We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well equipped hotel, but service needs some work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well equipped hotel, but service needs some work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good: Room had a lovely view, and the swim up bar is nice. The hotel is well equiped with the gym and a regular shuttle service to the islands.

Bad: cold service at check in, room was damp (and smelled it), not enough lifts in the building when they have high occupancy, poolside service was mixed. Some very good service, some lazy and disinterested.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear DPSHongKong,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the guest room, amenities and facilities as well as the scenic view.

However, we are most concerned to hear that your stay with us indicated a shortfall in service. We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. In our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and hospitality, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as yours that helps us improve, make changes and train our associates accordingly to exceed our guests' expectations.

On that note, we hope you will grant us an opportunity to welcome you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort for a more positive experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    942
    291
    112
    79
See reviews for
756
880
84
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

great place to chill out with family. Easy and safe place for a 2 year old and staff helpful most of the time.
Only bad comments I have was staff using the f word at the towel counter at the marina - highly inappropriate in front of a women and child.
Would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination resort and for sharing a review on TripAdvisor.

You are certainly right to say that Sutera Harbour Resort is a great place to chill out with family. In fact, we are a great destination for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

On a separate note, it is with much regret to learn about your unpleasant experience and we assure you that this is not our usual standard. Rest assured, we take all feedback seriously as it offers us opportunities to review and improve our shortcomings. Training with all our associates are on-going and this is a topic that will be covered by our trainers.

With that, we hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting our property again. Looking forward to welcome you and your family back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I had been to this hotel 13 years ago and we had fond memories of the Magellan resort.
So now we have been back , we found it was just as good and even better than we had remembered , the staff were very good friendly at all times we felt for a five star hotel they made us fill at home which in other hotels they seem a bit stuffy. We had a standard garden room revamped
room number 7246 which we found just right for us. The food you could not falt , in fact the only thing as I eat to much. The swimming pool,s and scenery out to sea is second to none , the pool,s were worm and clean we swam every day . We did three trip,s one the Steam Train the other we went to see the Orang-utan then island hop , and I also played golf three times over the two week of our stay , I loved the golf my wife drove the buggy and enjoyed here self.
We used the Marina resterant most nights as the sunset from there looking out to the Island,s with red sky . As a place to visit I not only recomend it I am planning to bring my son and grandchildren next year.

Room Tip: I cant see any reson to pay for a sea view as we found it to hot to sit on the boucony , but sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddymollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear eddymollie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Your succinct review and ‘5 star’ rating is very much appreciated. It brings us great joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our guest room, facilities, amenities and service.

We can’t wait to welcome you and your family back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Pacific for 3 nights and have had a lovely break. The hotel rooms are first rate and the pool is very relaxing (large free form pool). There are large numbers of staff and all are friendly and efficient. Lovely view over the golf course and KK and the mountains. The food is also good and varied.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank myanmar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear myanmar2000,

Thank you for a glowing review with a ‘5 star’ rating on our lovely resort!

Your positive comments are a great motivation and encouragement to all of us as we are committed to delivering a memorable experience to each of our esteemed guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort in the very near future!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

One thing they didn't tell you when you are looking for a hotel is that you can use all the facilities of any of the hotels in the resort. If you don't like one pool, there are other pools to use in the resort. They also offer cheap round trips to the city on a coach (RM3 per person) so if you want to go into town to do some shopping no need for a taxi (RM15 each way).

Resort is great, although needing a lick of paint in a few areas but it is clean and tidy and the rooms are excellent. The staff are also very friendly and will do anything to help you out. I don't have a bad word to say about the resort.

One tip, although the pool has a bar, it is roped off and there is no one in attendance. Ring the bell and someone will come running and you will have your own private pool bar, until someone else realises what you are doing!

Room Tip: Unless you want to spend the extra money on a sea view, pick the cheaper rooms as you can enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Tim M,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on TripAdvisor.

It’s always great to receive a ‘5 star’ review such as yours and it’s been a real pleasure to have you in Sutera Harbour Resort.

Your compliments for our rooms, facilities, amenities and service are a great motivation and encouragement to all of us as we are committed to delivering a memorable experience to each of our esteemed guests.

As a staying guest with cross signing privileges at all 15 dining outlets and access to a host of recreational facilities which includes 3 free-form swimming pools, an Olympic size lap pool, ten pin bowling arena, 100 seater theatre, KTV lounge, Kiddies Club and not forgetting our impressive 27-hole Graham Marsh designed championship golf course, we apologise that you were not well informed on the usage of our facilities throughout the Resort during your stay with us and we assure you that this is not our usual standard. This concern have been addressed to the relevant department.

Having said that, we look forward to welcoming you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellent time here with us!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for about 2 nights and returned back for another night before we flew out of KK.

We had problems with the reservation. But staff quickly resolved this and we had a pleasant stay.

They have quite a few things to do in the resort and the place seemed very kid friendly. We enjoyed the live music in the lobby in the evenings and having a snack and drink at the beach grill during sunset. They don't have a proper beach but the pool area is nice.

Staff were friendly and courteous and service was of high standard. We would definitely return the next time we are in KK.

Room Tip: High rooms facing sea are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRAVCHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear MRAVCHA,

Thank you for sharing a review with us on TripAdvisor.

You are spot on to say that Sutera Harbour Resort is a very kid-friendly resort. For our little guests, we have a Kiddies Club at Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club and a Little Magellan at The Magellan Sutera Resort. In fact, we are the perfect destination for any type of vacation, leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 dining outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

However, we would like to sincerely apologise for the shortfall in service during check-in and we are glad that the challenges presented were resolved quickly by our associates. As for the beachfront area, it is a private and exclusive beach surrounded by swaying trees and a spectacular panoramic view of the sunset which is best enjoyed with a cocktail in hand – hope you had the chance to do so, otherwise that calls for a return visit soon!

With that, we appreciate your continued loyalty towards Sutera Harbour Resort and certainly looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Best regards,
SHR-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Mt past review was posted when we first arrived and the problems we had on arrival...I still feel that after a very long journey a welcome drink would really be a nice gesture, especially if you arrive before room is ready. They changed our single bed to a proper bed and came and mended our bathroom door within two days. From then on the holiday was great. Staff were very accommodating. Going by boat to the islands are worth a visit especially if you like snorkelling and scuba diving the sea is fantastic with fish swimming all round you. There were a lot of Chinese in the hotel and they were a little noisy but then so can the British in Spain lol..... Hotel prices for food was a bit steep but order lunch at breezes and split it , salad bar is worth doing this. But cocktails were ridiculous price. Other restaurants in the complex were good, as not that much choice in town. Really did enjoy our holiday and would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I did find it a little noisy due to sound echoing round corridors. We had a sea view on sixth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Annette W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us the second time on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to be able to resolve the challenges that were presented during your stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and have a pleasant stay with us. Your suggestions are important to us and rest assured, it will be looked into by the relevant departments.

Also, you will be happy to know that The Pacific Sutera Hotel offers Happy Hour every evening from 5pm to 7pm at Lobby Lounge and from 9pm to 10pm at Breeze Beach Club with special prices on draught beers and selected specialty cocktails.

As a hotel guests equipped with cross-signing privileges to all 15 F&B outlets throughout Sutera Harbour Resort, we are happy to read that you found the dining experience to be good. In regards to the room’s soundproofing, we have shared your concerns with the relevant department and appreciate you bringing them to our attention.

Your continued loyalty towards Sutera Harbour Resort is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing