We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic view and relaxed pace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perak
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scenic view and relaxed pace”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The public accessible beach is pretty however its overall look is dampened as garbage lying about.. Everyday 2pm I think there's activity like blowpipe (to hit gallons - its harder than it looks), n batik painting for a small nominal fee.
Overall, enjoyable sea view esp with a good book. Relaxed pace environment.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hema N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Hema N,

Thank you very much for your review.

Glad you enjoyed the scenic view and relaxed pace during your stay with us.

We would like to clarify that both beachfront areas at The Pacific Sutera Hotel and The Magellan Sutera Resort are private and exclusive areas for Hotel guests only. The cleanliness of the beach has been addressed and is maintained by our team to keep it in a pristine condition and whilst we do our utmost to maintain the area, it is subject to tidal movements and debris washing up.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    1,005
    314
    120
    94
See reviews for
817
942
91
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is situated in a lovely position overlooking the sea and has its own small beach as well as a large swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds. The rooms are a good size and well decorated with a TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities, fridge, hairdryer and air conditioning. The bathrooms are large with a bath and shower and all toiletries available freely for use. The staff are friendly and welcoming and extremely helpful and the restaurants / food excellent. Breakast and dinner is buffet with a very large selection of well cooked food. A shuttle bus is available to take you into the centre of Kota Kinabula hourly for a very small charge.

Room Tip: Most if not all rooms face the sea and have small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Avril84,

Thank you for sharing a review with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at Sutera Harbour Resort.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the guest room, restaurant, service and amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My daughter and I spent 6 nights in a Club room at the Magellan Sutera and were most impressed. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable and we had views of the pool and ocean. All of the staff were courteous, friendly and helpfull. Eating breakfast on the terrace every morning and enjoying cocktails while watching the sunset every evening was wonderful. We sampled restaurants in all three properties. Five Sails (Magellan Sutera) is OK however I am not a great fan of buffets. We particularly enjoyed eating by ocean at the Breeze Lounge & Grill (Pacific Sutera). Muffinz (Magellan Sutera) was great for sandwiches/snacks. I twice visited Mandara Spa and it was tremendous. The pools were great though it was disappointing not to be able to find a spare sun lounge only to find that other guests had 'claimed' one by leaving a towel and book before disappearing for hours. I recommend that pool staff discourage guests from this practice. Also that the pool staff at the Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club advise guests that the roped lanes in the pool are for people who swim and not for non-swimmers or children playing. On 3 out of 5 visits swimming was interrupted by non-swimmers in the lanes and there is plenty of other pool space for non-swimmers. The shuttle service into KK was convenient and the Concierge's recommendations for excursions were spot on. I will definitely stay in a Club room at the Magellan Sutera again.

Room Tip: book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcE6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear GMCe6018,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and giving us a 5-star rating on TripAdvisor.

As a guest staying at Sutera Harbour Resort with cross-signing privilege, we are glad you and your daughter were able to enjoy the dining experience in some of our 15 F&B outlets, recreational activities and amenities throughout The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel, and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

It is certainly heartwarming to read that The Magellan Sutera Club Room is your preferred choice. Being a Magellan Club guest, guests enjoys personalised check-in services, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge – which we are sure you enjoyed during your stay with us.

Additionally, our service team will be most pleased to hear of your compliments regarding their service as they endeavour in making each of our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

However, we do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced at the Olympic-sized lap pool located in Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club. Your comments on area of improvements which includes the availability of sun loungers have been well noted and rest assured, it has been shared with the concerned department for further action so that we can work towards improving the overall experience for our guests.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

It's over 100 degrees outside and I'm paying hundreds of dollars to stay and play golf at their so-called resort. They limit golfers to 4 bottles of warm water a day, and 2 finger length bananas. I asked for some ice, to stay cool today, and they refused saying that the clubhouse restaurant will not give golfers ice, since they too buy ice from outside vendors. Im a patron of their restaurant 3 times a day, and accept that they charge 200% over the going rate of food and service compared to the rest of kota kinabalu, but they won't give me a few cups of ice?

The food.... O it tastes so bad that I want to make my own modifications, so I bring over a few limes and avocados to make it taste bearable, but the restaurant manager, yells that it is against policy. I've been a patron at this restaurant for a few days now, they never said anything when I brought my own papayas to eat, in fact, they gave me an extra plate so I can catch any juice drippings...

I ordered bibimbap, pretty hard to screw up, but the second time I ordered, it it has 50% less food on my plate. Moreover, it was lacking 2 main ingredients, like the meat and mushrooms ( pretty important for bibimbap)

I've been in the hospitality industry for over ten years now, and never in my life, seen such poor management. This resort needs not only facelift, but needs to terminate 99% of its pathetic staff to remain afloat.

Seriously, you walk into the lockers and the towel girl, is fast asleep snoring.

I ask for iced tea and the bartender grabs ice with her dirty , really soiled, hands. When I asked her to clean her hands before giving me ice, SHE WASHED HER HANDS IN THE ICE BIN and then continued to pour ice into my glass. Gross!!!!

In a nutshell, worst service, worst managers (Juneidy) it's such a joke here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Jenn L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and also via Twitter to which we tried to reach out to you with no avail. We are sorry to learn that your recent golf holiday experience at Sutera Harbour Resort was far from your expectations. At the same time, your frank review is much appreciated because it provides very important insights on the shortfalls that require improvements.

The concerns which you have brought up has been discussed with the respective departments. We do recognize the importance of attention to detail and communication, which could have been better executed during your time with us. Rest assured, all feedback are taken seriously and the areas you have raised were addressed with necessary steps to improve these issues, as well as our service shortfalls.

While we understand your overall experience has very much impacted your impression of us, we hope that you will grant us an opportunity to extend the high level of service and Sutera Harbour hospitality experience that we are truly capable of delivering on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Yours sincerely,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a review of the Magellan Sutera NOT the Pacific Sutera and why they are clumped together in tripadviser I don't know. True they are on the same property of 384 acres but otherwise are quite different.
The Magellan is easily the better (and more expensive) of the two hotels.
One is immediately impressed by the huge lobby on arrival (the largest lobby I think I have ever seen) and booking in was achieved in a fast and efficient manner.
Our room (a deluxe sea view room) was situated on level 1 just a stones throw from the South China Sea.
The room was large and very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was also large and contained a shower, separate hot tub and a combined toilet/bidet.
Our room as with the rest of the hotel was kept in an immaculately clean condition right through our 18 day stay and the staff were extremely polite and friendly.
There are at least a dozen or more restaurants/bars throughout the property catering for a large variation of food and atmosphere.
An internal bus will transfer you free of charge between the Magellan and other properties including a 27 hole golf course, undercover tennis courts, a bowling alley and of course the harbour itself where you can catch boats out to the islands or participate in a number of water sports. If you prefer to take things more quietly there are a number of swimming pools to relax in or sip a long cold drink by.
The wife and I thoroughly recommend the Magellan to anyone, including families, for a wonderful holday you will always remember.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Graham R,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience and detailed observation with us.

We are glad to learn that you liked The Magellan Resort - its ambience, guest room, amenities, facilities and the overall services. It is our constant endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

As you have observed, we have a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties which includes The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina Golf & Country Club whereby all in-house guests are given cross-signing privilege. This makes Sutera Harbour Resort the perfect destination for any type of vacation.

With that, thank you for strongly recommending us to other travelers and we are greatly looking forward to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have just completed 6 nights at this resort and stayed at the Pacific Suteria hotel just wonderful in every respect the service bad facilities are really the best of the best

My partner and I had an incredible stay, can't wait to return, have a great Italian Restaurant food excellent service was the very best 5 star quality in every respect

Sean Boyle
Singapore

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive suite over looking the sea with 2 balconies it was just lovely to watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Goat2045,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad you found The Pacific Hotel to be a great hotel and an ideal location too. Your compliments for our service, facilities and executive suite was well received as it is an affirmation for us and a great encouragement to our team.

As hotel guest who has cross-signing privileges, we are pleased that you had the opportunity to dine at our award-winning Ferdinand’s Italian Restaurant in The Magellan Sutera Hotel which is just a short distance walk from the Hotel. The restaurant was recently awarded Best 5 HAPA Flavours Of The West and Best 10 HAPA Restaurant of the year at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at The Pacific Sutera. As other people mentioned, the pools and other facilities are shared. But we mostly stayed at the beach by the Pacific Sutera. The room is spacious and the shower is big too. We stayed in the golf-view room which is very nice. We tried 2 restaurants (Chinese and Mediterranean) which were OK. I would rather recommend to go out of the hotel and try the restaurant across the street, Harbour city. A few restaurants in that area.

The shuttle bus service is quite good andwell managed, and the staff are nice and helpful too.

However the beach is quite small and i guess it's man-made, since i saw rocks along side the shore. My father got badly hurt by the corals when swimming in the permitted area. One staff walked by and saw it and sent the safe guard to clean and take care of the wound. For the next few days, we never swam in the sea and saw quite a few people got injured.

So be super alert when swimming in that area.

one last downside is the room cleaning, it usually occurred around 2-3 pm. It would be nice if it would be done earlier.

But we will definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be alert when swimming by the beach
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mini_girlSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear mini_girlSH,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you had a very good stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.
Glad you enjoyed the room, amenities and facilities too.

However, we would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortfall in service and at the same time assure you that your feedback in regards to housekeeping service and safety around the beach area has been noted and our team is taking necessary action to ensure a seamless experience in the future.

Above all, we look forward to welcoming you home for a renewed experience the next time you visit Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing