We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get out of your room and walk around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 17 November 2009

- Hotel design is tired and old (Pacific)
- People are charming and friendly
- Surrounding areas are amazing
- Excellent view of the sunset on the sea
- Food was ok
- Cant decide whether it is a resort or something else
- Good, not great

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imran_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,044 - 2,050 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2009

I was here attending a two-day conference. The venue was excellent, so were the facilities.
My room has garden view; amenities are more than adequate. Feeling a bit pampered. The staff service had been great -- attentive and friendly. I love the pools, the beach in front of Magellan, and the sunset.
I had food at the Five Sails - the food is OK; the restaurant has great view of the pool and the islands beyond. The decor for this restaurant could be better. Mediterarnean food at Al Fresco was quite good - the sunset view is awesome. I love best the buffer dinner at Cafe Boleh (Sutera Pacific) -- great food and good varieties.
The downside is, well, it is a bit pricey. For that price, they could have offered a better experience, by including a bit more activities for free, e.g a trip to the TAR Marine Park.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anpijola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Lovely hotel, everything about it was great. Staff extremely helpful. Buffet dinner was excellent value and fantastic food. Loved the live music in the morning that echoed through the hotel.
Only problem- watch that if you have paid a deposit that they deduct it!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsyoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I stayed at both the hotels. If for bsuiness, I would choose Pacific and for holiday, I would choose Magellan. It is now easier for you to make your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwell_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed in the Pacific Sutera for a week. Upon arrival, it just reminds us of any 5-star hotel, back in the 80s! Our room facing the golf course was quite pleasant.
Breakfast was fairly good, but the buffet dinner was a winner - there were good choices and the food was outstanding. We also dined ala carte one evening and they too were excellent.
We also dined in the Italian restaurant in Magellan Sutera, Ferdinand's. The ambience was great, the trio band played good music and the waiter was very professional. We both agreed that the food is on par with some of the Michelin star restaurants around the world we've sampled. We highly recommend their speciality tomato soup, cooked and flambeed right in front of you.
We were somehow unimpress with the business centre charging us for internet. At this day of age, internet usage should be available free to hotel guests especially at the rate we're paying. We coughed up R11.50 per half an hour use.
The general service and hospitality fair well - concierge and front desk were lovely, but the pool bar staff were another story altogether - rather tired, uninterested and blah.
There were about 6 staff (one chef incl.) behind the sunken bar, none of which made the effort to come up to us to see if we wanted anything to drink, or even welcome us, except for the manager on day three. They all tried as hard as possible to avoid eye contact with the guests, fearing we guests would actually try to order something! The only time they came to life is when they chat with each other, which goes on constantly and rather loudly, even when placing order they would shout it out loud as if they're working in McDonald's. On a few occasions they got our orders wrong, plus the service was on a snail pace (half an hour wait on prawn cocktail!). They didn't collect the empty plates and glasses for ages - we timed it at 1 1/2 hours once, I had to just remove the plates on the nearest empty bench as the leftovers started to smell. And as we leaving the pool about another hour later, the plates were still there! And there were still around 5 staff behind the bar, doing nothing but yapping...
The evening entertainment in the lounge bar was so so. Again, the service was rather slow even though there were 4 of them working on the floor with 3 table occupied.
What's good about the Sutera Harbour Resort was the facilities they provided- bowling alley, karaoke bar, olympic size pool, and many many more. It's a great place for family vacation and romantic escapes alike.
But we do find that they should definitely buck up the standard of their service in some area, especially with the staff in the Pacific Sutera. Just because the appearance was rather circa 1985, that doesn't excuse them for giving the poor service. Having said that, we wouldn't mind staying here again in future... after a tiny hospitality adjustment :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarafinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Well we just came back from a 2 week stay at the Sutera Harbour Magellan resort....this was our second visit and now I can say with confidence that this is the "only" place to stay in Kota Kinabalu.My wife and I were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived and the Malaysian hospitality is 2nd to none. A special thank you to Jimmy the lifeguard who made our stay at the poolside always enjoyable....thanks mate!!!! My wife wanted me to mention to all the girls, that the shopping is great throughout all the shopping centres in town, especially if you're into shoes and handbags, and cosmetics. Hair salons are cheap also, for blowdry's etc, and don't forget to get regular massage treatments from most foot reflexology places in these centres, they are professional and cheap, and lovely to deal with.
Just on a side note ....we ate out at a place called FRANTINI'S RESTAURANT .......fantastic......italian of course and the food worth every cent....which wasn't much!!! located in block B Warissan Square. Give them a go....you won't be disappointed. Also, eating out at 'Secret Recipe' restaurant chain, is pretty good also. Another goodie was a japanese sushi/restaurant inside Centrepoint 4th floor, is great value and superb food.
Beautiful sunsets most nights, hardly any rain, it was a great combination of relaxation at the resort, and shop till you drop in town, best of both worlds!.
Any questions feel free to contact us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I have stayed here 3 times, recently in feb this year and again this coming nov. The staff are very friendly, and the service is outstanding ! The pool has a swim up bar with food and drinks that are out of this world, it really is true paradise ! If the beach is more your thing then walk straight over from the ppol to the beach ! Its in a great location, def worth the money but again is a bit on the dear side, if you can afford it def do it, its a once in a life time !

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleesa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £93 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing