We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with beautiful swimming pool and beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with beautiful swimming pool and beach!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there two nights.
I very much liked this hotel because the room was nice, the swimming pools are amazing, beach was fun to play around on, and the food was very good.
There are several pools so you can choose the one you like. There is a cruiser harbor inside. You can take a cruise to some islands from the hotel. It was really cool.
There are so many restraints and bars there. You can so choose the one you like.
Their breakfast was buffet style. I liked the food very much because they had both European and Malay food.
Room was fantastic. It's comfortable and clean.
Also, hotel crews are very professional. Front desk does good job, room keepers are also very nice.
If I need to say bad point about this hotel, it should be the location. It's close to the airport but a bit far from downtown. They have shuttles with cheep price so I recommend you to take their shuttle if you need to go out. I think you want to spend more time in the hotel, not in town because staying at the hotel feels so relaxing!
I would love to comeback again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Rimpsons,

Thank you for sharing a succinct review about your recent stay with us.

Glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience. Your compliments are a great motivation for our team as we continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Although you did not find our location to be convenient being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, we are happy to read that you took the opportunity to explore some of our 15 F&B outlets and recreational activities throughout Sutera Harbour Resort.

We can’t wait welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort the next time you return to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    991
    305
    115
    90
See reviews for
794
927
86
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked for 1 night at Magellan before going home.

Room was comfortably spacious and clean but dated, furnitures were bit old.

Beach side pool was dirty and crowd so we had to go to the other pools on the maina side, it was excellent, we enjoy our time there.

Breakfast have many choices but average, the view was great. We went there at 7am and very quite and peace, never go after 8:30am.

We had lunch at Al freshco and all courses were surprisingly good, very delicacies.

Staff was nice but service was slow and not efficient, we booked for triple but the extra bed hasn't set until 9:30pm after our many chasing calls.

They have shuttle bus to down town (RM3 per head) which is very good, had to buy ticket in advance.

I just want to complain about their taxi service. We checked out and about to leave, saw a taxi just arrived and dropping off passenger, so we wanted to ask the driver if he could take us to airport. Then the doorman came up and he tried very hard to stop me talking to the driver or even approch to the car.

He said "no no no this taxi", and indicate that we need to get the taxi throguh hotel, which is RM30 from hotel to airport. (we then found that many taxi in parking lot and waiting for hotel's job order) This is totally ridiculous! Since we had a flight to catch we didn't have time to argue, so we had to wait for the call taxi.

The taxi experience was another disaster, the refferal driver was very rude and unprofessional. He kept taunting us and said many bad things all the way which totally ruined our good memories and impression about KK and the nice people we've met.

I will only blamed this to hotel since their staff force us to get the taxi from hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at G/F, it could be very loud since ppl walk in and out. Some rooms on the Marina Win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sefollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear sefollie,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad you had a pleasant stay and found our room to be comfortably spacious and clean. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your meal at Al Fresco, The Magellan Sutera Resort and also had the opportunity to utilise the recreational facilities at Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club. With regards to the rooms façade, we are happy to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms are already being carried out in stages at the Marina Wing. However, we would like to clarify that the refurbishment work takes place from 8am to 6pm.

On another note, we would like to apologise for the shortfall in service and inconvenience you faced during your time with us. Rest assured all feedback are taken seriously and the areas you have raised were addressed with necessary steps to improve these issues. In regards to your experience with the taxi service, kindly be informed that all guests of Sutera Harbour Resort are advised to use the designated taxi service arranged by our Concierge when traveling to a destination from the Resort. This policy was issued for our guest’s security and safety purpose. However as the taxi service is operated by a third party, we will channel your feedback to the management of the taxis for their further action.

While we understand your overall experience has very much impacted your impression of us, we hope that you will grant us an opportunity to extend the high level of service and Sutera Harbour hospitality experience that we are truly capable of delivering on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay here but used the facilities.

What impressed me was how one member of staff at the Magdalene called shofina went out of her way to help with some scanning of my documents. To say she went beyond what was expected would be an understatement.

Had a very nice ambience around the place as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CatDogSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear CatDogSeal,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

Our greatest asset is our team of associates and we always take great pride in knowing that they endeavour to deliver an exemplary level of personalised service to our guests every day. Your compliments for Shofina from Front Office at The Magellan Sutera Resort has certainly put a smile on her face and she thanks you all the same!

We hope to welcome you for a stay experience at Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed 8 nights :). The staff were all so polite and hospitable. The front desk service was excellent. The harbour and the islands at the horizon is a magnificent view. The price for the activities are costly. However the stay is pleasant. It is near the airport. If you like golf, it's amazing place. We don't play golf. Swimming pool near to the beach... Very comfortable beds. Hotel Shuttle service to KK City (for a small fee) & within the Resort to the Magellan (free). We loved the scenery from our room (at 9th Floor).

Negative:
- Pool closed at 9pm:(.
- Bit expensive.
- The breakfast is so so. Because we are European people;)

Tips:
- If you want to go to KK(Kuala Lumpur) in hotel exist Hotel Shuttle every 60 minutes. Just 3 RYM($1) and from city it's free ! Cool.
- By taxi is 15 RYM($5). From city to Hotel, ask taxi "how much", because they can cheat you.
- Hotel->Airport or Airport->Hotel is 30 Rym($10)
- We rented scooter for this period and for us was more easy to go to KK or other places. IF you want to rent a scooter go to building: Wisma Sabah. 24H = 50 RYM ($12).
- You will find in Wisma Sabah more tours: Kuala Mountains, Rafting (200Myr/pers), Scuba Diving (Take PADI groups). We did here PADI courses, AMAZING!

Overall: Great hotel and SABAH! Wish we that could stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: You have 2 options: Golf view or Sea view. We like more golf view;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sveatoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Sveatoslav,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

So happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the magnificent view at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Your compliments for our associates are much appreciated – they were delighted to hear of it!

As hotel guests with cross-signing privileges, we hope you had the opportunity to try out the 15 F&B outlets located throughout The Pacific Sutera Hotel, The Magellan Sutera Resort, and Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club – if you haven’t, that calls for a return visit soon!

With regards to your feedback about the pricing of the activities, operation time of the swimming pool and breakfast buffet spread, it has been noted and shared with the management.

Above all, we greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is only a short drive from Kota Kinabalu airport which is great after a long journey. The hotel is in a large complex and we stayed at the Magellan Sutera but guests of the hotel are free to use any of the facilities on the complex. When arriving at the hotel our room was not ready (despite arriving after check-in time) and we were directed to another room in the hotel for an hour. When we arrived in our room it was spacious and had all the facilities which we needed. The bathroom was beautiful and very luxurious.
The hotel has a wide range of restaurants and bars to choose from. Although we found the value in the hotel for eating and drinking to be good, a trip into KK for dinner revealed that it was possible to eat for much less away from the hotel. KK was easily accessible by an inexpensive shuttle bus from the hotel, or a short taxi ride and only took around 15 minutes to reach the city. There is a handicraft market here which is well worth visiting, plus several shopping centres. The Suria Sabah shopping mall is well worth visiting.
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and happy to accommodate any requests you may have. The communal areas of the hotel are well maintained with plenty of seating areas and free Wi-Fi. The food in the hotel was excellent, although we found the buffet meal in the main restaurant to be a very expensive option for what it was. There is an excellent Italian restaurant which serves high quality food and is well worth visiting on the 1st floor of the Magellan called Ferdinand’s. Al Fresco also serves excellent food in a nice relaxed atmosphere.
The North Borneo railway operates from this hotel and had a trip on board which was excellent if you have a free day. The beach areas at the hotel are relatively small but there are plenty of sunbeds located on the decking areas between the pool and the beach. We never found the smallish beach to be an issue. The hotel offers to arrange a wide range of trips on your behalf if interested so it is well worth discussing with the concierge.
Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We had a wonderful time and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Kathryn D,

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are most delighted to know that you found our Resort to be worth the visit! So happy to read how much you enjoyed the convenient location, facilities and amenities that the Resort has to offer. Your compliments for our associates as well as the North Borneo Railway train ride are much appreciated. Just to make some clarification, the NBR train ride departs every Wednesday and Saturday. However, prior bookings must be made to which our front desk will be most happy to assist as this is one of the must-do when in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. To add on, we hope you enjoyed the spectacular panaromic sunset view at The Magellan Sutera Resort’s beachfront with a cocktail in hand – otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

As all hotel guests are given cross-signing privileges, guests can explore the 15 F&B outlets located at all three properties: The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. There is a great array of recreational activities too such as a 12-lane bowling alley, an Olympic-sized lap pool, halls for racquet games, and a covered tennis court among others to keep you fit during your vacation. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to dine at our award-winning Ferdinand’s Italian Restaurant as well as Al Fresco in The Magellan Sutera Resort. Ferdinand’s was recently awarded Best 5 HAPA Flavours Of The West and Best 10 HAPA Restaurant of the year at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015 (Malaysian Series).

However, we would like to apologise that when you checked in the specific room you were looking for was not ready. Rest assured this feedback including the buffet pricing have been shared with the respective Head of Department for further action as we continue to work toward ensuring a seamless overall experience for all our guests.

On that note, we thank you for recommending us and are greatly anticipating your next return to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay here but used the facilities.

What impressed me was how one member of staff at the Magdalene called shofina went out of her way to help with some scanning of my documents. To say she went beyond what was expected would be an understatement.

Had a very nice ambience around the place as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CatDogSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Magellan Sutera for seven nights and it was a wonderful experience. Check in was flawless and our room large and clean. We stayed in a sea view room on the third floor and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The staff were the friendliest I have ever come across and I must mention Benjie and Raj on the concierge desk who were extremely helpful. The only faults I can give are that I agree with another reviewer was that the breakfast, whilst extensive, was not very hot and we were woken at 1am one morning by Koreans who had just arrived on their flight. The noise went on for an hour and a half and when I complained the next morning it was just brushed aside. In fact one person at the reception counter thought it was funny and just laughed. They are my only complaints, apart from that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBERT1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear ALBERT1943,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are most delighted that you found our Resort wonderful and enjoyed your stay experience with us. Your compliments for our associates especially Benjie and Raj from the Concierge team is much appreciated – they were absolutely thrilled to hear of it!

However, we would like to apologise for falling short of your expectation and appreciate the feedback regarding our service, breakfast buffet spread and the noise level during your time with us. Rest assured, your comment has been well noted and shared with our team to ensure these same situation do not occur in the future.

Having said that, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing