We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No longer tired”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went back to the Sutra Magellan Hotel for the fourth time and must say I was pleasantly surprised.
We were given an upgrade a newly refurbished suite which was wonderful. It is one of a few hotels who still do a bed turn down with the chocolate. The bed was new and very, very comfortable. The staff were absolutely wonderful and could not do enough for you, I must say the staff have always been good. The shuttle still runs but it now costs $1 Aust. return which I do think is fair. They still have the internal shuttle between the two hotels and the marina for which there is no charge and great if it is raining. The breakfasts were great and if you could not find anything to eat then I do think it would be your problem not the hotels. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We always request an ocean view room rather than a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Dolores W,

Thank you for sharing this glowing ‘5 star’ review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our complimentary internal shuttle between The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel as well as Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. Being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu city centre, you are spot on about our City Shuttle Service and we’d like to add that there is also taxi services available which can be arranged with the Concierge team.

It is truly heartwarming to know that our Resort met your needs and you enjoyed the newly refurbished room as well as our turndown service. Helping guests sleep in a comfortable environment is important to us. Your compliments for our associates have been shared with the team. Please know that it is a great motivation and a source of pride for all of us to receive this feedback.

Above all, thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we are greatly looking forward to welcome you back for the fifth time and many more in the near future!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    1,006
    314
    121
    94
See reviews for
819
942
91
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the Pacific Sutera for 4 nights. We got a Golf view room with King size bed. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only complaint was the mattress was too soft for me. The safety box in our room was defected on our arrival but the staffs were helpful and fixed it efficiently.

The location of the hotel is within 10mins by taxi (~RM15 per ride) to the KK town. There's shuttle bus (RM 3 per ride) to the town served by the hotel too. And there's private pier to the outlying islands. There's counter which organized water sports and ships to the islands. We joined 3 local tours to the Weston Wetland, Sapi + Mamutik Islands and a day trip to Mount. Kinabalu. The hotel was the last pick-up point and the local tour also used the hotel's private pier to the islands. Therefore, it's accessible to most of the spots in KK.

Guests can use not only the facilities at the Pacific but also those at the Magellan Resort. The swimming pools in the Magellan are bigger and more beautiful. However, we like the one in the Pacific more as there's a bar in the middle of the swimming pool, offering drinks, snacks and playing music till around 9pm. Young people must love that! Don't miss the beautiful sunset at the edges of the ocean, or just simply in the sea.

We bought a air ticket+hotel package, including everyday breakfast buffet at the Cafe Boleh, one lunch buffet at the same cafe and one dinner buffet at the Five Sails (at the Magellan). There was a huge variety of dishes served in the buffets. The foods were tasty, though the dishes served were very similar in the breakfast and lunch sections. Dishes served in the dinner buffet at the Five Sails were more delicate, included some tasty seafood. The deep fried garlic shrimp was highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatcasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Fatcasso,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our guest room and the many facilities as well as amenities offered at Sutera Harbour Resort. To add on to your observation, all staying guests at either The Pacific Sutera Hotel or The Magellan Sutera Resort are given cross-signing privileges at all 15 dining outlets as well as recreational activities throughout the properties which includes Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Your comments regarding the food variety have been noted and shared with the concerned department for improvement where necessary. We are also sorry that you found the mattress to be too soft. We are happy that inspite of the bed, you still had a relaxing stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at Magellan Sutera for 3 nights to recover from Mount Kinabalu climb. Room was as good as a normal room gets. Very comfortable bed. Most of the rooms were under renovation so there wasn't that many quests. That suited us fine, plenty of free sun chairs. We had a very pleasant stay. Downside was too few restaurants. And none in the walking distance outside the resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Jari R,

Thank you for giving us a ‘5 star’ rated review of your recent stay with us.

Happy to read that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu. We hope you had a successful climb to the peak.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and our guest room met your expectation.
However, we would like to clarify that as a staying guest at either The Magellan Sutera Resort or The Pacific Sutera Hotel, all guests are provided cross signing privileges at all 14 dining outlets throughout Sutera Harbour Resort. Additionally, just a mere 15 minutes walk from the Resort, there is a Grace Point Food Court in Sembulan which is currently managed by Sutera Harbour Resort. Perhaps on your next return visit, you may check this with our Concierge team who will be most happy to assist you accordingly.

On that note, looking forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the neart future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed in The Pacific Sutera for a night after 2 nights at Mount Kinabalu so was very glad for the luxury.

Did not get to experience much of the service due to the short stay but our room with view of golf course was nice, room and bathroom both fairly big and beds comfortable. My only grouses are that the free WiFi keeps logging itself out so I had to log in several times a day to check my messages and the water pressure of the shower could be stronger.

Breakfast at Cafe Boleh has a lot of variety though I find the taste to be lacking. Roti Canai was thick and rather hard, curry was more sweet than savoury, omelette was a little tasteless (or the sausage was).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear taraonhols,

Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu and hope that you had a successful climb to the summit.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the room and its view at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

As our valued guest, we appreciate all feedback as we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay and rest assured, your comments about our Wi-Fi connection, water pressure level and breakfast buffet spread quality at Café Boleh are being looked into by the concerned departments.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back for a more positive experience in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Pacific Sutera for 11 nights to enjoy some birthday and anniversary celebrations with friends and family. Hotel was excellent - great facilities. We had a golf view room on the 10th floor, which was well appointed and efficiently maintained by the staff. Dining room got a little crowded on occasion during breakfast, but still able to find a quiet corner to enjoy the very wide range on offer. Best place was outside on the terrace overlooking the marina.

Pool was usually quiet so sunbathing and relaxation was easy. Pool service drinks a little expensive - but we were on holiday! Breeze restaurant by the pool good for lunch or dinner, and an excellent place to watch the sunset. Gardens very pleasant and well maintained, as is the whole hotel. Steeing is ideal - a few yards from the marina, and from the Marina Club and Magellan Sutera Hotel to which you have access to all shared facilities.

Good location too - regular shuttle bus to town but the easiest way is to ask the concierge to get a taxi - always arrived within a couple of minutes and the fare to town was only RM15 - about £3UK.

Room Tip: We had a 10th floor room overlooking the golf course - very quiet with great views. We paid for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Richard G,

Thank you very much for your kind compliment and feedback as well as rating us ‘5 star’!

It is indeed a pleasure to know that we were able to live up to your expectations. We are happy to inform that The Pacific Sutera Hotel offers Happy Hour every evening from 5pm to 7pm at Lobby Lounge and from 9pm to 10pm at Breeze Beach Club with special prices on draught beers and selected specialty cocktails. Additionally, Waves Pool Bar at The Pacific Sutera Hotel also offers 50% off on draught beer from 5pm to 6pm daily.

With that, we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are at this moment having drinks in the Magellan Club and it so lovely, but what makes this so. good is the wonderful staff, they are so efficient but more so is their attention to detail. They have the ability to make you feel so special and their personalities really shine through. It would be difficult to mention any one as they are all great and a credit to the resort, which in itself is extremely good. We don't want to go home and will definately be back.

Room Tip: Always choose a Club room, the view over the harbour is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fryingpan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear fryingpan_11,

Thank you so much for this glowing ‘5 star’ review!

We share the same sentiment and wished that you could have stayed longer with us.
Our team works very hard to maintain our resort to provide a wonderful atmosphere and vacation for our guests. Your compliments does not only serve as an encouragement but also as an affirmation for the highest level of service and satisfaction that we strive to uphold.

Your recommendation of our Magellan Club Rooms are much appreciated. All Magellan Club Room guests enjoys personalised check-in, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge – which we are sure you enjoyed during your stay with us.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming you again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good: Room had a lovely view, and the swim up bar is nice. The hotel is well equiped with the gym and a regular shuttle service to the islands.

Bad: cold service at check in, room was damp (and smelled it), not enough lifts in the building when they have high occupancy, poolside service was mixed. Some very good service, some lazy and disinterested.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear DPSHongKong,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the guest room, amenities and facilities as well as the scenic view.

However, we are most concerned to hear that your stay with us indicated a shortfall in service. We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. In our continuous endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and hospitality, we are taking appropriate measures to address your concerns as it is comments such as yours that helps us improve, make changes and train our associates accordingly to exceed our guests' expectations.

On that note, we hope you will grant us an opportunity to welcome you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort for a more positive experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,039 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelbag, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing