We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I booked for a deluxe room however when we checked in it was fully occupied. I supposed it must had been over booked. But the front staff Rohana was so kind to offer me a SUITE room instead although we had to wait for 45 mins for the room to be readied. She also gave us complimentary drink and snack at the lobby lounge. I must say it was a very nice gesture from the hotel.
The suite room was fantastic overlooking the sea and sunset.

We were told by the porter that we could have breakfast at the club lounge, however when we turned up the next morning only to be told that we were not entitled by the staff in an unpleasant manner.That was quite embarrassing for us. There should be a better way to chase us out without humiliating. Breakfast at the 'Boleh' cafe was average, they had a large spread but the taste were off for most of the items and they served the same spread for all the 4 days that we were there. We even tried the ala carte food and to our opinion the food served were just below average and over priced.

We do have to complement another staff in the house keeping department by the name of Norehan whom by her own initiative, provided our family with an extra queen size thick comforter and 4 extra pillow to accommodate our family.

In all our stayed in Pacific Sutera was pleasant with few minor hiccups especially the food and some unpleasant gestures from some staffs. Best of all the pool was huge enough to entice our kids!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakudiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear pakudiver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and particularly, in highlighting the efforts of our Front Office staff, Ms. Rohana and Housekeeping staff, Ms. Norehan. They will be delighted to know of your commendation.

The shortfall of service which you have highlighted during your time with us is appreciated. It will serve to reinforce the service benchmarks our guests expect of us. In regards to the breakfast quality and rotation, it is well taken and we can assure you of improvement in this area.

With that, thank you for the comments, it has opened our eyes further into understanding our guest’s fulfillment or disappointment in our hotel's services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed 22-26June at the Magellan Sutera. In general it was a nice break. Enjoyed it.
The hotel is less than 10 minutes’ taxi ride from the airport (30 ringit), which surely saves a lot of time especially if you have just flown many hours (although it was not my case). The hotel's lobby is tres manifique, the staff very warm, so the first impression was good. Doubtless it is an old hotel some facilities could use an upgrade. Our deluxe seaview room however turned out to be alright in general, except that the bed is a bit hard and the linen is a little uncomfortable on the skin. The toilet generates a very loud noise when flushing; can't do much about it. It was also a bit annoying to find a very tall coconut tree in front of our balcony, blocking almost 50% of the sea view. I guess you need to tell the staff to avoid that type of sea view room when you check in.
The Sutera Harbour Resort itself is huge, with an Olympic swimming pool which we adored and its own pier to go to the small islands.
Unless on the weekend, the pool is normally not that busy at all as this resort is dominated by Chinese, Korean and HongKongese tourists who don’t like their skin tanned.
As to the small islands, I was told that they were all about the same. I therefore chose Manukan which seemed to have a longer beach. The island is quite beautiful but the garbage around really turned out to be eye sores. It has simply been spoilt by the tourists although the staff keep cleaning.
If you wouldn’t mind travelling on the speedboat for around an hour as we were told by the staff at the Sea Quest, you may go to Mantanani Island which is more beautiful and definitely cleaner.
BTW, the region was and I believe still is suffering from the smog caused by the forest fires in Indonesia. We therefore didn't really have the luck to fully appreciate the well known sunset, but we still loved the moments at the Al Fresco in front of the sea sipping their sunset cocktails and enjoy the soothing cool breeze.

Room Tip: Lately KK has smog! Try to avoid sea view rooms which have coconut trees right in front of the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AYWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Lebaiserdudragon,

Thank you for taking the time to list down the details of your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed a nice break at the Resort. Your positive comments in regards to the hotel lobby, staff, room and facilities is certainly good to know.

However, we would like to apologise for the areas that fell short of your expectations during your time with us. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will be shared with the concerned departments to ensure that we continue to offer an unparalleled level of service to our guests.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you again for a renewed experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we've stayed on 21-23 June 2013 at The Magellan Sutera. we have like the best, most amazing vacation ever despite the short time that we had there. the staff are really helpful. i once left my sunglasses during breakfast and thought it was gone. but my husband asked to ask the staff and yes, they did kept it! i was so thankful to the staff there. they even have 24hours taxi service that will be ready at anytime you need them. lucky for us, we've been upgraded to suite since our Club room is full. they managed to solve that in a minute and without even asking anything. they just solved it! thank you so much. the room is really comfortable with separate shower and bathtub. that is the best. i really love the pool and the have like the biggest pool ever. oh yeah, the food..omg..the best hotel food ever! i really missed The Magellan. hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: choose room with sea view. worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniQ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear aniQ86,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

We are thrilled to hear that you had the best, most amazing vacation ever and found our staff to be really helpful during your time with us. Being a home-away-from-home, our staff endeavour to consistently deliver a personalised level of service for each and every one of our guests.

Your positive comments about our rooms, facilities, and food are a source of motivation for all of us to continue working hard at what we do to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and comfortable staying experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We checked into the hotel (Pacific Sutera Harbour, which is the more corporate of the two; Magellan is more resort-like) right after our descent from Mount Kinabalu, tired, aching and dirty. The check in process was so quick, barely took a minute. They set up an extra bed in the room as soon as we settled in which was great. All our requests were attended to quickly. We wanted to surprise a friend for his birthday at dinner and was helped by the wait-staff who were discreet and enthusiastic.

Rooms were spacious and clean, and shower was good too, although the following morning the water took a while to heat up (but, overall, this was a very minor issue). Beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy.

The breakfast spread in the morning was very much worth it too, with French pastries, local delicacies and wonderfully randomly, Japanese miso soup and freshly brewed coffee (from the beans, not instant!). Wait staff was great, again, so helpful, service with a smile!

On our second day there, we decided to go snorkelling, which was easily arranged by the hotel and this process was fast and easy too. The departure dock was just a short walk from the pool, and was handled efficiently and was reasonably priced. We paid RM80/pp (approx. USD26) for a one island snorkelling trip which includes boat transfer and snorkelling gear.

Another thing to note is that the hotel operates a free shuttle service from the hotel to the city free of charge (even though we did not utilise this, as the timings kept clashing with all the good movies on the telly).

Checking out was a breeze and all in all, would definitely recommend the Pacific/Magellan Sutera Harbour for anyone who wishes to stay comfortably and be pampered during their stay at Sabah!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Elliealmeida,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Every day, our staff welcomes our valued guests to their residence in Kota Kinabalu, hoping to create lasting memories that have been personalised especially for them. It is certainly a delight for the team to hear of your compliments that they made your stay a '5 star' experience.

It is also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our rooms. Our team at Housekeeping works hard to ensure that they remain in pristine condition and your positive comments would put a smile on their face.

We are glad you had the opportunity to do an island snorkeling trip during your time with us. If you missed the opportunity to visit Kota Kinabalu City Centre, that calls for a return visit soon!

On that note, we would like to clarify that our City Shuttle service from Sutera Harbour Resort to Kota Kinabalu City Centre is chargeable at RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12 years) and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. This service requires advance booking and tickets are available at The Concierge. The return trip back to the Resort is based on seat availability.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I loved d property where this resort is placed, as all d tours to beaches start from here only...so if u staying smwhr else u have to come dis far....one more good thing is its very near to airport n as city is pretty small ever whr u can reach soon by a taxi.

My room was suite n I js loved it to d core.
Only problem no options in breakfast as expected.

Room Tip: Suite and superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanchanLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear KanchanLad,

Thank you for your review and for labeling Sutera Harbour Resort as a 'perfect place for perfect vacation'!

As you have observed, the location of our property is a mere 5 minutes to the city centre of Kota Kinabalu and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport making it a convenient place to stay.

Your feedback regarding breakfast is appreciated and will be shared with our culinary team so that we can work towards improving our services.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I've been to several 5-star hotels and The Pacific Sutera has by far has the most comfortable bed and pillows (cuddly soft) I've ever slept in. The room temperature is perfect, not too cold and not too warm, I was able to sleep comfortably whole night and I wished I had stayed here longer and live and dine more like a queen.

The staff are all very nice and warm, they will be glad to assist you in every need. Breakfast and lunch served were delectable and there's so many to choose from (see my photos).

They have a lovely bar and restaurant (The Jugs Sports Bar) at the basement where you can get your complimentary welcome drinks. This bar is perfect for sports fan to catch up on live telecast of football or basketball. I love their bar soo much. Wifi is great as well in every rooms!

I would give a 5-star if they will fix their old lobby ceiling. But everything is perfect, cozy, with perfect location in the heart of Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear adaphobic,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. We share the same sentiment and wished you could have stayed longer with us.

It is good to know that you had received warm hospitable service from our staff, labeled JUGs Sports Bar as a 'fantastic bar', and also enjoyed our comfortable bed and pillows. Your compliments are a great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward to your next visit and would like to thank you for sharing your photos to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had requested for non-smoking and connecting room as we were travelling with 4 children.
We were first assigned adjoining rooms on a smoking level and after complaining we were given adjoining rooms on a non-smoking level. It was on the 3rd and last night that we were given a non-smoking, connecting room. Even so, one of the rooms had a very smell of cigarette smoke. All in, we moved 3 times over 4 days. But I must commend the housekeeping staff who were very helpful in converting 2 single beds into a king-sized bed and arranging a spare bed so our 4 children can sleep comfortably.

The City Shuttle is chargeable at RM3 per adult and RM1.50 for children between 6 and 12. Children below 6 do not need to pay but they are not guaranteed a seat. This must be booked beforehand and no standing is allowed. This becomes difficult on the return trip from the city when there are more guests than available seats. Guests were turned away once the bus is full and if it is the last service at 9.20pm they would have to make their own way back to the hotel. Perhaps the driver could ask parents to sit the young children on their laps (since they did not pay for their ticket) to allow more seats for the adults.

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenwei654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear kenwei654,

Thank you for sharing a review with us here on TripAdvisor.

Our team of housekeeping staff would be most happy to hear of your poisitive comments in regards to their service as they endeavour to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for all guests.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and are looked into by the concerned departments.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests’ satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £88 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing