We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for family vacation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days and we typically can find various facilities and entertainment to suits us. We played golf, yelling at the karaoke, bowling, swimming, not to mention chilling out at the pool bars and snorkeling. It was great but we ended up sacrificing our time to explore outdoor trips except to see Mt Kinabalu and some suspended bridge.

However, the facilities in this hotel are not free and pricy compares to others.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 71cat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear 71cat80,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

You are spot on with your title 'Great Place For Family Vacation' as Sutera Harbour Resort is certainly an excellent choice for family travel! In fact, we are the perfect destination for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Glad you had an enjoyable time and also had the opportunity to try our spectacular array of indoor and outdoor recreational facilities. We hope you enjoyed the sunset with your favourite drink in hand as it is a must-do when in Kota Kinabalu - otherwise, that calls for a return visit!

We would like to clarify that all staying guests are given complimentary access to facilities such as the fitness centre, 3 free form swimming pools as well as the Olympic-sized lap pool. However, we have taken note of your comment in regards to the pricing of some of our facilities and rest assured, it has been shared with our team for further improvement where necessary.

With that, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    1,023
    322
    124
    96
See reviews for
848
953
92
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a lovely time at the Pacific Sutera. Seaview room was clean and comfortable with bathroom toiletries replenished plentifully. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was scrumptious and a ina clean setting. The shuttle bus costing Aus $1 is a great help as the hotel is about a 20 minute walking distance to the shopping centers . Would recommend this resort style hotel. Simply relaxing !

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth paying the little extra for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Cathy F,


Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Glad you found our City Shuttle Service useful and convenient which is chargeable at a return fee of RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12years) and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. There is also taxi services available at both properties which can be arranged with the Concierge team.

Your compliments for our service and amenities have been shared with the team. Please know that it is a great motivation and a source of pride for all of us to receive this feedback.

Above all, thank you for recommending us to other travellers and we are greatly looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for five days at the Pacific and the hotel is pretty much the best location to stay near the city. One big provlem is the pricing on their drinks on Breeze beach club that serves the pool area. $8 for a mug of beer and that is a happy hour price. No wonder the cocktail waitress is struggling to get business with the guests. Sutera need to study the market pricing foe the pool area if they want to fill the pool bar with conga dancing guest.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jonnhyu,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

So glad you feel the same way about our location being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City Centre and from Kota Kinabalu International Airport plus a 15-minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - which we hope you had a chance to experience, otherwise that calls for a return visit soon!

In regards to the beverage pricing at Breeze Beach Club, we would like to clarify that Happy Hour rate for a mug of draught beer is priced at MYR12.00nett from 5.00pm to 6.00pm and from 9.00pm to 10.00pm. (Specials and times are subject to change. Please check with the outlet before ordering)

Having said that, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a bad first impression on their front desk operation. After checking in, they didnt have the extra bed ready in one of the room even though the staff had already mentioned which room key was for the room with extra bed (we had booked 2 rooms). It took us few hours waiting for the room being ready.

The hotel is big with a spacious lobby and garden (long distance walking between restaurants, garden, marina and even inside their lobby)but the rooms were surprisingly small with a ceiling fan. Housekeeping service was not up to par and they took a long time to send us the things we wanted and sometimes they even ignored our requests. And they happened to forget to clean up the garbage inside the dustbin one day.

In loves and hates with their front desk services. They were found disorganised and not informative enough sometimes. One of the staff at front desk gave us wrong information about where we could get the towels for our island tour departing from their sea quest marina. She asked us to get the towels from the staffs in charge of swimming pool. And at the end we only managed to get the towels from the sea quest marina after running and asking around like a fool.

But at one time, they were quick in replacing the lost voucher (free lunch and dinner vouchers) that we had mistakenly placed on the table during breakfast.

And there was some problem with the concierge service. We had booked a taxi service for our early morning transfer to airport. When we tried to remind them the night before we left, we were told that they dint have the booking in record. We have to make a fresh new booking again.

The buffet breakfast of the sea sail restaurant was a big letdown and some of the staffs were showing cold faces. Food and drinks with limited variety as compared to Shangrila Tanjung Aru beach hotel even Magellan sutera has a good reputation on its buffet breakfast.

Overall, love the quiet and beautiful environment of the hotel. Love the view of their marina with lots of boats and yachts. The efficient internal bus services were awesome for room guests with kids. Again, their big showerhead with strong and spa-like water flow in the bath room was the star!

Wifi was available inside the room but not stable.

I think their staffs are nice and friendly in general. It could become the top choice of the town if the staffs' attentiveness to details has been improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Win555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Win555,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best service and amenities during each guest's stay.

We do recognise the importance of attention to detail and communication, which could have been better executed during your time with us. Rest assured, we have taken your feedback seriously and have addressed the areas you have raised with necessary steps to improve these issues, as well as our service shortfalls.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your constructive comments which has helped us better understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to serve you better on your next stay at Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Magellen. The room was spacious although a little on the tired side but the view more than made up for this. Was also disappointed with the breakfasts. It must be hard to cater for all needs but I was disappointed as not the usual 5 star I was used to. The staff were all exceptional, friendly and even assisted with a Macca's delivery at 2am. A special shout out to Jess at reception for her assistance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy CEO at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bec76,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad that you had a lovely stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort. Your compliments for our associate, Jess from Front Office who went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable has certainly put a smile on her face and she thanks you all the same. Our greatest asset is our team of associates and we always take great pride in knowing they endeavour to deliver an exemplary level of personalised service to our guests everyday.

However, we regret that our breakfast buffet spread did not meet your expectation and thus made it less memorable than was expected. Your feedback is important to us and rest assured, it has been shared with our team for further improvement where necessary.

On a happier note, we are pleased to inform that refurbishment plans for the rooms' façade at The Magellan Sutera Resort are already being carried out in stages. We hope you will get to experience the difference on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a review for the Pacific Sutera not the Magellan both are run by the same company so whichever you stay in you can use the facilities of the other and still sign it to your room which is great as it doubles your choices of places to eat.
If you look at the pictures at the top of the page the Pacific is the building on the right hand side the magellan is the low rise buildings on the left.
I would say the Pacific is more like a business hotel.
We stayed in a standard room which was a good size and comfortable. Bathroom has a walk in shower as well as a bath and was very clean.
Breakfast was good with a lot of choice that would please just about any dietary requirements.
All the staff were very helpful and a special thanks to the concierge who help us a few times and always with the result we wanted.
I would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear johnb73,

Thank you for sharing a lovely and detailed review of your recent stay experience at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Your compliments are a great motivation and encourages us to continue creating a wonderful holiday experience for our guests! Sutera Harbour Resort is an excellent choice for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties, ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

We hope you had the chance to visit our internationally renowned Mandara Spa or take a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - otherwise, that calls for a return visit soon!

Having said that, we are eagerly waiting to welcome you again to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Enough things happened during my one night stay at the Magellan to leave a bad taste in my mouth, literally.

It started with my room not being ready, at 4PM! I was still in good spirits, and they quickly got me another room a few doors down, so I let the incident slide.

This being the Ramadan month, I broke my fast at an event in the hotel. The starters were served well in advance, so some of the dishes best served hot were already cold when we consumed them. The rest of the food that came was not great either. The lentils in the rice was undercooked, and the dessert was forgettable.

Earlier in the day I had already ordered my sahur (pre-fast early morning meal) to be delivered to the room the next day. The staff who took the order said that it would be delivered at around 3.30 in the morning. After an unsatisfying evening meal, I looked forward to something nice for sahur.

At 3.50AM I woke up and realised nobody had rung the doorbell or called me to inform that the meal was on its way. I had to call guest services twice to ask, to which they said that it was on its way and that it would take time because of the number of deliveries.

By the time the food did arrive, it was 4.40AM, 5 minutes to Subuh prayers. I had only 5 minutes to eat before fasting began. I am not a world champion hot dog eater, there was no way I could eat properly in time!

And to make matters worse, the food that arrived was not what was on the menu. The dishes were bland, and the teh tarik I ordered looked nothing like any teh tarik I have ever had. I stirred the milky white liquid in my cup, hoping it would turn that familiar orange-brown shade, but it stayed that strange pale hue. I didn't even bother taking a sip. What a disappointment.

And to cap it off, there was hardly any hot water in the bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Noorhaina Hiraw... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Noorhaina N,

We truly regret to note of your less than satisfactory stay with us and extend our profound and sincere apologies for the shortcomings in service which you had encountered. It is most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion as this is not our normal standard.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us and rest assured that remedial action has been taken to improve our service level.

We hope you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a much more positive experience.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,061 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
661 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing