We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 20 June 2014

i stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. it is very close to the pier so it's convenient for us to go to the nearby island for snorkeling. it has a nice swimming pool but the beach is very small. breakfast is good. it is not close to the city center and we need to take the shuttle bus every time we wanna go out and the shuttle bus operates hourly. it's the only minus point for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinchillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Chinchillas,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience. Your compliments for breakfast buffet spread as well as our swimming pool facility are highly appreciated. The exclusive beach surrounded by swaying trees is a great spot to catch the gorgeous view of the sunset which is best enjoyed with a cocktail in hand - a must do when on vacation in Kota Kinabalu!

Although you did not find our location to be convenient being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, we are happy to read that you took the opportunity to head out for snorkelling via a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

We would like to add on to your observation about our City Shuttle Service, there is also taxi services available at both The Magellan Sutera Resort and The Pacific Sutera Hotel which can be arranged with our Concierge team.

As our valued guest, we look forward to welcome you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,948 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel is best for family and sun kissers. There are a small-ish private beach for you to swim and dip in the sea. Sea is cordoned off with a safety net to prevent people from swimming too far off from the shore, while keeping the possible jelly fishes from swamping the swimming area.

Swimming pools are great for kids and family. many lazy chairs dotted around the pool and there is a "floating bar" in the swimming pool.

Room is big and extremely clean. Room service comes to tidy up your room every day. Aircon is functioning extremely well and you have individual control over the temperature. Now what disappointed me is the TV receptions on the LCD TV. They have a few satellite channels with international news channels as well but the receptions is very poor.

There are 2 lazy chairs at the balcony but the floor at balcony area is rather dusty. The toilet in my room 238 has a rather faulty water pump. The water from the tank leaked into the bowl, hence the water tank needs to be replenished very frequently, hence making lots of noises.

Other than that, the room is well insulated from noises and overall it is still a rather pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, facing the seaside to get a great view from the window and your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neotheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear neotheone,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad you had a pleasant stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Your compliments about our guest room and swimming pool are highly appreciated. Hope you had the chance to enjoy a cocktail or two while catching the sunset view at our exclusive beach surrounded by swaying trees - if you haven't done so, that calls for a return visit soon!

However, in regards to the poor reception of our TV channels as well as the faulty water pump in the bathroom, we truly regret the inconveniences caused. Please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager, the situation would have been rectified immediately.

As our valued guest, whether for business or leisure, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I just love this place. To me, its PARADISE!! I've stayed here for several times and they didn't disappoint me even once at all! I prefer the Magellan just because you can get a better view at there! Everything is just perfect. I enjoy walking around the harbour, having a workout in the gym, dining in their restaurants and their amazing swimming pool!!! Just simply amazing!

Room Tip: Higher floors get a better view and be prepare to eat their wonderful breakfast buffet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Linus K,

Love the title of your review, ‘Paradise!!!’.

We are absolutely delighted to know that you had such a memorable experience during your stay with us.
It’s always so rewarding and a great encouragement to receive compliments such as yours.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming you back again to our side of paradise, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Pacific sutera is a beautiful resort by the beach. Ensure you get a seaview room to enjoy the breathtaking views of the Harbour and the islands and beach! Breakfast was packed with tourists and food is average. Rooms a bit dated but still clean and comfortable. My friend had an unfortunate incident at the hotel pool toilet however, where she was sexually assaulted by a perverted tourist. Swift action by the hotel management was comforting albeit the trauma she had to undergo. Nevertheless, we had a beautiful trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank williamlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear williamlye,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a beautiful trip and enjoyed the spectacular view of the South China Sea and the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park during your stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. The exclusive beach surrounded by swaying trees is a great spot to catch the gorgeous view of the sunset, best enjoyed with a cocktail in hand which is a must do when on vacation in Kota Kinabalu – if you haven’t done so, that calls for a return visit soon!

However, in regards to the incident that happened to your friend, we would like to reiterate how sorry we are that this incident occurred during their stay with us. We understand how it must have been most distressing for her and we are very shocked by this most unusual incident. The behavior of individual guests patronizing our property is outside our direct control. Nonetheless, we shall use our best endeavours to ensure we guard against any repetition.

Having said that, we look forward to welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just checked out of the wonderful Magellan Resort. Apart from all expectations met with the accommodation and meals what really shines is the exceptional staff that we personally had contact with, starting with the welcome and check in. Sans the GSM was the consummate host and ensured that we made contact with right person for all of our requests, as big or small they were. The restaurant staff showed excellence in their area and remembered our preferred meals and drinks even though we didn't dine there at all times. The staff maketh the hotel and are great ambassadors for the owners of this grand resort. This was our first time to KK and after viewing a few other accommodation options including the Rasa Shangrila we would not go past the Magellan, for service, location, great meals and professionalism. Well done staff because it is not all about the nice rooms, comfy beds and great views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneKarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Resident Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Dianne Karratha,

Thank you for this succinct ‘5-star’ review posted on TripAdvisor!

So happy to read that everything met your expectation during your stay with us.

Your compliments for Sans from Front Office at The Magellan Sutera Resort and the rest of our service team have certainly put a smile on their face and they thank you all the same. Our greatest asset is our team of associates and we always take great pride in knowing they endeavour to deliver an exemplary level of personalised service to our guests every day. We’re glad you experienced a true Sutera Harbour hospitality first hand!

For the record, The Magellan Sutera Resort was recently recognized at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2013-2015 (Malaysian Series) with awards in 3 categories namely Best 10 for HAPA Front Office Excellence, HAPA 5-Star Resort – Exceptional Experience and HAPA Resort of the Year.

Having said that, your continued loyalty towards Sutera Harbour Resort is much appreciated and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The resort hotel is very conveniently
located in town yet it is very privacy.The room is beautiful with white clean interior like an english interior concept and big bathtub.Seaview room is magnificient specialy during sunset, very romantic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Stacy S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay experience at Sutera Harbour Resort.
It is always so rewarding and a great encouragement to receive compliments such as yours.

Greatly looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights after descending from Mount Kinabalu. Our room had a great sea view. The facilities were good. They have a good swimming pool for the family. The buffet breakfast was average, but the dinner delivered to our room wasn't tasty at all. The room was clean but was in bad condition. The carpet is old and looks discolored. On the last day of our stay we found water dripping from the ceiling (apparently one of the air conditioning duct was blocked). The TV reception was bad (apparently they are having the same problem in the other rooms as well, and are working to rectify it). The hotel has a great SPA. The hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful, an experience you would come across everywhere in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ka638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, General Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear ka638,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Happy to read that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu. We hope you had a successful climb to peak.

Glad to know that you enjoyed the spectacular view, swimming pool and spa facilities as well as the service rendered during your stay with us. However, we are sorry that our guest room, breakfast buffet spread and room service were not up to your expectation.

We sincerely apologise for the discomfort and inconveniences you have experienced in regards to the leak in the ceiling and weak TV reception in the room. Appropriate measures are being taken to address these concerns and please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager during your stay, the situation would have been rectified immediately.

As our valued guest, we hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting our property again and hope to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a renewed experience.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
367 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
759 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £66 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing