We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Magellan Sutera in a Club room for a week in Oct/Nov 2013. We had an amazing time there, the staff were very helpful and accomodating. We enjoyed using the pools and eating at many of the restaurants. My fiance had some golf lessons and was really pleased with the pro and the course. My partner proposed after a beautiful meal at Ferdinands so it was a very memorable holiday for us.
The only piece of advice I would like to offer to the resort is to be more accurate with bookings. I booked at the Magellan (on the resort's website) months in advance, and emailed to confirm my booking weeks prior. Upon arrival after a night flight we were told by reception staff that we were booked at the Pacific. Showing my booking confirmation quickly resolved this, but from reading other reviews this seems to be a consistant issue. Other than that misunderstanding we had no complaints, so it would be nice to book with confidence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director Of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Chelle S,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, CONGRATULATIONS on your engagement! We are very happy to hear that you had a memorable holiday at Sutera Harbour Resort. Our associates will be most pleased to hear of your compliments which is a great source of motivation to do better in making sure each of our guests has a vacation that is both pleasant and enjoyable.

We would also like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused in regards to the booking error that you encountered upon check-in during your stay in Oct/Nov 2013. We appreciate the constructive feedback and rest assured, your comment has been channeled to the relevant department for further action.

With that, looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,773)
There are newer reviews for Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Pacifi Deluxe Golf View Room before doing Mt Kinabalu. This meant we had a view over the main entrance across to the golf course. I am not overly fussed by the view because you're not spending ages staring out the window from your room. The room is spacious, clean and somewhat modern.
It's a nice resort with private beach, decent restaurants and above average buffet breakfast. It is in it's own private enclave so traffic noise isn't an issue for any room (i think) and even though it's close to the airport, you don't hear the planes.
It's about a 30min walk into town or 50 mins to the better end of town so if you aren't a fan of walking in the heat, get the shuttle bus or grab a taxi.
Prices for drinks and food are a bit on the high side but I guess that comes with staying in a nicer resort.
Overall, it's one of the better options that are in or close to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halfnhalf1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear halfnhalf1971,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We certainly agree with you and are very proud of our location, a mere 10 minutes into the city centre of Kota Kinabalu and 10 minutes from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport as well as a 10 minute boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

Hope you had the chance to do some island-hopping during your time here. Otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Greatly looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Golf View Room, Pacific Sutera and the view was breath taking. Our room was on the 11 th Floor and we could see the Golf Course to our left and the sea to our right, the view of the Stilt village was also good. The balcony is a sweet addition. The harbour is beautiful and worth spending for that.

The place felt a little over priced for the level of service and room quality. Our experience to start it off was a little odd with the staff taking more than 25 mins to allocate the room, but the chocolates in the room and the flowers on the bed was a sweet gesture and may be that is what took time ;)!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhayTilwankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear AbhayTilwankar,

Thank you for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel for your honeymoon stay in June 2013.

We are delighted to read that you found our property to be beautiful. As you have highlighted the panaromic view from the balcony is a beauty to behold. However, we would like to clarify that you were allocated a Pacific Club Room which features a balcony.

With that, thank you for the candid review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

stayed at magellan wing for 3 nights. the room we stayed was ok but facility was outdated, need to refurbish. i understand that price may be higher than peninsula side but this resort was really overpriced 5-star hotel. during our stay, the hotel was running full by mainly korean & chinese group. as such, breakfast cafe was very crowded in peak time. if you want quiet breakfast, i shall recommend go there early, around 7am. food variety & quality are not up to 5-star standard.

there is own harbour, easy to access other islands. we went to sapi island to enjoy snorkeling. recommend to take the earliest ferry (08:30am) to get there. later on, the beach is full of groups.

mandara spa was great, we had a unforgettable moment, thank you very much. it is really worth to pay.

telephone operators need to improve communication skills.
conceirge members are very efficient to arrange taxi and shuttle bus.

we had positive & negative experience there but overall we had a good holiday. thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear travelhoneybee,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor.

So good to hear that you had a good holiday and an unforgettable moment at Mandara Spa during your stay with us. Your commendation for our Concierge team was certainly heartwarming and we are glad you were able to explore Sapi island on your recent visit. The island is one of the many attractions that Sabah has to offer.

We would like to apologise for our shortcomings and have taken note of your comments. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and will make every effort for necessary improvements. Pertaining to the rooms, we are happy to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms at The Magellan Sutera Resort are already in progress and being carried out in stages. It is hoped that you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit.

On that note, thank you for the feedback. It has opened our eyes further into understanding our guest’s fulfillment or disappointment in our resort’s services and facilities.

Best regards,
SHR-Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the pacific sutera which seems to be the slightly poorer sister of the Magellan Sutera. The Pacific is a 10 storied building which frankly looks put of place on it's setting. It is positioned between the sea and a golf course and rooms look out on one to the other. While the sea facing rooms offer a good view, the golf course views are not bad either. Rooms are decently appointed and the free wifi is always a bonus. There are several restaurants in the pacific although the better restaurants are located at the Magellan . The resort offers access to 5 tennis courts and a swimming pool which at the Pacific is better suited for wading.
The resort offers a free shuttle between locations in the resort and also offers a 3 ringgit round trip shuttle to the city. These operate hourly throughout the day and offer excellent value given that one way taxi fares are 15 ringgit .
Breakfast buffet is standard fare
Just outside the property are half a dozen restaurants, a bakery and a 7-11.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Sanjoy65,

Thank you for staying at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to receive your feedback about your recent experience at the Hotel. Although you found the Hotel to be the ‘slightly poorer sister’ of The Magellan Sutera Resort, the 5-star Pacific Sutera Hotel was established on international standards for both the leisure and business travelers with a surrounding which offers a blend of local and international facilities plus restaurants that serve a fair amount of Asian, Malaysian and Western cuisine.

Glad you had the opportunity to dine at our restaurants and happy to know that dining outlets at The Magellan Sutera Resort was to your liking. In regards to the breakfast buffet spread, we have recently increased our breakfast spread offering to over 100 items with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and asian taste.

As you have observed through your title, Sutera Harbour Resort is a self-contained holiday resort whereby all staying guests have access to a host of recreational facilities. We would like to add that the access is applicable to both hotels as well as Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. The recreational facilities includes 3 free-form swimming pools, an Olympic sized swimming pool, ten-pin bowling arena, 100-seater theatre, KTV lounge, Kiddies Club and not forgetting our impressive 27-hole Marsh Graham designed championship golf course.

Hoping to welcome you back for a return visit to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I’ve stayed 2 nights at the pacific Sutera since I wasted to visit the Kinabalu park before going to other island.
I choose this one over the Shangri-la because of its location, since the price difference was not that big.
I normally check reviews before booking an Hotel and this avoids disappointments 90% of the time, but I must say this time I was very disappointed.
The hotel is expensive and is rated as 5 stars. I honestly don’t see how since the rooms are big but very outdated, and they have very bad sound Isolation, the staff is nice but not very efficient (our bags took forever to arrive) and the service both at lunch and breakfast was slow and bad.
The breakfast choice is very limited for an ocidental, the coffee is a machine coffee that did not work the majority of the times and the juices are not fresh. Besides the service is a complete mess, they block some tables for some apparently VIP guests, they are slow and not very nice. I think none of these are acceptable for a 5 stars Hotel.
They have shuttles to the city and to the harbour and the concierge was very efficient organising a visit to the Kinabalu Park.
Overall the Hotel was a total disappointment, the rooms, the staff and the service. I recomment choosing other 5 or maybe even a 4 stars Resort in Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Sea view is better
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Pedritocalheiros,

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We appreciate all feedback as an opportunity to improve our standards and levels of service. Your compliments for the Concierge team is well received. Their exemplary level of personalized service to you is certainly consistent with their recent rating of Best 10 Concierge Excellence by Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015 (Malaysian Series).

However, we are genuinely concerned about the issues you raised in your review, specifically about the room’s soundproofing, restaurant amenities and service associates. Please be assured that we have forwarded your comments to the concerned departments and it will be dealt with as a matter of urgency.

In regards to the hotel room pricing, we do have special offers on our Sutera Harbour Resort website. Many of these rates also include buffet breakfast in which there are over 100 items offered with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and asian tastes.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the future for a more positive experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great Hotel with really good customer service. Couple of tips, air conditioning is very cold so take some warm PJ's or ask for a blanket. Also it is very hard to get your clothes dry this time of the year as there is no natural air flow as the windows don't open and there are no balconies on most floors. Pool was great, Silk restaurant had beautiful food but service was a little slow which didn't worry us as we were not in a hurry. The rooms are a little outdated but very clean, we like the ambience but everyone to their own. The best thing was the staff, always friendly, helpful and with a smile. We struggled with the breakfast over 8 days as we were not used to eating the eastern style food but it was still nice. Only real negative is that the room is not very sound proof and we were woken at midnight by other guests returning from the bars for half the stay but we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the views to the islands are beautiful
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Linda G,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

It was certainly nice to read the positive comments about the Hotel as well as our customer service/hospitality team.

However, we do apologise for the unnecessary annoyance that you had also noted. Being committed to ensuring our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay at the Hotel, all feedback are taken seriously and the concerned areas have been addressed by the respective departments.

In regards to rooms with balcony, only the Pacific Club Rooms has this feature. As a Pacific Club Room paying guest, you can enjoy the magnificent views from the top floors where breakfast and cocktails are served in the exclusive Pacific Club Lounge. Perhaps, you could opt for this room on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
237 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £93 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing