We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sabah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Headed off to Sabah end June. It's a beautiful season and the weather is not too hot. This is one of the most beautiful parts of Asia. Lots to do downtown and also up in the mountains. I have heard so much about this resort and decided to stay over for a couple of nights. I took a seaview room which looks out to the Marina, the boats and the sea. Amenities and toiletries could be better but the bed and other soft furnishing was nice. Lobby had loads of tourists and I think the buffet could have been better presented. They should separate the eating area for the noisy kids and families and the couples and honeymooners.

Otherwise, lovely grounds as well.

Room Tip: Get a good seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8nlssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    944
    293
    113
    80
See reviews for
758
886
85
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed 3d2n at the magellan. The swimming pool is marvellous, the club room that i stayed in was perfect with a view of the marina, and i played night golf. The golf course itself isnt very tough, but the course is beautiful.

Only regret was that this was a business trip, so i didnt bring the family. They wouldve loved it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank YusriSafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Yusri S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

So wonderful to know that you think of us as a 'beautiful hotel and fantastic golf course'.

You made a great choice to be a Magellan Club guest as guests enjoys personalised check-in, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your time with us.

While you were with us for business this time, we do hope that the next time your vacation travel brings you back to the land below the wind - Kota Kinabalu, we would have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed 4N5D at The Magellan Sutera. Extremely disappointed when rooms were told not ready on arrival at around 2.30pm when checkin time is supposed to be 2pm. Offered welcome drinks but was escorted to the lobby lounge felt being left abandoned there coz was not being served or even seated by staff until we enquired with one of the servers. Finally rooms ready after an hour wait but was offered twin bedded rooms although being confirmed king bedded rooms when reservations made. Harbour view rooms were not available although being confirmed when reservations made which a male Manager explained HV rooms r under renovation. Fruit amenities were offered to 3rooms but only delivered to 2 and 1 was sent on the second night after we enquired. It was a nice gesture of upgrading one of the rooms to suite though inconvenience caused to all of us. We ordered in room dining on the 2nd night at 10pm waited for more than an hour and chased for 2 times but received same reply: "Food has been delivered, u havent received them yet?" Of course not! That's the reason for calling! The server arrived and one of the pasta order was missed out and was replied no more pasta but it was on my check.
The Magellan Sutera is a typical resort with nice facilities and great location however more training is required for front of house staff on service quality especially have to smile more at the desk.
Room makeup service was neat and Housekeeping staffs were polite when saw them in the morning, they always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina699669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear tina699669,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, The Magellan Sutera Resort.

We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations. It has always been our mission to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service at Sutera Harbour Resort.

As much as we understand the disappointment in waiting for the rooms, please be assured that we do our utmost to find the best rooms for every of our guests. It was unfortunate that this time was a very busy period for The Magellan Sutera Resort, we took longer than usual to get the desired rooms available for you. We have addressed this issue with the department accordingly.

In regards to the room service (in-room dining) and front of house staff, the shortfall in service you have highlighted is appreciated. Rest assured, we take your comments seriously as this will serve to reinforce the service benchmark that our guests expect of us.

On that note, thank you for the comments, it has opened our eyes further into understanding our guest’s fulfillment or disappointment in our hotels services and facilities.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is our 2nd visit and we can see the resort looks tired. We were told the sea view rooms had been upgraded but the only difference we could spot was the flat screen tv and cabinet when we entered the room. Our seaview rooms had no view of the sea. Check in took more than 1 hour as our rooms weren't ready and we arrived at 2:30pm past the check in time. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in public areas which is disappointing since most Asian hotels offer this, including Tanjung Aru. Staff work at slower pace here too. The facilities are worn and tired, esp the slides at the country club area. Not enough pool side chairs to go around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at Pacific Sutera for 3 glorious nights. Everything was magnificent - the room, the view, the pool, the food, the service - all excellent. Welcomed with rose petals in a heart shape on the bed and in the bath tub - nice touch! Fruit provided free of charge was nice too.

Prices were sometimes a little steep but the quality was superb. The swim up bar with happy hour from 1 to 5pm was a dream. Loved the pool/beach area and the restaurant near there (Breezes) though be careful eating there at night - gorgeous sunsets but the mosquitoes come out in force after dark. To their credit the staff did bring us a mosquito coil.

Breakfast was a sensational buffet with everything you can imagine (except bacon of course - exceptionally difficult to get pork products anywhere in sabah due to their muslim culture). That restaurant also does wonderful buffet and a-la-carte dinners at reasonable prices - highly recommended.

As this was our second visit to Kota Kinabalu we only left the resort once this time, to go scuba diving (booked from the lobby of the hotel - excellent value & great dive staff!) This really was one of the most beautiful resorts we have had the pleasure of visiting. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Ocean / pool view is beautiful - higher the better. Can be a little noisy if they have a function i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Tom M,

In our warm Malaysian hospitality, we would like to say 'Terima Kasih' (Thank you) for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your honeymoon getaway.

We are very happy to hear that you had received 'a true 5 star experience' during your time with us. It is important to us that our guests enjoy a comfortable and personalised stay, so we are glad that you enjoyed that along, with the Hotel's services and facilities.

Our staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments and we look forward to many more of your visits to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I booked for a deluxe room however when we checked in it was fully occupied. I supposed it must had been over booked. But the front staff Rohana was so kind to offer me a SUITE room instead although we had to wait for 45 mins for the room to be readied. She also gave us complimentary drink and snack at the lobby lounge. I must say it was a very nice gesture from the hotel.
The suite room was fantastic overlooking the sea and sunset.

We were told by the porter that we could have breakfast at the club lounge, however when we turned up the next morning only to be told that we were not entitled by the staff in an unpleasant manner.That was quite embarrassing for us. There should be a better way to chase us out without humiliating. Breakfast at the 'Boleh' cafe was average, they had a large spread but the taste were off for most of the items and they served the same spread for all the 4 days that we were there. We even tried the ala carte food and to our opinion the food served were just below average and over priced.

We do have to complement another staff in the house keeping department by the name of Norehan whom by her own initiative, provided our family with an extra queen size thick comforter and 4 extra pillow to accommodate our family.

In all our stayed in Pacific Sutera was pleasant with few minor hiccups especially the food and some unpleasant gestures from some staffs. Best of all the pool was huge enough to entice our kids!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakudiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear pakudiver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and particularly, in highlighting the efforts of our Front Office staff, Ms. Rohana and Housekeeping staff, Ms. Norehan. They will be delighted to know of your commendation.

The shortfall of service which you have highlighted during your time with us is appreciated. It will serve to reinforce the service benchmarks our guests expect of us. In regards to the breakfast quality and rotation, it is well taken and we can assure you of improvement in this area.

With that, thank you for the comments, it has opened our eyes further into understanding our guest’s fulfillment or disappointment in our hotel's services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed 22-26June at the Magellan Sutera. In general it was a nice break. Enjoyed it.
The hotel is less than 10 minutes’ taxi ride from the airport (30 ringit), which surely saves a lot of time especially if you have just flown many hours (although it was not my case). The hotel's lobby is tres manifique, the staff very warm, so the first impression was good. Doubtless it is an old hotel some facilities could use an upgrade. Our deluxe seaview room however turned out to be alright in general, except that the bed is a bit hard and the linen is a little uncomfortable on the skin. The toilet generates a very loud noise when flushing; can't do much about it. It was also a bit annoying to find a very tall coconut tree in front of our balcony, blocking almost 50% of the sea view. I guess you need to tell the staff to avoid that type of sea view room when you check in.
The Sutera Harbour Resort itself is huge, with an Olympic swimming pool which we adored and its own pier to go to the small islands.
Unless on the weekend, the pool is normally not that busy at all as this resort is dominated by Chinese, Korean and HongKongese tourists who don’t like their skin tanned.
As to the small islands, I was told that they were all about the same. I therefore chose Manukan which seemed to have a longer beach. The island is quite beautiful but the garbage around really turned out to be eye sores. It has simply been spoilt by the tourists although the staff keep cleaning.
If you wouldn’t mind travelling on the speedboat for around an hour as we were told by the staff at the Sea Quest, you may go to Mantanani Island which is more beautiful and definitely cleaner.
BTW, the region was and I believe still is suffering from the smog caused by the forest fires in Indonesia. We therefore didn't really have the luck to fully appreciate the well known sunset, but we still loved the moments at the Al Fresco in front of the sea sipping their sunset cocktails and enjoy the soothing cool breeze.

Room Tip: Lately KK has smog! Try to avoid sea view rooms which have coconut trees right in front of the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AYWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Lebaiserdudragon,

Thank you for taking the time to list down the details of your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed a nice break at the Resort. Your positive comments in regards to the hotel lobby, staff, room and facilities is certainly good to know.

However, we would like to apologise for the areas that fell short of your expectations during your time with us. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will be shared with the concerned departments to ensure that we continue to offer an unparalleled level of service to our guests.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you again for a renewed experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ebookers so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing