We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our third visit. The negative reviews are not our experience which has been very positive. The staff are very helpful and go the extra mile. They even offered to send us a very early morning breakfast when we mentioned that we would be leaving very early the next day. It was a busy period but the staff continued to be attentive. We stayed in the spa villa which was very spacious and clean. The pool in particular was a real hit with my young son. Its never over crowded unlike the pool at the man resort and it offers an opportunity to meet the other holiday makers in a very relaxed setting. The beach is spotless - but watch out for the scurrying crabs ! the sea is divine - very warm and clean. Having spent numerous summers on crowded beached in the South of France, it was a very real treat to have the expanse of beach to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlex_a65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    407
    215
    119
    119
See reviews for
380
427
47
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hi my partner and i recently stayed here for 5 nights - we were a little worried after reading some of the reviews - but we needn't have been, The resort is lovely - very well maintained, beautiful tropical gardens, the staff were always very friendly and helpful, beach was very clean and the sea was warm. The pool area is very nice, and the happy hour cocktails in the pool bar are very good also! We were given a free upgrade on arrival and the bed was HUGE and the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in. The buffet breakfast was good. There is a good selection of restaurants - the Seafood platter in the Kingfisher was v good as was the menu at the sunset bar. We're not a big fan of buffet dinners - and the restuarant that did this was a little expensive. We loved it here. Top tip - as alcohol is very expensive in the resort, ask the taxi to stop at a supermarket on the way to the resort to stock up as the resort is far away from independant shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guiggy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

In the 5 hours we waited for our room we spent more money (lunch 2 adults & 2 children + 2 soft drinks & 2 beers) than we did for 6 days eating in Sandakan. Service was non existant. Beach at the front of the hotel is nice, the rest is covered in garbage. Rooms are large but tired, & over AUD300 per night for our family for the basic. Breakfast offer also quite basic. Lucky that we had 5 nights at Novotel 1 Borneo (aprox AUD60 per night including breakfast for 4) so that we could do all of our tours & visits to town from there. Nexus was just too far away & too costly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sgre6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The first room we got smelled really bad from mold and it was worn down. The staff then upgraded us to a "Borneo Villa" a little further away from the main building. Unfortunately non of these rooms were non smoking rooms. Anyway, this room smelt less from mold, but still bad enough for me who has asthma to up and leave two days later.
Food is very expensive and very bad..
This hotel should be a 3 star hotel not more.
Please think twice before you book!!
The hotel is in serious need of maintenance...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YahooAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in spa suite of nexus resort,everything was excellent!The view,the beach,the pool and the room were very good and we have nothing to complaint!
I strongly recommend you should stay in spa suite or pool villa in nexus resort,it's totally worth for the money you paid!
We loved it and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had a spa villa which was huge. The bathroom was enormous.with a steam room. We overlooked the pool and beach and had our breakfast by the pool. The lagoon park was a bit of fun and the kids loved the activities. I would stay there again. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Nice to relax after the Mt...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lezwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hotel was great and we got a free upgrade on arrival which was a nice touch. Stayed for a week on bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was good and varied although the service was poor and only once managed to get a hot coffee with breakfast. This was my only real gripe the service was inconsistent some people most people were great but the odd one didn't seem to care. The beach and the pool are amazing and room service is definitely worth a go. If you are looking for a great setting and a space to relax you can't get better if you want to close to the city stay somewhere else. I would/ will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing