We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Sunset at the Sutera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Sutera Harbour is actually made up of four components, the Sutera Harbour Marina, the Sutera Harbour Golf Course, the Pacific Sutera Hotel and the Magellan Sutera Hotel.

The Magellan is the more upmarket resort catering for holiday-makers whereas the Pacific is a simpler business-class hotel.
If you stay in one hotel, you are basically allowed to use the facilities of the other.

Recently I stayed at the Pacific Sutera. Its a huge hotel, slightly older looking and less resorty than the Magellan. Ample free-parking available if you have a car. Booking a room was not a problem, just gave a call to the hotel and the room was reserved. Due to it being a peak season, additional charges were incurred, pretty pricy i thought for the Pacific.

Turns out when I checked in, the room was an Executive Room, had its own living room, a powder room and a huge bathroom. Two TV's, a fridge, complete sofa set and separate bedroom. Good view to the golf course, the city and the encircling mountains. Okay....acceptable for the price i suppose!

Lobby was huge, even had Wi-Fi access if you bring your laptop. The grounds were nicely planted, with a small pond with goldfish, a swimming pool and a small man-made beach. Now if you are looking for a beach holiday, you will be disappointed by the beach, but otherwise its a great place to view the nearby islands and the sunset.

Adjacent to the hotel is the Sutera Marina. Quite nice to take a stroll around to the Magellan on the other side. The water is surprisingly clean in the marina, you could actuall see crabs clambering on the rocks, little fish swimming under the pier, and even sea urchins. Also nice to take photos of the various boats anchored at the marina.

The Sutera is located halfway between the airport and the city centre, making it ideal if you have a car to go around. Really nothing major to fault with the Pacific Sutera, it seems to be really popular with Japanese, Korean and local tourists. If there is a grouse, the front desk services could be improved, seemed to be understaffed most of the times, and breakfast was packed with people. Shows you that it is a popular hotel for families, some people may not like the crowds.

Plus points is the good location, not in the hustle and bustle of the city centre, yet close enough by taxi. Lots of things to do within the grounds itself. And at least you are by the sea, unlike in the city centre, and get to see the beautiful KK sunset.

  • Liked — Lots of Grounds to Explore
  • Disliked — The Crowds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    942
    293
    112
    79
See reviews for
757
881
85
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

From the moment you arrive there are smiling staff every where. There is a choice of places at the hotel to eat, every where we tried was great. To top it off the 'Eggman' at Bfast was a master of his ommlett craft.
The Hotel its self is large with a great open entrance area (massive area) We stayed in the club rooms which were very spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms large and user friendly.
Pool area is very impressive and location wise it is only 10MYR to town in a cab or 15MYR if you are returning after midnight. Against almost any currency that is very cheap.

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayOnHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

Our family group recently travelled to the Sutera Magellan for the second time in 3 years. We had so thoroughly enjoyed the previous experience that it was with some trepidation that we returned. We stayed for 12 days and with the ages of our party ranging from 40s to 80 years old we all found that the resort lived up to and exceeded expectations. The reception staff were always pleasant but often slow, as others have commented. We had an issue when the online booking site we used had quoted a rate 200 ringitts a night less that the rack rate of the Sutera. It took a bit of convincing the reception staff that the rate on our booking slip was correct! The concierge staff, as noted in other reviews, were outstanding. Our ocean-view rooms were all well maintained and well stocked with towels and toiletries. The beds were comfortable and the air-conditioning a welcome feature. The carpets are stained but this will be remedied next year when the hotel will undergo extensive renovations. We used the free internet connection on a daily basis, without any glitches at all. We ate at Spice Island (twice), Ferdinands (twice) and frequently at Al Fresco and the cafe at the Marina complex. The service and food were universally excellent. Our happy hour orders were remembered by the second day of our holiday (and we are not big drinkers!) as were our names. With the family occupying 3 rooms at the hotel, the staff managed well to correctly charge back our meals and drinks to the correct room. Nothing was ever too much trouble even when the resort was over-run with 200 boisterous Australians on a junket. We took the opportunity to dive, used the gym and spent many hours around the excellent pools. The location is one of the highlights of the resort. Watching the amazing sunets was a favourite. I am at a loss to understand why anyone would prefer to stay in town surrounded by noise and some very average restaurants when you have the ambience of the Magellan as an alternative. We had a great time and will be back.

  • Liked — The overall ambience
  • Disliked — The reception staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

My family and I (two kids 8 and 10) came to The Magellan for the second part of our vacation (first 6 days were in Kuala Lumpur)
When we arrived we were taken to our standard room but found the beds too small for all of us. Long story short - the reception staff couldnt or wouldnt help us, but the assorted concierges were AMAZING and we ended up with a suite with an ocean view.
Asidef from that our stay was great and we enjoyed everything about it. We will be going back.

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank advano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Our travel agent recommended the Magellan Sutera (got good discount), but having read comments on Trip Advisor, I chose to limit our stay to two nights. We were glad to have done so. Not that every aspect was awful, but it was simply not inspiring. Here's my list of good and bad things:

Good things first:
+ Ferdinand's, the Italian restaurant, was excellent, even by Tokyo standards (which I personally think of as THE Culinary Pinnacle in the world); thanks for the recommendations on Tripadvisor!! We had two soups, two risotto/pasta dishes, and shared a main course (lobster, the only local thing that is served here), and were impressed with the size and quality of the dishes. The meat that accompanied the pasta was a little overcooked, but otherwise all plates were delicious. The wines by the glass (we sampled all four) were also unexpectedly good. A nice diversion from the buffets we were served elsewhere on our tour.
+ We had full ocean view from our balcony, and were able to witness an impressive sunset. Hotel management apparently tried to overcome the "lack of privacy" issue mentioned by some reviewers, by hanging flags over the balcony handrails. Effective and inexpensive solution!

Now the drawbacks:
- reception: We asked for a King size room bed (as requested) but were told that none was available. Smiles of reception staff was by the book, but did not convey friendliness or readiness to bend over to make you feel happy.
- outdated: In general, facilities in and outside of the room were outdated and in good need of refurbishment. E.g. the wood panel/window that divides the bathtub and the living room was hanging askew; carpet, wallpaper, tiles, toilet, towels etc. were clean, but not spic and span (stains, etc), and what bothered me most was:
- ants tirelessly marching on the tiles in the toilet. At least some entertainment while you're on it!
- shower: waterstream too weak.
- beds: definitely too small, even for my size (156 cm, and NOT obese); not comfy. pillows and towels were OK.
- breakfast: the Five Sails is sooo huge and impersonable. You have to stand in line to get seated (not good if you are in a hurry), despite free tables available(staff not efficient). When I was about to pack some pastries as a breakfast package (as we were running out of time), we were told that this is not allowed. Dear waitress, would you rather please clean up the tables first, so that guests do not have to wait in line to get seated, so that they do not have to rush and thus be in need to pack some food, before reprimanding something no other hotel I have stayed at forbids???
- Power outage: We were greeted by a friendly letter in our room that announced power outage the next day from 6am to 6pm. Thus, the aircon was out when we awoke the next morning. Although it is not that hot early in the morning, the air is very humid, so considering that most activities do not start before 8am, maintenance work should be completed between 8am and 4pm.
- Not a place for a couple desperately in need for vacation; but seems to be an adequate place if you are travelling with kids, due to the sheer size of the facility.

  • Liked — Ferdinand's and Manukan Island (private beach to snorkel)
  • Disliked — size (lack of coziness), ants' marching parade in the toilet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawanaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

I have stayed more than 30 nights on business (sometimes 5 days at a stretch) at this hotel over the past 8 years but have not gone there the last 2 years or so. Nothing much has changed except it seems to really pull in the foreign tourists (particiularly from Korea).

As the result, it was quite crowded, and even finding a table for breakfast can be challenging. Do expect kids to run smack into you, and people to cut you off at the buffet and learn to tolerate the noise.

The staff are as pleasant as can be expected but show that they are stretched. The service level is patchy, particularly when the crowds are big. The have LAN connections in the room but you won't find any details or a cable. It is "still under testing" after 3 years - and still free, but either bring your cable or get one from housekeeping.

On day 2 of my stay, the housekeeper forgot to replace any handtowels in my room. Do be careful, and make an official complaint as this hotel has in the past, charged me for items after I checked out. I have email correspondence relating to towels, and even better - food eaten by someone I don't even know after I checked out. My bank told me the hotel uses your credit card data to back-charge this way. Yes, they reversed these charges, but only after I spotted them and protested loudly.

So, stay there, but keep your eyes open. The le Meridien downtown is far nicer and newer. If you want a 3 star, cheaper place in town, do consider the Promenade. If you really want luxury, go to the Shangri La, preferably Rasa Ria (there are 2 Shangs in KK) which is away from town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, crowds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

We stayed here for four nights in a standard room. The room had a beautiful view over the bay and pool which made watching sunset a pure joy.

The room was clean-ish (there were some old stains on the bed covers and on the carpet but nothing which really fazed us) and a good size.

The BREAKFAST IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! I've never seen such an incredible variety. We would go back just for the buffet every morning. There was Korean, Japanese, Malaysian, English, pretty much everything you could think of. It was just a shame we got food poisioning from a trip to the markets so that we couldn't enjoy the buffet every day we were there.

The big downs to this place:

- the Airconditioning is set to suspended animation in the lobby and restaurants. We had to carry jumpers despite it being 40 degrees outside

- the wine collection isn't worth mentioning except that the $60 bottle we bought had turned sour (but no one would believe us). I'd recommend BYO'ing

- you can smoke EVERYWHERE. Lobby, restaurants, by the pool. Difficult if you come from a country where smoking is a pass time no longer acceptable in public places

Do remember to bring clothes to cover up in though. Remember that there is a large Muslim population and walking around the main town in short shorts and skimpy top will draw looks. They are too polite to say anything but it will remove the glances.

  • Liked — The location to the town
  • Disliked — The smoking and the shocking wine
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing