We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel - the staff make it special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - the staff make it special”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you are looking for a nice relaxed place to chill with the family in KK, then this is it. We had a great visit and spent 4 days at the Magellan Sutera celebrating our sons' 16th birthday. The resort is attached to a golf club and marina for those looking to play golf etc. The hotel has all the facilities you can think of - movie theater, bowling alley, 4 swimming pools, several restaurants ranging from casual to fine dining. The resort offers really great facilities for good value. Location is perfect as it is 10 mins from the airport and very close to the center of town. If you are a foodie and would like to try local cuisines...this hotel is a short cab ride from all kinds of great food.

Our trip was made special by the excellent and ever smiling service we got from the staff. A special thanks to San (Sudersan) the Guest Relations Manager at Magellan who made some great recommendations on local restaurants, activities and very patiently answered our many many questions - always with a smile.

We loved going there and if we were to return to KK, would definitely plan on staying at the Magellan Sutera.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - you get a good view of the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear NikHongkong,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Being within close proximity to a host of attractions and entertainment, our Resort is the perfect holiday destination for families.

We're glad that you had a wonderful stay with us as our team of staff strives to make sure that you and your family have a memorable and personalised holiday experience at Sutera Harbour Resort.

Your compliments for Sudersan has certainly brought him joy and he would also like to extend his gratitude to you. It is a great encouragement to our team as we continue delivering such impeccable service to all our guests.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming all of you back again soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    989
    304
    115
    87
See reviews for
793
924
86
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Good location, very near to town and airport .
Rooms are Clean , comfortable . Beautiful golf and sea view.
Great Breakfast with many choices.
Especially there is a beautiful long path between Pacific and Magellan where we can feed fish and have a walk.We enjoy swimming in the private beach where we can see many fish .
Swimming pools are sharing between the two hotels.
Shuttle bus is ready for going to town but have to pay.
It is highly recommended for one who want to relax and rest.

Room Tip: Higher floors with golf and sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindywlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear cindywlow,

Thank you for writing this review of your stay with us.

Your positive comments regarding our hotel's amenities and facilities are heartwarming. We are delighted to know that you have rated us as 'Best Resort'. Our team of staff will be thrilled by your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sutera Harbour Resort again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I was there from 20 Dec to 21 Dec for 1 night and this was probably the 10th times that I have stayed here. The landscape, the set up and the whole atmosphere makes it a perfect relaxing holiday gateway. There's also almost everything under its roof, from marina, pool tables, bowling and you can easily hop onto their boat transfer to the nearby island for snorkeling.

I had dinner at the Ferdinand that night and the food was just awesome! Salmon and the scallop were just so fresh and tasteful. The rooms are also spacious and nicely decorated.

I have tried both Magellan and Pacific Sutera but my preference would still be Magellan.

Kudos to Ravi and his ever dedicated team! Keep up the good performance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Muzammil_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Muzammil_MM,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay with us.

We are extremely delighted that you have rated us as the 'Best Resort In KK' and we are sure that your review will be most useful to other guests as well, so thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the 11th time again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with big families with 5 rooms. Got twin bed n request to change to king bed.was changed within 20mins. Nice modern room n bath. Splendid pool and a small area for snorkeling. Had turn down service for the 1st night, nice surprise.requested for extra towel n pillow and was attended to quite fast. Breakfast spread was good.overall am happy with the service and cleanliness and facilities of the hotel. Near kk airport and 3km away from Philippines market and hard rock Kk.definitely recommended. Would stay again. Great experience. Great view of sea n sunset but there isn't any sandy beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Jentay28,

Thank you for posting a review here on TripAdvisor.

With the host of attractions and entertainment available within close proximity of our Resort, it is indeed the perfect destination for family travel.

We're glad that you had a wonderful stay with us as our team of staff strives to make sure that you and your family have a memorable and personalised holiday experience at Sutera Harbour Resort.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming all of you back again soon and thank you for recommending us to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stay in club floor during aug summer holiday.Room is spacious with a living room.
Our room is facing the golf course .hotel is only 15 mins from airport.
Only bad thing is everytime you need to go out of the hotel you will need a cab .
Club floor has magnificuent sea view & serves ala carte breakfast which is made to order.
You can enjoy the facilities within the few properties of sutera.
I enjoy the nice sunset view @our magellan sutera resort.
You can easily get to the 3 islands ard 15 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euniceyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear euniceyew,

Thank you for sharing a review with us on your recent stay with us last August 2013.

Your compliments about our guest rooms, facilities and amenities are very much appreciated.

We would like to clarify that we offer City Shuttle service from Sutera Harbour Resort to Kota Kinabalu City Centre which is chargeable at RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12 years) and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. This service requires advance booking and tickets are available at The Concierge. The return trip back to the Resort is based on seat availability.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort where we cover the best of Sabah.

Best regards,
SHR-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A bit expensive but worth it. The rooms are spacious, complete amenities, and excellent breakfast buffet. It was hard to get out of bed since it was so comfortable. When I finally did and had breakfast, it was difficult to stop eating. The food was superb. There are four swimming pools to choose from. I preferred to swim in the Olympic size pool for exercise and the one with the slides for play. The gym equipment seems brand new. The hotel also has a shuttle that goes into the city even hour. Shopping and food trips won't be a hassle. Overall it was a memorable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Ian888888,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a memorable and comfortable stay.

Greatly looking forward to welcome you back soon to experience more of what our one-stop destination has to offer.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Huge spacious lobby. Room is big enough, with sea view. Breakfast spread is good. Nice view overlooking the pool. Transport to town is convenient with shuttle bus, but not much to shop there.The trip to Manukan island was a bit disappointing as it has become very commercialize with too many people. Over-crowded.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Trisa82,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is heartwarming to receive your compliments regarding our hotel's amenities and facilities.
Having a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets, all in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges to enjoy a more memorable experience while staying with us.

With that in mind, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience more of what our property has to offer.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing