We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great 5 night stay at the Magellan Sutera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Loved our top floor room (7515) with a sea view & king bed, cleaned every morning & turned down with chocolates every night. Breakfast at Five Sails, lots of choice & plenty of room & great views. We ate most of our lunch & dinners at the resort, but found the Al Fresco the best value. most meals around rm35 to rm40 (u do the calc's) Mug of beer (285ml) resort price rm21 with lots of happy hours, Town price rm11. Bus service ran every hour into KK stopping at 3 different shopping center's cost rm3 each to get there but you can jump on the bus for free on the return trip incase you took a taxi in, Taxi cost rm15 to KK and rm30 to airport. We did the snorkel 2 islands thing, (rm160 each) not a bad day, due to the end of CNY there was a lot of rubbish around which was a shame (some people just don't care about spoiling the environment) not much coral left to see, small amounts of fish can be seen, lunch was average, got to see a few large lizards that came down close for a feed, it was a nice relaxing day & a can of tiger rm10, our guide was great, full of info, great conversationest. I will say that the staff and really all the Malaysian people we meet were so friendly and helpful, not one of them were in your face like other places we have been. We did have one stuff-up where we tried to book a massage beside the beach near the wave pool and ended up in a small suburb outside the resort but the end result was still great. Had a foot massage by a old blind man at the Gaya street Markets for rm20 for 30min that I would highly recommend. Checked out and ate at the night fish markets, (great fun & seafood) All in all we would definitely recommend the Sutera Harbour Resort as a place to relax and unwind and KK just to meet the friendly people and experience another culture and try different foods, ( the part I loved the most)

Room Tip: If you don't like long waits for anything go after CNY! late feb locals say june to july is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy N Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear SteveandDebJones,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us.

Glad that you had a great 5 night stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort and we are so pleased to have been rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.

Your detailed review will certainly be most useful to other travelers and we greatly appreciate you recommending us too.

Our associates work hard to ensure that the service they provide to each of our valued guests is warm and personalised, so your compliments is certainly an affirmation for them – they will be thrilled!

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you again on your next return to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Attended a 2 day conference, and was impressed with the resort feel, and facilities. The orientation and sense of space of the sprawling property with fine views overlooking the bay, makes for a relaxing stay. I liked my room with its own private balcony, and timber shutters. My only complaint is room air conditioning was insufficient, and tv channels limited. Also free wifi seems limited to the main lobby. Overall service is pleasant and helpful. There is a regular bus shuttle ferrying guests between the 2 hotels and the marina.
I stayed at the Magellan which is supposed to be the more upscale resort, but preferred to brighter and more contemporary feel of the Pacific Hotel rooms.
Recommended especially for families

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear sodesa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us.

Glad that you were impressed with our Resort’s ambience, service and facilities.

We sincerely apologise for the room and amenities which did not meet your expectation. Rest assured, we take all feedback seriously and your concerns have been shared with the concerned department for further actions.

In regards to WIFI connection in the rooms, we are happy to inform that there are plans to add in WIFI service to all rooms in The Magellan Sutera Resort.
However, this will only take place after the completion of its room refurbishment works which is scheduled to be completed soon.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future, whether for business or leisure.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked for 4 night in this hotel. when we arrived, they couldn't give us a sea view room as confirmed in our booking summary, we got an harbor view room instead which wasn't bad at all.

The room was spacious, proper and charming. my note 5/5

We didn't like the main restaurant at magellan (Five sails) which was overpriced ( 116RM per person for dinner) and not very good quality of food( pretty much the same everyday) 1/5

We loved "muffinz" a small muffin's club in front of the swimming pool. my note 5/5

As we were in a VIP place(magellan club), the staff was perfect, smiling, serving, listening, and always here. my note 5/5

we had breakfast in the magellan club lounge. It was really average, pretty much the same food everyday... my note 3/5

the swimming pool is big and proper ...we had so much fun playing with our baby in this nice swimming pool. my note 4/5

the private beach...a mini tiny small beach...we didn't like it at all ...if you love private beach...than this hotel is not for you...they don't have snorkeling masks for guests and when I asked for one...I immediately realize that they don't really care about the beach and services around. My note 1/5

finally, I was very disappointed by their cruise service (summer cruise) which is so expensive and a real mass. We paid 120 RM to go to private island...and on our way back...they put us in a shame boat without safety gilets...we felt like stupid tourists paying 500% more than local for the same service.

Also, They have "mandara spa". My wife had a balinese massage...she liked it ...it was perfect. 5/5

extra :

Staff, Room, location, Spool = good

Beach, Food, activities around : Bad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassimparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear bassimparis,

Thank you for having chosen Sutera Harbour Resort as your holiday destination.

It is truly heartening to read that the guest room, service at the Magellan Club Lounge, swimming pool, and spa experience at Mandara Spa met your expectation. We are also thrilled to note that you found Muffinz Deli Café to be favourable as it is a family-friendly outlet equipped with a play-area for children.

While we appreciate your positive comment, we are thankful that you brought to our attention of the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. We sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience and disappointment we have caused you and rest assured, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as yours that helps us improve, make changes and train our staff accordingly to exceed our guests’ expectations.

In regards to the beachfront and its atmosphere, both The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel have a private and exclusive beach area that is surrounded by swaying trees and an amazing view of the ocean plus tropical islands in the distance. Hotel guests can enjoy the spectacular panaromic sunset view with a cocktail in hand, which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu.

Kindly be advised that the cruise service is operated by a third party. The rates are priced at RM50.00 per adult and RM30.00 per child in which excludes Park Conservation Fee. However, as a business partner, we will channel your feedback to the management of the cruise and check on their comments of safety issue.

We do hope that the negative experience will not deter you from considering a repeat stay with us and that we can still look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at the resort staff were very friendly through out the time. Excellent breakfast buffet, facilities was excellent too. The walk along the marina is a must as views are excellent. Shuttle bus service was useful and convenient. Thank you to all the staff as we really enjoyed our stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank holman_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear holman_ma,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad to note that you had a wonderful 3 night break at Sutera Harbour Resort. It is truly a pleasure to read your feedback and how you enjoyed the amazing view at the Marina boardwalk and also found our City-Shuttle service useful and convenient during your time at the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Had a nice time here and would definitely come back. The resort has great facilities and staff were very friendly and obliging. I particularly enjoyed the 50m olympic sized lap pool in addition to the other pools.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pclq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear pclq,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and absolutely grateful for your appreciation towards our service and facilities especially the 50m Olympic-sized lap pool.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Love my stay in this hotel. We got a suite and facing the sea. The resort is complied by two different types, one is Pacific Sutera and the other is Magellan Sutera. We stayed in the Pacific Sutera and it's good! The room is spacious, big and clean. The breakfast buffet was nice with quite a lot of choices epecially fresh fruits. The service was good and the staff worked very hard. There is a shuttle bus with a small fee that take you to the KK center. You need to book and pay at the concierge and they gave you a ticket before you get on the bus. The swimming pool is very nice, plenty of pool beds and in the middle of swimming pool, the water is shallow and I could just lie down sunbathing while I cooled off in the water. There is a bar in the middle of the swimming pool and there is happy hour for your cocktails. We did try the bowling at the Magellan Sutera, my husband and I had a nice time there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVitamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear TravelVitamin,

Thank you for the lovely review about your stay with us in November 2013.

It is always encouraging to read of so many positive elements which you have highlighted such as our guest room, breakfast buffet spread, and service. As guest satisfaction is our primary concern, we are truly delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay on this occasion.

We are also glad you had the opportunity to use our swimming pool and also bowling facility at Striker’s Bowl located on Level 3, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club.

Can’t wait to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort, your home-away-from-home!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Pacific Sutera as a whole is a very good hotel to begin with, comfortable room and very spacious with lots of in house recreational facilities and adventure packages on offer. I was given a free extra bed for my child on arrival which is a good treatment to a guest. The isolated location from the town makes it peaceful to stay here. And a dream for golfers who want to play the 27 holes golf course on a broad daylight or under the flood lights at night. The golf academy is also one of the best here.

The recreational packages such as island sightseeing, scuba diving, jet skiing and nature tour are very good indeed.

The hotel environment is a little overcrowded with tourists making the huge space seems tiny and cramped. The price is too high compared to other hotels within this region such as Marriott in Miri, Sarawak.

There is a little hiccup to the general experience somehow. Some of the hotel services are very disappointing with regards to less than fully functional elevators (on the left side from the receptionist at the very far end - non functional level 10 button on one side but at least good on the other), the treatment from the swimming pool staffs with regard to their verbal response when asked for air pump for my children's life buoy and/or jackets of which they said they never know, pretend not to know or urging us to use our own mouth to blow the life buoy/jackets, the late room make up service, and the cockroaches' smell apple juice from Cafe Boleh at level 2. The hotel service should be on par with that of Marriott hotel in Miri, Sarawak which is beyond my personal expectation price wise and its first class treatment is marvellous.

Room Tip: Book your hotel in advance and get a discount prices as rooms might get expensive or painfully unava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Jamal,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read of your positive feedback with regards to your enjoyable experiences while staying with us and to see the lovely photos you have shared in this posting.

However, we are more concerned over the areas of your stay that did not meet your satisfaction. As comments from our valued guests enables us to identify areas of improvement, we truly appreciate your feedback. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience we have caused you during your time at the Hotel. Rest assured, we have taken note of your comments and will use them to further improve our service and facilities.

It is hoped that none of those negative points will hinder you from considering a repeat stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £92 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing