We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Paridise in North Borneo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Pacific hotel is a mid range resort type hotel built together with another hotel and a large golf course. It is isolated from the city on its own island. The hotel provides mid range quality rooms but the main game is the large pool set up against the ocean in a nice garden setting. The pool is suitable for adults right down to toddlers with the pool designed with different water depths.
Drinks around the pool, and in the hotel are at US hotel levels which is a bit out of synch for a Sabah hotel. Cocktails at $10 and $8 are on the high side and not to the standard you would expect. There are three restaurants on site - general coffee shop and buffet, an upmarket chinese restaurant, and a surf and turf plus Asian beachside restaurant. Food is only average quality and seems more geared towards Asian Guests. Service is cheerful but varies.

Room Tip: Best rooms are high and on the oceanside, but you pay more. Else ask for a non smoking room on level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear portland27,

Thank you for posting this candid review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pool facilities. You will be happy to know that The Pacific Sutera Hotel offers Happy Hour every evening from 5pm to 7pm at Lobby Lounge and from 9pm to 10pm at Breeze Beach Club with special prices on draught beers selected specialty cocktails.

As per your observation about the Hotel’s dining outlets ie. Café Boleh, Silk Garden and Breeze Beach Club, we have noted your comments about the food selection and quality. Please know that we are working to improve the variety of our food offer to better serve our guests. We also regret to learn that the level of service you have received varied as all of our associates are expected to provide a friendly and efficient service at all times.

Your honest feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and accommodations.

We hope we will see you again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I just spent a week at Sutera Harbour (Magellan) Resort in club room. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The toiletries are of high quality.The property is just out of main town and thus nice and quiet /peaceful. The property is huge with a massive swimming pool , excellent club room, has its own cinema complex with games room. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food in KK generally is geared to seafoods (limitations on being a vegetarian) and my colleagues who had the sea foods loved it. The hotel has ample choice of restaurants. Transport from the hotel into main town is RMS 15 by taxi or RMS 3 for bus that leaves hourly during the day.
Overall, the property is definitely 5 star quality with a matching service.I'll be back !

Room Tip: Excellent if travelling with family /children. Club rooms are a must for business travellers .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohines p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear mohines p,

Thank you very much for your succinct review about your recent stay experience with us!

We are always very happy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our guest rooms, facilities, service and amenities.

You are spot on to say that Sutera Harbour Resort is an excellent choice for family travel! In fact, we are the perfect destination for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Your recommendation of our Magellan Club Rooms are much appreciated. All Magellan Club Room guests enjoys personalised check-in, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge – which we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed!

On that note, we appreciate your continued loyalty towards Sutera Harbour Resort. Certainly looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The only reason this would not be a 5 is the lack of beach space, retail available in Golf Pro Shop and Hotel. The Italian restaurant (fine dining) lobby floor is exceptional. The best service in the city.

Room Tip: Stay off the lobby floor for your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Chris C,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad to read that The Magellan Sutera Resort was to your liking. As a hotel guest who has cross-signing privileges, we are pleased that you had the opportunity to dine at one of our 15 F&B outlets - award-winning Ferdinand’s Italian Restaurant in The Magellan Sutera Resort. The restaurant was recently awarded Best 5 HAPA Flavours Of The West and Best 10 HAPA Restaurant of the year at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015. Your compliments for the team will certainly put a smile on their face!

In regards to the beach space at the resort, it is a private and exclusive beach area surrounded by swaying trees and an amazing view of the South China Sea plus tropical islands in the distance. Hotel guests can enjoy the spectacular panaromic sunset view with a cocktail in hand, which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu – if you haven’t done so, that calls for a return visit soon!

Looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hi stopped for 9 nights at the Magellan section of the complex which in my opinion is the better of the 2. Hotel beautiful massive foyer greets you when you pull up,to be greeted by the extremely polite staff. We had a deluxe sea view room which are the best for the view. Thought the food and especially the beer was expensive. A little tip to the management the staff are lovely and polite but I think your training them to be too efficient as soon as your plate is empty it dosnt have to be taken straight away just wait till you have finished your meal,feel like your being watched! Also when you order two meals would be better to come out at the same time. Apart from that would definitely recommend this hotel great shuttle bus service staff extremely helpful for all your needs.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Brendan F,

Thank you for taking the time to share this candid review of your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that The Magellan Sutera Resort was to your liking and being your home-away-from-home, it is important to us that we make your stay a comfortable one.

With regards to your comment on our restaurant team who are always keen to ensure they deliver the best service, we apologise that in this instance it would appear they had been a little over zealous. Training with all our associates are on-going and rest assured, this is a topic that will be covered by our trainers.

On that note, we look forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

To be fair this reviews is done on the first day, but felt grieved on arrival. After a 24hour journey we arrived at hotel at 11:45am to be told room not ready till 2pm....I accept this but no refreshments offered while we had to sit and wait. When we got our room allocation 628 and key,no explantation of this fast hotel, when breakfast is served,where everything was like pools restaurants,etc.
The room had been booked for my husband and I and our 26 year old daughter who we were meeting up with ...got to room!!!! Temporary Fold up bed, we are here for two weeks .....we raised the issue, and a family room was available but wanted to charge us £50 a night extra. This is unacceptable for the next two weeks. The bathroom door in our room is so stiff can not close it without waking everyone in the room...so disappointed hope the holiday improves.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Annettew56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Annettew56,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us on TripAdvisor.

It is indeed very disappointing for us to see that the service fell short of your expectation on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and we assure you that this is not our usual standard.

We take all feedback very seriously as we continuously review ways to fine-tune our processes to ensure better efficiency and quality of our service touch points. Having said that, our team has been in contact with you since and have addressed your concerns appropriately. We hope that we were able to regain your confidence in Sutera Harbour Resort.

Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you.

On that note, we wish you a pleasant stay as you experience the Sutera Harbour hospitality that we are truly capable of delivering while with us in Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Rooms are lovely, although a twin room really only has 2 single beds, not queen size beds. Food was excellent. Great view over the ocean! Stayed in the Meridien before and would choose to go back there.

Room Tip: Twin beds are single beds! So if you are travelling with children and think you can fit in a twin ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatrienMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear KatrienMitchell,

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay experience with us.

We are glad the room was to your liking and that you enjoyed the spectacular sea view. Our culinary team would be delighted to hear of your compliments too!

However, we would like to apologise that your holiday was interrupted by the actions of other guests as we have a cosmopolitan market mix with guests from all cultures coming to our Hotel which makes it truly international. Please be assured that our associates will do all they can to prevent disturbances like this in the future to ensure a pleasant overall guest experience.

In regards to the twin room, we are sorry that it was not up to your expectation. We wish to clarify that twin room category comes with two Single Beds. Perhaps, next time you may want to consider booking one of our family rooms at The Pacific Sutera Hotel which is fitted with a King-size bed and an adjoining room with twin beds. Facing the panoramic view of the undulating golf course, this spacious room is fitted with a private toilet and bath with shower and tub, television with satellite channels, free internet/WiFi connection, and a wide range of modern amenities.

In the event that you re-consider, and your travel schedule does bring you back to Kota Kinabalu, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Just moved here from Shangri-la Tanjung Aru to this Magellan, a totally different experience. Once enter the room, the room smelled badly and informed the staff they said its central air-con that it is it! (This is the worst, but some more to come...) And the balcony is dirty that left-over from last resident's cigarette package and dirty chair. The hotel room and bathroom look so lack of maintenance.
Headed to the restaurant Al fresco for dinner. The staff don't look like wanna serve anyone and not welcomed guests to come. And the food sucks, the water served tasted strange. I was not that full but I cannot eat any more bites of food served from that kitchen.
Gosh... I still have 3 more nights to go with this hotel......sigh....

Stayed: April 2014
7  Thank Joyful812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you bringing to our attention the difficulties you encountered during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and we assure you that this is not typical of our Resort. Having said that, our team has been in contact with you since and have addressed your concerns appropriately. We hope that we were able to regain your confidence in Sutera Harbour Resort.

Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you.

On that note, we wish you a pleasant stay as you experience the Sutera Harbour hospitality that we are truly capable of delivering while with us in Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,229 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £97 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing