We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect gateaway”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I was in Magellan resort with my wife n 2kids. We stayed in the deluxe resort for 2nights. The room is spacious with a great view looking at the harbour. Specious bathroom, big closet. We have dine at their restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. The foods are nice. They have biiiggg swimming pool. The best part is Magellan is attached with sutera harbour where u can walk along the harbour to go to next hotel and enjoy the nice view. Enjoy n cheers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Asyraf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Asyraf S,

Thank you for that great title!

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Magellan Sutera Resort!

We are definitely a unique resort as all our esteemed in-house guests are given cross-signing privileges for all 15 dining outlets as well as exclusive access to an extensive variety of indoor/outdoor recreational facilities located throughout Sutera Harbour Resort.

Hope you had the chance to try our internationally-renowned Mandara Spa during your vacation, otherwise that calls for a return trip soon!

Looking forward to welcome you and your family once again to our side of paradise on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    1,036
    322
    125
    96
See reviews for
855
963
94
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Well I have just had the best holiday that my wife and I have ever had !!
Readers of this review please note this is a true reflection oft this beautifull hotel.
1You would not find better management & staff in any hotel in Malaysia_Borneo.
2Property so clean & well looked after .
My wife & I arrived at the hotel on the 10th august firs time guest ,I asked maybe you may have an upgrade for first time guest?.i was told we do have one sir and they put us in this beautifull room king bed with a balcony on 10th floor with Panoramic views of 27hole golf course around to views of the south china sea how great was that to start with !!.
Security!! at one stage my wife & I went out forgetting to lock the security safe that had our passports credit cards & cash .On returning to hotel saw a letter under the door it advised us that the cleaners had reported our safe open security had then came & locked it we were told to ring reception & they would come up and open for us ,.How good is that for security !!.
Would like to thank a couple of staff members who above & beyond there normal duties helped us to feel so welcome Josdie in the Café Boleh restaurant for looking after us at our breakfast.
And Hosnee who looked after us with tours .
Also the consierge was so kind And management who gave us that upgrade to a great room thank you .
They also have a transit bus that leaves on the hour to take you into the city for $1 return .
Any tourist from any part of the world I could highly recommend this hotel situated

Room Tip: Corner rooms on 8th 9th or 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Gerard G,

We thank you for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your preferred accommodation while in Kota Kinabalu.

Being our first-time guest, it is such an honour to learn of your GREAT stay experience with us! We are indeed humbled by your generous words especially about our safety measure and we thank you for appreciating the integrity of our Housekeeping and Security team members.

Knowing that our team of associates particularly Josdie, Hosnee, Front Office and Concierge Team have given you their best and that you have been duly impressed and satisfied, fills us with pleasure that we have stood true to the Sutera Harbour hospitality. We pride ourselves on delivering a unique, personalised service to every guest and we are pleased that this was a highlight of your stay with us. Your commendations will spur our team to continuously strive towards excellence.

Having said that, it was a pleasure hosting you and we thank you for recommending us to TripAdvisor travel community. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another 'WOW' experience when your travel brings you back to Kota Kinabalu!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I was very impressed by the view from the balcony of my room at the 10th floor. The staff were very friendly & accommodative from room reservation/ booking to my check in & stay. I had awesome view looking into the sea & the jetty. Love the life band at the lobby in the evening....very relaxing. The location of the airport is ideal, near airport & town. My family will definitely come back for future stay.

Room Tip: 10th floor gives an awesome view if you can get a room with balcony facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55angie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear 55angie55,

Thank you for posting this review on TripAdvisor - we love your title!

We are so glad to read that you and your family had a great time while staying with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Absolutely looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming all of you back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort soon!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the Sutera Pacific and have a good time. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast offers large asian and continental choice of food.
Just the swimming pool i found the water was quite dirty.
I liked the fact the i could use the facilities at the nearby sister hotel Magellan. Both resorts offer the shuttle bus which takes to KK city centre. Also the SeaQuest pier is just next to the Hotels which offer excursion to nearby Islands of Sapi and Manukan that are worth visiting for a day trip.

The Magellan is a bit nicer and modern than the Pacific so I would have preferred to stay there. I have booked thru booking.com but i chose the Pacific because it says the wifi was free of charge wheres at the Magellan it mentions it cost 50myr. I found its not true as when i used the facilities i cud use free wifi. I advise the management to update this as it may lead to guests to choose another hotel if wifi is not free.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frikketz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear serena86ve,

Thank you for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your preferred accommodation during the recent Hari Raya holidays.

Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad you had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. However, we would like to apologise for our shortfall in service, particularly on the cleanliness of our swimming pool facility. You will be glad to know that we have addressed these issue with the respective Department and that there will be improvements in the area you had mentioned.

Thank you so much for bringing to our attention about the ridiculous WIFI charges stated on Booking.com for our property, The Magellan Sutera Resort. We do not charge our guests for WIFI as it is part of our services and therefore, rest assured, this mistake has been rectified.

We apologise once again for any inconvenience caused and encourage you to experience our newly refurbished rooms at The Magellan Sutera Resort on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirsa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Beautiful resort located right on the sea shore with harbour on one side and pool on other side.
Great scenic beauty for the clickers in the morning and evening,morning sunrise from behind the buildings and sunset in the sea in evening.Would love to go again whenever i get a chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal,no need to worry when you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevG0yal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear SanjeevG0yal,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad to read that you had a great time at Sutera Harbour Resort.

We'd like to add on to your observation about our rooms. Offering a total of 956 guest rooms and suites of luxurious comfort, we have several types of room ranging from the Deluxe Rooms, Magellan Club Rooms, Magellan Club Suites to Executive Suites at The Magellan Sutera Resort while at The Pacific Sutera Hotel, there are Deluxe Rooms, Pacific Club Rooms, Family Rooms, Junior Suites, and Executive Suites.

On that note, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our side of paradise on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I travel up to Malaysia quite a fair bit and this is by far the best resort we ever stayed. Its family friendly and the service was excellent. The entire time we were in Sabah we didn't leave the hotel because the hotel itself has everything we wanted to do - restaurants,spa, snorkelling services and island trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Shazana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear M_Shazana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very proud to note that we are recognised as 'The Best Resort in Malaysia' in your eyes! Your succinct review is very much appreciated and it brings us great joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy the many things that Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer.

We can't wait to welcome you and your family back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO



Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Pacific as well as Magellan ; this review is for Magellan. The location is less than 10 minutes from airport and 10 minutes from downtown making for an excellent location. Any island hopping / water sports can be accessed from hotel centrally located jetty, very convenient. I have stayed at this resort 10 years ago and can tell it is a little tired. One big difference is room prices have gone up at least 50% but cannot complain as it was 10 years ago. Food at hotel is considered pricey even us coming from Canada, better eat in town if possible to save $$. Buffet breakfast is awesome. Overall a good stay 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwong8548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear pwong8548,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the Sutera Harbour hospitality on your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu.

We would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we regularly review our room rates and special offers to ensure that they are in line with the Kota Kinabalu market as a whole. However, you may also find last minute discounts through our Sutera Harbour website's booking engine too.

Your feedback regarding the food pricing is much appreciated and rest assured, it has been shared with the respective Head of Department for further action as we continue to work toward ensuring a seamless overall experience for all our guests.

Having said that, we hope to welcome you and your family to Sutera Harbour Resort the next time your travels take you back to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing