We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tropical relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have read both good and bad but mostly about the Pacific side. We stayed at the Magellan section. 5 star perfection. Loved everything. We'd are leaving today at 3 pm and the room was still serviced with new towels water etc which normally in other hotels are not done on your check out day. They have a beach which I agree is small but great to dip in the sea and beautiful pool as well. So a choice of where to swim. We fed the fishes with bread in our little beach which was lovely. Great staff and magic food well priced. Loved the fact 10 mins out but could choose to go to town by shuttle or stay here. Taxis was 15 ringit if you didn't want to wait for the shuttle.The best time here and will be back :)

Room Tip: Sea facing 2 nd floor level with lobby perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank swimmer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear swimmer1956,

Thank you for posting a '5-star' review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Your gracious praises will certainly motivate our team in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

So great to know that you enjoyed the resort's facilities and amenities and you are spot on about our awesome location! A mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City Centre, 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and another 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, which we hope you had the chance to experience - otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

We're looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed 10 nights in a seaview club room at the Pacific Sutera. The club experience and treatment from the club team was outstanding. From the management (met Nils the F & B manager) to the staff that looked after us at breakfast and sundown drinks in the club lounge (which over looks the sea from the 11th floor - awesome sunsets!!) to the house keeping staff - the people where just fantastic, warm, friendly and obliging. We experienced the same friendliness and keenness of the staff to make our stay enjoyable throughout the entire resort complex. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and indulge in the club experience - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SClaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear SClaridge,

We are most happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your kind recommendation of our Seaview Club Room at The Pacific Sutera Hotel to other TripAdvisor travellers.

Our team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went for a work conference and the facilities were faultless. Obviously as a paid trip through work we were indulged but I would stay here privately if I visit KK in the future.

Amazing pool, beautiful food, prompt and friendly service and magnificent outlook - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear hickles74,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Whether for business or leisure travel, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera and it could not have been better. Located pretty close to central KK and the hotel runs a shuttle to and from the city on the hour which was fantastic. All of the staff, in particular Basri, were exceptional. They were very friendly and knowledgable. We had a bit of confusion with our tour company and they sorted everything out for us; we didn't have to lift a finger. We left really early to catch a flight to Sandakan and at 6.00am they had packed is two lots of breakfast without us even asking. The rooms were also fantastic and there are several tour operators located very close by for activities such as Island cruises and snorkelling. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Gabro58,

We are truly happy that you had an exceptionally memorable stay with us and were well taken care of by our associates on this occasion. Your compliments for Basri from Concierge Team will certainly motivate them to the highest level.

Thank you for your kind recommendation for The Pacific Sutera Hotel to other TripAdvisor travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A great 5-star hotel resort with several swimming pools (we stayed at the Pacific Wing but we were told by their staff that we could use the facilities on the Magellan Wing as well). We went there the other day and we spent half an hour with our 2-yrs old boy inside the kid’s play room. Buffet breakfast was good with lots of choices. Very convenient to visit the TAR marine park islands (Sapi, Manukan, etc.) since there was a pier and service counter within the resort complex (in the middle of the 2 hotels).

Unfortunately I hurt my leg (skin was scratched to bleed when I stepped into a hole) at KK town centre during our dinner. When I returned to the hotel and the wound was still painful, I called for hotel staff’s assistance. Their first aid staff came to our hotel within 5 min and after his examination, the wound was not very serious. He did a basic medical cleansing on my wound and wrapped my leg with bandage. Thanks again for their great service and care.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Winson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Winson L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay experience in August 2013.

Glad you enjoyed the facilities that Sutera Harbour Resort have to offer including the Kiddies' Club at The Magellan Sutera Resort. You are certainly spot on about our great location that is perfect for island hopping seeing that we are only a mere 15-minute boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. As a guest staying at Sutera Harbour Resort with cross-signing privilege, we hope you had the opportunity to explore the dining experience in some of our 15 F&B outlets as well as recreational activities throughout The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel, and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club - otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Your kind words about our service and associates brings us much delight as we strongly believe that our associates are our greatest asset! It is comments such as yours that help them maintain their enthusiasm for their work.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Sutera Harbour Resort soon.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As noted by prior reviewers, the Sutera Harbour Resort is a mega property, consisting of the Pacific Sutera Hotel, the Magellan Sutera, the golf resort and a marina club. Guests can use all the facilities with the cross billing privileges.

We would've preferred the resort feel of the Magellan Sutera but we stayed (with our two boys aged 7 and 12) at the Pacific Sutera primarily because they offered a family suite. The family suite was huge (80 sqm) -- a queen bed in the main bedroom area and two twin beds in a area that can be portioned with a sliding door.

The Pacific Sutera appears to cater mainly to the MICE crowd. Lots of conventions and guests when we were there. The business clientele notwithstanding, we had a comfortable and welcoming stay.

The hotel is tiring a little but I think the staff and maintenance crew are doing a reasonable job keeping the property clean and well functioning. Yes, the property is older but we didn't experience any equipment/furniture/electrical malfunction during our stay.

The breakfast spread was reasonably large and the menu offerings were frequently rotated.

Others things we liked was the convenient location of the hotel. Slightly outside of downtown KK, guests have access to the city with the hotel city shuttle (RM$3 per adult, RM$1.50 per child) which saves you the hassle of haggling with non-metered cabs. Another plus point for convenience was the resort's marina, which serves as a the departure point for trips to the Tengku Abdul Rahman marine park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tcllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear tcllee,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated and we hope it helps other guests who may be thinking of joining us at Sutera Harbour Resort for a short leisure break or as part of a business trip.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable stay in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a club room , and we really enjoyed the view to the islands and Marina. No issue with the rooms. The Pacific is a lot quieter than the Magellan that is used for larger events. The pool is ok , but not very deep , and the beach isn’t very safe as there are some rocks. The pool bar team and restaurant is good , the Sunday BBQ is a good option. Room service is also good. The breakfast at the restaurant is basic , but good a the club lounge. The cocktails are the Clubroom are basic , and the service is very “average” staff talking more than looking after the guests. So however , a good option for business and stay in KK , as the hotel is located closed to the city and airport. We took the North Borneo train , it is well organized , and fine if you like old trains , as there is no much to see during the “20 minute” stops in the 3-4 stations on the way –in, the food served is ok.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean , high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Bzh56,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Glad the room was to your liking and that you enjoyed the spectacular sea view. Our location is indeed one of our strongest attributes being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City and 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport as well as a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

We are pleased to know that you had the opportunity to ride the North Borneo Railway train, which is a must-do when in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. The oldest running steam locomotive in Sabah and Borneo was recently awarded Sabah's Best Tourism Attractions in the Non-Nature/Man Made category at the Sabah Tourism Awards 2013. It departs every Wednesday and Saturday and prior booking must be made.

On a separate note, we do apologise for the service shortfall at The Pacific Club Lounge. Opinions like yours, is the best way for our team to improve day by day.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,545 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
363 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £88 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing