We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

First of all, the scenery and location are already plus points for the hotel. Wonderful location with sea view, golf club, and so on.

Pacific Sutera offers rooms with lower rate as compared to Magellan. The quality is all good and friendly stuffs are serving all the time. The food there was excellent for me, nicely cooked and served. Facilities are all up to standard and I am really satisfied with the place.

It is a really good place to spend your holiday if you want to have a relax holiday in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeSsSssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear CeSsSssy,

Thank you very much for your succinct review about your recent stay with us!

We are always happy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our location, guest rooms, facilities, service and amenities.

Your recommendation for Sutera Harbour Resort as the ‘Best Hotel In Town’ is very much appreciated and we are greatly looking forward to welcome you back soon again!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    944
    293
    113
    80
See reviews for
758
886
85
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Fair to say that the initial impression of the Magellan was that it looked a little tired and in need of some TLC to make it sparkle. The beach is about the size of my backyard and certainly not for swimming. Not much at all around the Magellan unless you are into golf. That said the pool is amazing so no need for the ocean. Quality of food and service was excellent. Room was large and very comfortable. Shuttle bus leaves every hour and for 3MYR you can be in the heart of KK in 10 mins. No meters on Taxi but set price of 15MYR so no need to haggle. If you like shopping or massage then plenty of choice. If you get off at second stop then good money changer to left of entrance to mall where you are dropped. If you want beach then short taxi to Tanjung Aru beach which is good for sunset and happy hour. Happy hour in KK starts at noon until 9pm in many places.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us.

Glad you found our room to be nice and comfortable. We are happy to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms’ façade at The Magellan Sutera Resort are already being carried out in stages at the Marina Wing. Hope you will get to experience the difference on your next visit.

Your compliments for our service, facilities, amenities and food offerings were certainly well received. Although our private and exclusive beachfront area was not as spacious as you had hoped for, we hope you enjoyed being surrounded by swaying trees and the spectacular panaromic sunset view with your favourite cocktail in hand – which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu. Happy Hour at The Magellan Sutera Resort is offered every evening at Al Fresco from 4pm to 7pm and Tarik’s Lounge from 5pm to 7pm.

As our valued guest of The Magellan Sutera Resort privileged with cross-signing facilities at all 15 F&B outlets plus exclusive access to all recreational facilities within Sutera Harbour Resort, we hope you had the chance to visit our internationally renowned Mandara Spa or take a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park – otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Having said that, we are eagerly waiting to welcome you again on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed for three nights in this hotel. I enjoy very much with the water sport activities and the swimming pool of this resort. The swimming pool is child-friendly and incorporated with bar that serve wide varieties of drinks. It also connected to a private beach. Considering its design and water sport activities, it is excellent. However, there are also a number of downsides about the hotel.

The buffet breakfast provided in this hotel is very poor - 1. not much to choose; 2. impolite staff; 3. no or slow refill when the food is run-out; 4. poor quality; 5. it seems to me that the breakfast arrangement in this hotel has racial discrimination (For Asian hotel guests, including Chinese, Japanese and Korean, they are arranged to the lower floor for breakfast, which have less varieties and poorer service; whereas for Malaysian, European or US or Australian, they are directed to the upper floor. So if the policy has not been changed, I would not recommend this hotel to Chinese, Japanese and Korean. Paying the same price but with poorer breakfast and service. Also, in my last day of stay, I need to leave very early in the morning and the hotel mentioned that they can prepare take-away breakfast for us. Although I have pre-booked and promised the take-away breakfast 1 day in advanced, the staff did not prepared when I checked out. In 5-min time, I was given some sort of "junk food" with poor package. Eventually, I really cannot enjoy such breakfast.

Considering my room condition, as mentioned above, the design is excellent. However, the maintenance is poor, water leaked under the washing station in the restroom; the tap controlling the temperature of the bath tap is broken, either very hot water or room temperature water can be used in the bath tub (Room 438, please check). Luckily, the separated shower room is functioning well. However, my young kid cannot use the bath tub.

Having the above experience, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone particularly for Chinese, Japanese and Korean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear VK K,

Thank you for taking the time post a review about us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you like the water sport activities, swimming pool facilities and Waves Pool Bar at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

However, we are most concerned to hear that your stay with us indicated a lot of shortfalls. We are disappointed that you experienced such service lapses during the time of your stay at the Hotel. We sincerely apologies for the discomfort and inconveniences you have experienced in our guest room. Please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager, the situation would have been rectified immediately. As for the take-away breakfast arrangement during check out, we are sorry for not meeting up to your expectations and we can assure you of improvement in this area.

In regards to the breakfast buffet experience in which there are over 100 items offered with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and asian tastes, we understand the disappointment in waiting for refills. It was unfortunate that this time was a very busy period for The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Seeing that Café Boleh was at its maximum capacity in the morning, we offered an ‘overflow section’ at Silk Garden Restaurant to accommodate our guests’ needs.

In our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and hospitality, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as your that helps us improve, make changes and train our associates accordingly to exceed our guests’ expectations.

While we understand your overall experience has very much impacted your impression of us, we hope that you will grant us an opportunity to extend the high level of service and Sutera Harbour hospitality experience that we are truly capable of delivering on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel resort. We arrived after spending the past week climbing mt Kinabalu and then sleeping and telling in the jungle- treated ourselves to 2 nights in the Magellan. Definitely pay a bit more for the Magellan over the other hotel. We visited the other hotel pool and it's fine but a lot less luxurious. Hotel staff all incredibly helpful and friendly. The pool area was immaculate and plenty of sunbeds and towels to use freely. The breakfast was great, lots of choice. Huge hotel suite was amazing- we got 'upgraded' to a big suite as they had overbooked the sea view rooms. The restaurants are lovely but a lot more expensive than eating in the city however there is a cheap hotel run shuttle gusto take you into town. All in all perfect stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mishka827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mishka827,

Thank you for the lovely review about your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu and hope that it was a successful climb.

We are absolutely happy to know that you had a perfect stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your positive comments will go a long way to encourage and motivate all of us.

As our valued guest, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The thing that stands out at The Pacific is the friendliness, high service level of the staff. All the staff that we had met in the hotel during our 5D, 6N stay were friendly, smiley and provided good advice to the queries we had. The staff at the Concierge (special thanks to Sabri) were patient, gave us really good recommendations of where to go, what to see and the best ways to get to the destinations we wanted to go.
The decoration and the rooms are slightly dated but comfortable enough (we were staying in junior suite). Tours and amenities are slightly pricey though. Great location and very near to town center. Overall, pleased with our stay at the Pacific, thanks to personable service we had received.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shin669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Shin669,

Thank you for sharing a review with us on TripAdvisor.

Great to hear that you had a memorable and pleasant stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Your praises for our associates certainly made our day! We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalised service for each of our esteemed guests.

To add on, we are also delighted to read that our associate, Sabri of Concierge exceeded your expectations with great service as this is consistent with their recent rating of Best 10 Concierge Excellence by Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015 (Malaysian Series).

Looking forward to welcome you and your family back again to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The very first impression was shocking enough: I was given a key for an already occupied room. Thanks heaven nobody was having sex when I barged in! Lots of smiles and apologies from the staff, yeah, thanks a lot - finally an empty room.

Food is OK, though breakfast choices are skimpy; just 2 kinds of fresh fruit and they are watermelon and pomelo. Fancy reason to cross the world, indeed.

the hotel DOES NOT have beach - you cannot call this strip of sand size of a bathrug a beach. The Magellan "beach" even worse than that.
Pools are OK, but one can get as much chlorine back home as well.


It is close to the airport, so the noise of landing / taking off planes is always here for you.


You fancy tours? Get prepared to NO tour service. Chase consierges, beg them for an advise, all that funny business, true vacation. Diving centre booth is permanently closed, their desk at the lobby nice and empty.

Travel alone? You are a second-rate creature, congrats! They do not bother provide, say, ferry trip to islands to one person.

Highly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillamy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear lillamy78,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this helpful feedback. We read the experience of your stay with deep regret and disappointment, especially when you have made our Hotel your accommodation of choice. All of your comments have been well noted and each one are being addressed with great earnest.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us due to the room-key error. Although this is an isolated instance, it is an issue that has been acknowledged and rest assured, extra measures are being taken to ensure that there will be no recurrence of similar events in the future.

Your comments regarding the levels of Chlorine in our swimming pool has been noted and is continuously monitored by the concerned department as our pool area is a popular feature of our Hotel.

In regards to our breakfast buffet spread, we are sorry you found it to be skimpy. However, we would like to clarify that our breakfast spread offers over 100 items with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and asian taste as well as many types of fresh fruits.

Additionally, although our private and exclusive beachfront area was not as spacious as you had hoped for, we hope you enjoyed being surrounded by swaying trees and the spectacular panaromic sunset view with your favourite cocktail in hand – which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu.

As a staying guest with cross signing privileges at all 15 dining outlets and access to a host of recreational facilities which includes 3 free form swimming pools, an Olympic size swimming pool, ten-pin bowling arena, 100 seater theatre, KTV lounge, Kiddies Club and not forgetting our impressive 27-hole Graham Marsh designed championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Resort is a self contained holiday resort which is ideal for both business and leisure travel. However, all tour services are operated by a third party, we will channel your feedback to the management of the tour operation for their further action.

We always welcome guest feedback as it is imperative for us to ensure that our guest’s expectations are being met and exceeded. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities where necessary.

Hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose to stay at the Pacific Satura based on family recommendations. From the time we got there until the time we left we were made to feel a part of the Pacific Satura 'Family'. I could not fault anything with the resort. The food was amazing, the facilities exceptionally clean, the location was ideal for all tourist activities including daily visits to the local markets and shopping precinct, and the Staff... I find it hard to sum up into words the service and friendliness of the Staff. If you are looking for a getaway that can intertwine the western way of life and the beautiful, cultural Sabah, then Pacific Satura is a must. I got home a few hours ago and am already planning to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear TravelBug762013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your ‘5-star’ review with us.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation of The Pacific Sutera Hotel and that our associates were able to make such a memorable experience for you during your time with us.

Can’t wait to welcome you again the next time your travels take you back to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing