We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper room with a great sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Proper room with a great sea view”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Pacific Sutera which is part of the Sutera Harbor complex. The hotel is right by the marina so if you plan to do a bit of island hopping the location is perfect. The room is a good size but quite standard. However, the idea is not for you to stay in the room but to go lounge around the pool or the little private beach. Choice of restaurants is not great but you can always go to the Sutera club or Magellan hotel. The hotel has shuttle bus to city center so you can get around quite easily but just remember to book the shuttle as it fills up fast over peak hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Olivia W,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the spectacular view of the South China Sea during your stay with us. You are certainly spot on to say that our location is perfect for island hopping seeing that we are only a mere 15-minute boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Park. To add on to your observation, all staying guests at either The Pacific Sutera Hotel or The Magellan Sutera Resort are given cross-signing privileges at all 15 dining outlets as well as recreational activities throughout the properties which includes Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Glad you found our City Shuttle Service useful and convenient which is chargeable at a return fee of RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12years)and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. There is also taxi services available at both properties which can be arranged with the Concierge team.

On that note, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    989
    304
    115
    90
See reviews for
794
925
86
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I checked into this resort hotel for the 1st time after my last visit to Kota Kinabalu more than 10 years ago. Because this hotel is located so near the city, accessibility is awesome. Seafood restaurants, pubs and shopping malls are 5 minutes drive away. And I absolutely love the dockyard view especially during sunset.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Timothylow,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport as well as a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, our location is indeed one of our strongest attributes. To add on to your observation, having a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities plus 15 F&B outlets in which all in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges certainly makes our Resort the perfect destination for both business and leisure travel.

Glad you enjoyed the spectacular sunset view by our marina. Hope you had a cocktail in hand too as it is one of the must-do when in Kota Kinabalu.

Having said that, we look forward to welcome you back for the second time to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
533 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We took a MAS Golden Holiday Package a few years ago & it was a comfortable stay here, Room was big , clean cozy & clean. Food was good. The ground area was very well landscaped & we met a local singer there. We took a van & explored Kota Kinabalu & went to the foothill of Mount Kinabalu. We ate a seafood restaurant & bought home frozen lobsters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear carsam c,

Thank you for posting a review about your '5 Star Stay' with us on TripAdvisor!

So glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and we can't wait to welcome you back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Magnificent stay one that will leave a wonderful memory for a long time. Well deserving of its 5 star rating. I stayed 2 nights in the Pacific Sutrea with a room over looking the Harbour and 3 nights at the Magellan Sutera Resort with a room over looking the ocean. A stay that will not disappoint a traveller who is looking for pure luxury. Wonderful welcoming drink in the foyer. I stayed here after a few days tracking in the rainforest every moment was magical. My room was spotless, bed king size,linen soft clean and comfortable. Luscious spa bath in a wonderful bathroom decorated with marble. The views were stunning over looking the ocean and islands of shore. All the staff where so very helpful,friendly accommodating and polite. Breakfast was truly fabulous with a variety of selection to chose from including traditional dishes. A variety of restaurants exist for you to eat in if you decided to dine in the hotel. I highly recommend the spice restaurant to eat in. There is a shuttle bus into the city that runs hourly. I felt quite sad leaving. A true blend of tradition the old yet modern with 5 star facilities. Thank you!










A Magnificent stay one that will leave a memory for a long time. Well deserving of its 5 star rating. I stayed 2 nights in the Pacific Sutrea with a room over looking the Harbour and another 3 nights in the Magellan Sutera Resort with a room over looking the ocean. Will not disappoint a traveller who is looking for pure luxury. Wonderful welcoming drink in the foyer. My room was spotless, bed king size,linen soft clean and comfortable. Luscious spa bath in a wonderful bathroom decorated with marble. The views were stunning over looking the ocean and islands of shore. All the staff where so very helpful,friendly accommodating and polite. Breakfast was truly fabulous with a variety of selection to chose from including traditional dishes. A variety of restaurants exist for you to eat in if you decided to dine in the hotel. I highly recommend the spice restaurant to eat in. There is a shuttle bus into the city that runs hourly. I felt quite sad leaving. A true blend of tradition the old yet modern with 5 star facilities. Over all I preferred the Magellan. I will be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: Chose a room over the ocean. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear ningaloo2006,

Thank you for posting a glowing ‘5-star’ review on TripAdvisor.

We share the same sentiment and wished you could have stayed longer with us. It brings us great joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our room, facilities, amenities and service at both of our properties, The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our third visit to this resort hotel in 8 years. Prior to this last trip it was our "benchmark" hotel against which we judged all others. This time around, although still a great place to stay, it came across as a bit "tired" and the service could have been improved in some areas. Places of excellence would be the day spa - which is probably the best we have been to. On previous visits the pool area was buzzing and faultless service - with foot massages available all day and fantastic poolside service. This time around I'm sorry to say the poolside service would score 3 out of 5 - predominantly because the service, when available, was slow. Far too often we had to go and get the waiter - for a resort of this calibre - just not good enough. Also we had a very average lunch at the pool bistro restaurant - over 30 minutes for first drink and starters to be delivered . There were a a lot of staff but there appeared to be no supervision in place. The staff themselves were always courteous and friendly but supervision not in evidence.

The rooms were adequate but we were scrambling for accessible power points - especially by the desk and mirror where there were none unless the lamp was unplugged but then it was too dark to use the hairdryer. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was compact but well appointed. Aircon worked a treat - which is always a bonus in this climate. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations and the management were able to restrict the effect on the guests' stay very well, although the one afternoon we did stay in the room there was a constant noise of hammering. It would have been nice to stay in the harbour wing, which I believe has been completed. On a positive note the breakfast staff, service and facilities were excellent, although a little quick to take the plate away - on one occasion while I was still eating.

We would probably not stay again - there are a lot of new hotels and after 3 visits it's probably time for a change.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vodka_rocks464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear vodka_rocks464,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We’re glad that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate the positive 4-star rating.

However, it is disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay and we are sorry that you experienced the lapses in service at the poolside and our dining outlet. Please be assured that this is not the typical standard stay at Sutera Harbour Resort. In regards to your comment on our restaurant team who are keen to ensure they deliver the best service, we apologise that in this instance it would appear they had been a little over zealous. Rest assured, all feedback are taken seriously and training with all our associates are on-going, as such this topic will be covered by our trainers.

As The Magellan Sutera Resort is currently undergoing refurbishment works for its rooms’ façade, which are being carried out in stages, we truly regret the inconveniences caused by the noise as well as the lack of power point plugs available in the room. Please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager, the situation would have been rectified immediately.

On that note, we value your patronage and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went back to the Sutra Magellan Hotel for the fourth time and must say I was pleasantly surprised.
We were given an upgrade a newly refurbished suite which was wonderful. It is one of a few hotels who still do a bed turn down with the chocolate. The bed was new and very, very comfortable. The staff were absolutely wonderful and could not do enough for you, I must say the staff have always been good. The shuttle still runs but it now costs $1 Aust. return which I do think is fair. They still have the internal shuttle between the two hotels and the marina for which there is no charge and great if it is raining. The breakfasts were great and if you could not find anything to eat then I do think it would be your problem not the hotels. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We always request an ocean view room rather than a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Dolores W,

Thank you for sharing this glowing ‘5 star’ review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our complimentary internal shuttle between The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel as well as Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club. Being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu city centre, you are spot on about our City Shuttle Service and we’d like to add that there is also taxi services available which can be arranged with the Concierge team.

It is truly heartwarming to know that our Resort met your needs and you enjoyed the newly refurbished room as well as our turndown service. Helping guests sleep in a comfortable environment is important to us. Your compliments for our associates have been shared with the team. Please know that it is a great motivation and a source of pride for all of us to receive this feedback.

Above all, thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we are greatly looking forward to welcome you back for the fifth time and many more in the near future!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the Pacific Sutera for 4 nights. We got a Golf view room with King size bed. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only complaint was the mattress was too soft for me. The safety box in our room was defected on our arrival but the staffs were helpful and fixed it efficiently.

The location of the hotel is within 10mins by taxi (~RM15 per ride) to the KK town. There's shuttle bus (RM 3 per ride) to the town served by the hotel too. And there's private pier to the outlying islands. There's counter which organized water sports and ships to the islands. We joined 3 local tours to the Weston Wetland, Sapi + Mamutik Islands and a day trip to Mount. Kinabalu. The hotel was the last pick-up point and the local tour also used the hotel's private pier to the islands. Therefore, it's accessible to most of the spots in KK.

Guests can use not only the facilities at the Pacific but also those at the Magellan Resort. The swimming pools in the Magellan are bigger and more beautiful. However, we like the one in the Pacific more as there's a bar in the middle of the swimming pool, offering drinks, snacks and playing music till around 9pm. Young people must love that! Don't miss the beautiful sunset at the edges of the ocean, or just simply in the sea.

We bought a air ticket+hotel package, including everyday breakfast buffet at the Cafe Boleh, one lunch buffet at the same cafe and one dinner buffet at the Five Sails (at the Magellan). There was a huge variety of dishes served in the buffets. The foods were tasty, though the dishes served were very similar in the breakfast and lunch sections. Dishes served in the dinner buffet at the Five Sails were more delicate, included some tasty seafood. The deep fried garlic shrimp was highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatcasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Fatcasso,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our guest room and the many facilities as well as amenities offered at Sutera Harbour Resort. To add on to your observation, all staying guests at either The Pacific Sutera Hotel or The Magellan Sutera Resort are given cross-signing privileges at all 15 dining outlets as well as recreational activities throughout the properties which includes Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Your comments regarding the food variety have been noted and shared with the concerned department for improvement where necessary. We are also sorry that you found the mattress to be too soft. We are happy that inspite of the bed, you still had a relaxing stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing