We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - I love the Pacific Sutera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent - I love the Pacific Sutera”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This was my second time staying at the Pacific Sutera , I love the location (just a short shuttle ride to the centre of town) and the pools and facilities. I had a golf view room both times, a sea view would be better of course but being a backpacker at heart , the golf view room is fine , after all , I spend very little time in my room. I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    988
    304
    115
    87
See reviews for
793
923
86
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The facilities and service in Sutera is very good. Location is also very good. My first choice in KK.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DebbieTse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We love Magellan and visit each year. This was our 6th visit and as we were ushered into Tariks and given a cold welcoming drink the first thing we noticed was the furniture had been updated and was a little brighter and more modern, (It looked great, while still supporting the theme. )
We have taken and/or recommended this establishment to many of our friends. Due to other commitments we could not visit last year and so , after an absence, we notice an overal big change in the place and unfortunately not for the better. Yes, location, cleanlisness,service, was all there. But the rooms at Magellan are now looking tired and need a face lift. The overall costs of accommodation, food, beverages etc have risen.
( more than anywhere else.). The food wasnt. of the same standard and restuarants were embarrisinlgly empty (also a reflection of the poor occupancy.) There had been a huge staff turnover, with so many friendly faces having left. We know Kota Kinnabalu well, and have over the years visited other accommodation establishments.. Magellan WAS by far the best, BUT next year, where we stay will have to be reviewed...Lets hope improvements are made and there is something to lure us back to our beloved Magellan, our home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Recently stayed at the Magellan Sutera, Magellan Club. What a great resort. On arrival welcomed by name, addressed by name when passing the Club crew. The resort it self has all that one needs with a good selection of restaurants, and if you don't want to eat at the resort there are plenty of places in town. Thank you Elvis and the Club Magellan Crew. I hope the tractor has recovered from its swim.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago and we loved it. We were fortunate enough to come across a really excellent deal online for a club room. The staff that work in the club lounge/restaurant are amazing! They make every guest feel very welcomed and special. The hotel is great for young families and it is just a beautiful hotel to laze around by the pool and dine at the great restaurants. I would recommed this hotel to young couples, young families and older couples. Its just a lovely place to stay!

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Razigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

- F&B prices a little above average. Double check the prices on the menu and what you're been charged for. Asked for a Club Sandwich from Room Service. 38MYR according to in-room menu. Charged for 42MYR. At check-out informed the receptionist and got a "I will check" reply. Nothing was done to correct the issue or the charge.
- Pool Bar had no coconut at 1pm on a Sunday. Waiter says: "We have cocktails available". Premium prices of course. Hint: look around and see coconuts in every single tree. A Coke at the pool: 13.80MYR (including taxes). A Coke from the minibar costs 8MYR, so different prices everywhere. The best part: fries with cockroach for my kids. The waiter very quietly removed the serving and went away coming back 15mins later with a new serving. He never said a word.
- Breakfast is poor. Not much variety and if you seat at the varanda area, don't expect happy faces to serve you. Ask for coffee. Fruits: watermelon, melon and pineapple. No cheese available. No orange juice.
- Rooms: a 21st century TV would be welcome. Difficult to shower if water temperature keeps changing at will. Hot and cold and hot and cold. no matter what mix setting you choose.
The pluses: beautiful location, spotless facilities and rooms, shuttle bus to/from city.
Stayed at the Magellan in 2006 and it was a 9 out of 10 experience.
Pacific should be a 3 stars with this kind of service. 5 out of 10 experience.
Note to the management: I left a letter at the front desk 24hs before my check-out to have a chance to talk about it. Unfortunately you never showed your face.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linolens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Going to Borneo was a whole new experience for our family. We had never heard of the place before let a lone where it was but we still booked our flights. Sutera Harbour Resort is the top hotel I've ever stayed in. The people are so helpful and caring for you and the views are exquisite! The best holiday I had ever been on.

Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SophieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
10.7 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Property: Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing