We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sutera Harbour Magellan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sutera Harbour Magellan for 4 nights and had a great experience. The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful in every situation. We had a couple of unfortunate situations wherein we had to change the room and thought that we had lost a phone. Through both issues, they did their best to help us and with a smile. Things that you expect complimentary at a place like this were also free (eg internet, valet parking etc). All in all great place. Only feedback would be that the property is starting to get a bit old and needs renovation

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Animesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Animesh M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a 'Great Stay' at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your comments regarding our staff makes us proud and it is a wonderful recognition for our employees who endeavour to provide our guests an exceptional stay with us.

In regards to the rooms, we are happy to inform you that refurbishment plans for the rooms are already in progress which are being carried out in stages. It is hope you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked two club rooms one of which was upgraded to a club suite which was quite lovely. We had space and a very large bathroom. The view was pretty; over the golf course and off to the distant mountains. The club lounge itself was quite spacious with great views and a nice feel. The evening canapes and drinks weren't the best ever, but were quite adequate.

On the first morning we went to the club lounge for breakfast, but there were no rice or noodle options included in the buffet. We were told we could order them, but they would take 40 mins. As we didn't have that kind of time, we ducked downstairs to the second floor where somehow they manage to have quite a large spread with just one dish of noodles and just one rice option. We were unimpressed with the offerings at either location as they don't match up to the better hotels throughout Asia. However, on the second morning we decided to wait the 40 minutes in the club lounge and found that the Kwey Teow and Mee Hoon dishes were very good.

Staff were pleasant and most interactions were 'okay.' One night we didn't have a turn down service and the next we had half a turn down. Our curtains were drawn, but the bathroom towels were not tidied, toiletries were not refreshed and the bed was only half made with a chocolate on one side. I guess we were supposed to share!

The price was good, so we didn't feel that any of this was a problem. However, we were unimpressed when we asked for a late checkout because we had an 8pm flight and were first told that late checkout wasn't possible, but we could stay in the club lounge until 4pm. That was later negotiated to a slightly later checkout and staying in the club room until 6pm, but we would have to pay for any food and drink consumed. This just seems stingy and creates bad feeling. Often we've booked club rooms and missed out on the first night canapes and drinks because of a late arrival. Other times we've missed out on breakfast because of an early departure. We take that in our stride and figure that it's all swings and roundabouts. When guests have a late flight, other club lounges permit people to stay (without fuss or extra payment), so we were quite disappointed at the initial refusal at the Pacific Sutera. We were told that that the manager would be consulted, but when I asked several hours later, I was told that the manager would speak to us later that evening. We didn't stick around to be told why it would not be possible or to perhaps be allowed at the last minute to stay a little longer without extra expense. Bad feeling had been created. Damage done.

Would I recommend this hotel? If you get it for a good price, yes, it's fine. If you can only get it for top dollar, then I'd look elsewhere. It would be nice to see evidence on TripAdvisor in the future that the club lounge has got its act together.

Room Tip: Remember that you have restaurants to choose from at both the Pacific and the Magellan. There is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieinAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear AussieinAlain,

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Your comments and suggestions have been noted and are of extreme value to us. We are heartened to know that you have enjoyed many of our amenities and services.

We apologise for the shortcomings which you have encountered during your stay at the Hotel. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and rest assured, it has been channeled to the relevant departments for further action so that we can work towards improving the overall experience for our guests.

In regards to The Pacific Club Lounge, it is normal standard that we will allow our guest to use the lounge and also serve soft drinks, coffee and tea at no extra cost, only liquors and wines would be charged on consumption. Following up with out staff, there was a grave misunderstanding and we have already discussed it with our team for further improvements.

As our valued guest, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience in the future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed for two weeks and this is really a nice place to relax with lovely views, grounds and marina. The rooms are very comfortable, but this place lacks customer service for this class of hotel.
Ordering meals at restaurants and room service was difficult at times, due to the lack of English from the staff, it was comical at times and I received totally different meals to what I ordered. I didn't complain.
After a week I upgraded to a club room to take advantage of the club lounge, but the room that I moved into smelt damp. This was after i had to wait until 4pm while they cleaned the room.
Once again it was difficult to explain my problem over the phone, luckily I speak Malay.
Staff are generally nice and polite but training is obviously lacking.

Breakfast is the usual average breakfast that you find in most Malay hotels, better to go to Jarrod & Rawlins at Times Square mall as they have proper bacon and sausages and not the rubbish the hotel serves. You will also escape the circuis of the Korean's and Chinnese.
Another problem with this hotel is the large amount of the forementioned package tourists.
Sorry to be frank, but it's the truth.

There is a nice atmosphere at Waterfront bars of Shamrock and the English pub, but the Aussie pub is a let down and i'm an Aussie !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear katacove,

Thank you for taking a few moments to talk about your experience as our guest.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the view, grounds and marina at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. It is also great to hear that you managed to try out the offerings that the city has to offer. As Malaysia is a predominantly Muslim country, our hotel does not serve food consisting of pork to accommodate each of our hotel guests. At Café Boleh, which is famous for elaborate buffets, we include beef bacon, turkey ham and chicken sausages on top of our scrumptious breakfast buffet spread of Asian, Continental and Western fare.

As our valued guest, it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback as we strive to provide a superior service experience for each of our customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to us and rest assured, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as yours that helps us improve, make changes and train our staff accordingly to exceed our guests’ expectations.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Family stayed here with a baby for 3 nights for my birthday celebration, Im very disappointed and had very bad time there. We have sent email Many Times to the hotel and requeseted the baby cot more than a week before our stay, no one got back to us until 1/2 days before arrived. Tried to make the restaurant reservation for birthday celebration and got very late reply, dont even wanna say how bad my birthday was! The breakfast in the hotel is below the average, I have seen many flies aroud the food. That's my experience and it just wasted our holiday :(

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoy_travelling_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

just simply a wonderful place to stay, when we arrive we always feel as if we are meeting old friends again and we always feel a little sad to leave. The facilities are first rate, the staff helpful, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MostlyJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Jolly,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had such a memorable experience during your time here.
It is always so rewarding and a great encouragement to receive compliments such as yours.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having to stay in this resort 3 times and each time was an incredible and memorable experience! The overall Sutera Harbor is superb, there are 2 hotels, awesome golf course and a club with all kinds of activities like movies, bowling gym, restaurants, spa.... The rooms are spacious and clean, big pools with beautiful sunset, and breakfast is plentiful. Private beach could have been a little bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose the Magellan Sutura for its 5 star rating and we were not disappointed. Four of us traveled, husband & I and two 17year olds. Had two sea view deluxe rooms on the 5th floor (top floor) and the view was magnificent. Compliments to the staff and chefs at the Five Sails restaurant it was fantastic to have such a choice and you catered for all nationalities. 5 stars go to the ALL staff. The people here our the most friendliest and respectful people we have ever met on our travels, in fact, all the locals are great too. Smiles everywhere you go! We visited in October, yes it rained, but did not stop us enjoying our holiday. Our teenagers had a great time in the gym, Jacuzzi and spa and we played badminton. The Sutura marina is lovely. We found the cost of meals at the restaurants around the resort the same price as home (Perth, Western Australia), however, venturing into Kota Kinabalu eating at the local spots is really inexpensive and excellent food! KK has many shopping malls for those who enjoy shopping. A must do trip is the North Borneo rail trip, a little expensive but so worth it. Highly recommend the Magellan,can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We found the sea view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £89 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing