We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The resort hotel is very conveniently
located in town yet it is very privacy.The room is beautiful with white clean interior like an english interior concept and big bathtub.Seaview room is magnificient specialy during sunset, very romantic.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Stacy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay experience at Sutera Harbour Resort.
It is always so rewarding and a great encouragement to receive compliments such as yours.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    944
    293
    113
    80
See reviews for
758
886
85
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights after descending from Mount Kinabalu. Our room had a great sea view. The facilities were good. They have a good swimming pool for the family. The buffet breakfast was average, but the dinner delivered to our room wasn't tasty at all. The room was clean but was in bad condition. The carpet is old and looks discolored. On the last day of our stay we found water dripping from the ceiling (apparently one of the air conditioning duct was blocked). The TV reception was bad (apparently they are having the same problem in the other rooms as well, and are working to rectify it). The hotel has a great SPA. The hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful, an experience you would come across everywhere in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ka638,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Happy to read that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu. We hope you had a successful climb to peak.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the spectacular view, swimming pool and spa facilities as well as the service rendered during your stay with us. However, we are sorry that our guest room, breakfast buffet spread and room service were not up to your expectation.

We sincerely apologise for the discomfort and inconveniences you have experienced in regards to the leak in the ceiling and weak TV reception in the room. Appropriate measures are being taken to address these concerns and please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager during your stay, the situation would have been rectified immediately.

As our valued guest, we hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting our property again and hope to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Sutera Harbour Pacific for four nights.. and was really impressed with the size and location and grounds. but the room was really different, old and shabby, the bathroom needed much maintenance..
Food at the main lacked variety, especially at breakfast, despite the huge number of plates on display..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Deena M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you were impressed by the the Resort’s 384-acre land encompassing two 5-star hotel and resort accommodation, golf, marina and recreational facilities. Being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City, 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, our location is indeed one of our strongest attributes.

However, we are sorry to learn that our guest room, bathroom and food did not meet your expectations. We have discussed your concerns with the respective departments and rest assured, we have addressed the areas you have raised with necessary steps to improve these issues.

As our valued guest, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Sutera as part of a multi centre holiday for 4 nights in a room overlooking the golf course. The rooms themselves, although clean, were maybe a bit dated. We were however advised by one of the many golfers at the hotel, that the course itself was well maintained and one lof the best in the area.
The complex is huge and appears to be made up of 3 very large hotels (all of which you can use the facilities in) but the size of the hotel complex itself was maybe for us a negative, however this personal preference and not a fault of the hotels. The facilities are good and the pool area is excellent for plodding about in. However if you want a bit of real excercise use the pool in the next hotel as this is definitely for the serious swimmer with lanes set out (although there is a smaller pool off to the side which included slides for the children if needed.)
Our Deal included breakfast - which was pretty good with plenty of choice, the staff at the hotel were professional and helpful but for me it was all maybe just a bit impersonal.

Room Tip: Unless you're a golfer ask for a pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear mick1958,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your title is spot on as our Resort is a mere 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and also 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu city centre. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet spread and swimming pool facilities.

As you have observed, Sutera Harbour Resort is a self contained holiday resort whereby all staying guests have access to 15 F&B outlets and a host of recreational facilties which includes 3 free-form swimming pools, an Olympic sized swimming pool, ten-pin bowling arena, 100-seater theatre, KTV lounge, Kiddies Club and also an impressive 27-hole Graham Marsh designed championship golf course.

In regards to your comments about our service associates, rest assured all feedback are taken with a positive note and training with all our associates are on-going, as such this topic will be covered by our trainers.

On that note, we value your patronage and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peshawar, Pakistan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed one Night here in 2010. The place was very quiet. Pool was O K and the service was good. The rooms were large, very clean. Bathroom was excellent The buffet at the 5 sails Restaurant was great as it provided a good variety of both western, and Asian selections. The cafe and coffee shop were also varied in their menu. The entertainment in the lobby bar was easy listening and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KamranTG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear KamranTG1974,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor about your stay experience in 2010.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments about the guest room, facilities, dining outlet, and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here as part of a tour of Borneo. It was a bit of a shell shock to us as we had just flown in from a few days in Mulu which is remote. So the size of this hotel was daunting. However, service was excellent and the rooms with fresh orchids were beautiful and clean. The pools are lovely and the food was good. It felt like a lovely family resort hotel but very big as one can use all the facilities of the other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear LizB1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Glad you enjoyed the Sutera Harbour experience during your stay with us.

You are spot on to say that our Resort is akin to a big family resort hotel. In fact, we are the perfect destination for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all-in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Pacific Sutera Hotel, The Magellan Sutera Resort and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

As our valued guest, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

In late May 2014, I brought my family to stay at the Pacific Sutera when we were having double celebrations for our 10th Anniversary that co-incide with my physically disabled son's 9th birthday. Including my son, there were 5 of us and we stayed at the executive suite for this special moment. As I'm still thrilled with the hotel and the service, I decided to write this review from the room itself, now!

My booking was done last minute through Agoda, only a few hours before we checked in. It was a complete turnaround, moving from a home-stay to this 5 star fully integrated resort. As a professional who travels around the world and having stayed in even more expensive than what I paid for this stay, my happiness is when my tardiness for a late preparation for this special event was saved by a brilliantly maintained room and pleasantly surprising great service.

When I booked in Agoda, the confirmation given was that it would be a garden view. At the point of check-in, the first surprise was when the Guest Services Manager, Zetty Raudhah Crehan, arranged for us a room with a spectacular view of the ocean overlooking the marina. As my wife said, this is the best view we have ever had in our entire travelling experience covering Asia, Europe, Australia and Middle East.

I told Zetty about our double celebrations and asked what she would suggest for a nice dinner. To my second surprise, she responded that my entire family will be treated as complimentary at the Pacific Club for cocktail dinner and that breakfast will be for my entire family although I paid only for two.

During cocktail dinner at the Pacific Club, we sat near window with full magical view of the marina and a sunset backdrop. In addition to the spread of cocktail buffet, we were also served with freshly cooked seafood platter and my wife asked “did you order additional food?”, which I obviously did not!

For this special moment in life, you wish you have the best you could ask for. To me, I couldn’t ask for more when my wife shed to tears when we were treated with another surprise when Zetty and all other hotel staff came singing birthday song and a cake that nicely written with “Happy Anniversary & Happy Birthday”. In fact, after “regaining her consciousness from too much pleasant surprise”, my wife also counted the birthday candles which were perfectly 9 and she commented “what an attention to details!”

I have never written a review in TripAdvisor or anywhere else but you can imagine someone who decided to stay up to write this long review must be a person who is really happy. Even dearer to me is that this event is also for my physically disabled son. Besides receiving full support that we need for our son, we felt the hotel was also receptive and being inclusive to allow our son to come to the club with wheelchair and even feeding machine that goes with him. Although doctor advises us not to feed my son orally as he has swallowing failure, we decided to let him taste a small slice of the cake that was probably his bite since the last many years.

Indeed, my conclusion is that it was money well spent for our special moment at this fully integrated resort and many thanks to Zetty and her team for unbelievably professional and amazing hospitality for this world class service.

Room Tip: Look for Zetty if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear cyberley,

Loved the title of your review, ‘Perfect Resort for a Special Moment’ and the 5-star rating you have given us on TripAdvisor!

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination to celebrate a double celebration; your 10th Wedding Anniversary and your son’s 9th Birthday. It brings us joy to read how much you enjoyed the Sutera Harbour experience during your stay with us.

Your compliments for Zetty from Front Office at The Pacific Sutera Hotel who went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable has certainly put a smile on her face and she thanks you all the same. Our greatest asset is our team of associates and we always take great pride in knowing they endeavour to deliver an exemplary level of personalised service to our guests every day. For the record, Zetty was recently recognized as the winner of the Sabah Hospitality Ambassador 2014 in conjunction with the 40th Malaysian Associations of Hotels’ anniversary.

With that, we hope to see you again soon at your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing