We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Wow what a magnificant resort - if huge resort complex's are your thing then you are definately going to want to stay and this resort. We stayed in a club room and it was massive, the evening canapes and drinks was excellent, the breakfast has a very large selection to choose from and the dining opportunities within the Sutera compex are numerous and all excellent quality. If you didn't want to you would never have to leave the Sutera harbour complex for anything as it is so large it has everything there including a theatre and bowling alley. They also offer a free shuttle bus service into the 4 major shopping centres down down, it runs every hour and you can also jump back on to come back to the hotel. I will definately be back - thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,780)
There are newer reviews for Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

After my last stay here last year for a business trip, I promised that I would be back to stay. Due to some upgrading work, there were very limited rooms at Magellan and therefore we stayed at the Pacific again. The 2 hotels are different in many ways but guest are free to use both facilities. Even the entrance is Magellan is a lot more grand than Pacific. The hotels are very well maintained.

The view from the hotel is great. Everyone of the hotel staff are very friendly, polite, helpful and warm. It is very rare because many 5 stars hotel staff treats the local guests differently compared to foreign tourists. No such nonsense here. Every guest is treated with great respect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My wife and I had just arrived in Kota Kinabalu--for the second time in a month--after "roughing it" in the Danum Valley and a river eco lodge in northeast Sabah. To prepare for the looming long flight back to Canada we thought an uber-relaxing beach hotel would provide suitable preparation. The Shangri-la seemed a bit far out of town, so we opted for the Sutera Habour Magellan.
Our cab ride from the airport was just 10 minutes and suddenly we were cast into the jaws of One Big Resort--the Magellan and Pacific hotels hold about 700 rooms, and the Marina with its Olympic size swimming pool serves as an imposing border between the two.
This sprawling complex seemed even bigger when we strolled through the seemingly endless lobby and saw virtually no other guests. "Where is everybody?" we asked.
"We are now experiencing the recession, sir," was the rehearsed reply from all staff.
Gossipy cab drivers told us that all hotels were suffering, and the Sutera Harbour twin hotels were probably running at 20% occupancy.
Given this, it was no problem to upgrade to an oceanview room. The room was well-appointed with king bed, free internet, and a nice sitting lanai overlooking the ocean and swimming pools.
The pools, restaurants and perfect little private sand beach were virtually deserted so we soon grew accustomed to VERY good service from the pleasant staff. We particularly liked the small but sheltered beach and the beach sidewalks that snaked through the resorts and served as excellent jogging or bicycling paths.
We tried a couple of the hotel restaurants and weren't that impressed--expensive and predictable. Better to take the five minute free shuttle or 10 ringitt cab ride into town.
The Malaysian prime minister was visiting the hotel during our stay so the whole place was on maximum service alert.
Overall, we certainly had no real complaints during our four day stay. An intimate retreat? No. But for a mega-sized resort, the Sutera kept its standards high and certainly gets our recommendation if you are looking for a relaxing oceanfront stay still within the shadow of KK shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

KK was a great choice for our honeymoon as it was remote enough for our privacy yet close to local tourist attractions. The town itself is a much laid back, but an aging centre. In my opinion, the shopping and local markets, although interesting, were all old and uninspiring.

The local food is great and cheap - especially from the open air, market type food courts. Definitely worthwhile to try them! We especially loved the laksa from the "KG Air" open food court. We also tried Little Italy after reading the reviews from Trip Advisor but I thought it really was just an average family restaurant - something very much like a Sunday lunch at Pizza Hut however I have to say that the restaurant was better presented than other eateries in the area. At the hotel we ate at three of the restaurants, Five Sails for breakfast, Al Fresco and Spice Island for dinner. My pick of the three was Spice Island. It was the most delicious and value for money and the meals were beautifully presented.

In terms of local attractions, we went on the Rasa Ria Orang-utan Tour which was a 45min drive away -well worth seeing these monkeys. They were very cute and you were given the opportunity to see them in their nature reserve park. We also did the canopy walk tour. Although the canopy walk itself was great, we decided that the travel time of 3 hours each way on the road was a little too much. That tour started at 8am and we got back to the hotel at 7pm. It was a long day! From advice from other tourists, the Proboscis Monkey and glow fly tour was definitely the one to go on instead.

We had massages outside of the hotel at a place called LV Reflexology. Their price was a third and the quality of massage was fantastic in my opinion. A better value option if you are prepared to catch the short taxi ride out to the city.

The weather whilst we were there was very humid and warm - perfect for a resort. There is always an air conditioned room around the corner so you can always take a break from the heat if you need it.

If you are looking for a relaxing resort type holiday but with a few tourist attractions available (just in case you get bored!) then KK is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marshling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed at the Pacific for a business conference. The estate is made up of the Pacific business hotel and conference, the Megellan family hotel, and the golf club and boat marina, all owned by 1 rich man apparently. They have a shuttle buses that do transfers among the 3 locations, but you can walk, especially in the cool evenings.

The room is large, but not great. It looks dated, and the tv is no flat screen. Internet is FOC though, so I can't complain.

They have 2 restaurants in the Pacific, 1 in the clubhouse, and 3 in the Magellan. Food is so so, and the breakfast is also only average. Had better in 5 stars in Kuala Lumpur.

The reception and operator are sometimes a little clueless - I give the name of the guest and ask to be connected, and they ask you for the room number . If I knew, wouldn't I just call room to room myself? Had a few such misadvantures with them.

I decided to rent their yacht Puteri Sutera for a sunset cruise. For RM5,000, you can a full staff , canapes and wine/beer. It was $ well spent and all 8 of us thoroughly enjoyed it. We also had a quick stopover at the nearby island Manukan Resort. It's nice and rustic, but cost RM750 a night. Maldives anytime, for double the price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

3 weeks at this resort which fulfilled all expectations and beyond. Warm and friendly staff, top quality food with choice of several restaurants to suit everyone's tastes and pocket. Wonderful views, superb rooms with excellent service.

So good I have booked for 2010.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maltaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi to the time we left I found everything in this hotel to be superb. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful in everything we asked. The breakfast was amazing and in such a lovely setting. We ate mainly in town and used the shuttle bus frequently. The restaurants on the foreshore were great, as was Little Italy - one of the best Italian meals I have had, and only a 10 ringitt ride back to the hotel.
The room was spacious and clean and housekeeping very thorough.
We compared to the two Shangri-la hotels and felt we had definitely stayed at the better hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,472 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £93 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing