much as we understand the disappointment in waiting for the rooms, please be assured that we do our utmost to find the best rooms for every of our guests. It was unfortunate that this time was a very busy period for The Magellan Sutera Resort, we took longer than usual to get the desired rooms available for you. We have addressed this issue with the department accordingly. In regards to the luggage, our concierge handles guest’s luggage(s) in the guest’s presence. However, it is possible to request for the bags to be sent to the room while you are away. During breakfast, scramble eggs are pre-cooked but guests are allowed to request for it to be freshly cooked as well. With that, thank you for the comments, it has opened our eyes further into understanding our guest’s fulfillment or disappointment in our hotels services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,
SHR-Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nestled between the shores of the South China Sea, fronting the tropical islands and the majestic Mount Kinabalu, is the grand expanse of Sutera Harbour Resort. The 384-acre resort provides a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star hotels, championship golf course, marina and recreational facilities.

At the heart of this complex lies Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club, incorporating the 27-hole Graham Marsh-designed golf course, a 104-berth marina, internationally renowned Mandara Spa and a host of recreational facilities.

Room Tip: Room with sea view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABZul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is not my first time to stay in this hotel but my first time to write about.
The hotel itself got potential. Very spacious, lots of facilities, 3 different swimming pool to play with. A tiny beach hang out with the little one building sand castle. AND the jetty pier!!!!
We choose this hotel just because this!!
You may just wear on the swimwear/beachwear hop on the jetty and back to your room with those wetty clothes without any hassle.
And food in the resort is so-so but not expensive. Free wifi is king~~ They don't have in room wifi but free LAN internet. Simply bring along a travel wifi router and plug in, then u would have a in room wifi~~
Very good overall with the price they offered. I'm not fancy much the KK city or Gaya Street. so, staying in this hotel which comparately being remote is not a big issue for me. Take a cab for about RM13 to RM15 in 10 minutes ride, u will be in the heart of KK city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CY_supply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a marvellous week long stay. Without exception the staff were always polite and very friendly.
Stayed in a suite which gave entry to the Club which provided an excellent breakfast cooked to order and free cocktails in the evenings.
The location was stunning and really very little of a negative nature to say- the food was perhaps only average on a couple of occasions but always fresh and properly cooked and there is a wide range of restaurants to choose from.
Bill. UK

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillM105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stay in Pacific Sutera for 5 days / 4 nights. Enjoyed the hotel and the associated facilities very much. Did snorkeling in outer islands, a round of golf and doing nothing at the pools. Its proximity to the airport and the city (15 minutes) also make this resort very convenient for travellers with tighter schedule. Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £90 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing