We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
seoul
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I thought the overall service was good. And the pool villa was wonderful to stay for a week. I asked for kitchen utensils when I made the resevation and the kitchen was fully equipped on our arrival. The Pool villa was very clean and quiet just the way we wanted. The beach in front was almost deserted which made us extremely happy for we felt as if we owned the beach. The kids just loved this family vacation; the best ever--just the five of us in the paradise kind of feeling.

One thing really aweful was that it was during the Chinese New Year and even though we are Koreans we had to pay and eat at the Chinese New Year dinner ball in the main building. The food was plainly aweful and the price was outrageous. It was a rip-off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafkasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    432
    225
    124
    123
See reviews for
403
453
51
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I would come back again for the beach. As for the hotel, it was just ok. Nice design, but the room was not well-maintained. Overpriced buffet/food, and it was not that great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b14w4k42p41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited just before christmas a few months ago with another family. The resort is quite far away from Kota Kinabalu proper. Your best bet is to rent a car on arrival and drive to Nexus - about 1 hr away. Inside the resort itself, there is the main central property and ancillary villas. The ancillaries are a few km away and you will find the car useful to travel within the facility itself - they do have shuttles but you will end up being dependent on their timings.
The resort itself is well maintained with spacious rooms. They have two to three restaurants onsite. Vegetarian options are limited but we managed during our stay. There were quite a few activities advertised but we ended up spending most of the time in the pool or on the beach. There is small shopmart in the main building to buy items such as milk, soda, chips etc. One thing to note is that there was no WiFi in the rooms - only in the main lobby. The rooms had ethernet ports which do not work well for iPads/iPhones. Hotel staff are very friendly but not necessarily the most competent. Service gets a bit behind when a sudden crowd shows up - e.g. a tourist bus coming in for lunch... Beach access is excellent. Overall it is a good place to go with family for a few days.

Room Tip: If you are with family - choose a villa/spa suite that is away from the main building. Newer buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sridhar_srin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It's a very nice resort, with its own beach, a lot of local activities. You will have to pay hotel prices for the food, and it costs alot to go to the city on the shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

One advice for all travelers - KEEP OUT OF THIS PLACE!
Nexus Karambunai is definitely the last place you should choose to stay.

I was there for 4 days 3 nights and by far it was one of my worst holidays. The resort totally ruined it for us, we choose to stay at the so-called luxury pool villas but it was far from luxury, especially the services offered. The issues that is worth pointing out:
1. The bed in the master bedroom was broken and it was impossible to get a good nights rest, maintenance is poor
2. The toilet flush system was broken, so we could not flush and the toilet keeps getting clogged, called them a few times to fix it, still no changes.
3. Bed sheet had stains on it
4. Check in service was bad, we arrived late afternoon, about 3pm and the room was still NOT READY. Check in staff not very friendly too
5. Buggy service from check in to villa did not come so we walked to our villa instead
6. Buggy from main terminal to our villa check in left us in the van for 20 mins while he went missing
7. Bell boys ignore the fact you are there, they just stand around the corner chatting to each other
8. Breakfast at Penyu restaurant - there was nobody clearing the tables and guest were left queuing up because there is insufficient staff there
9. We wasted time in changing rooms because they could not fix the "broken" items, totally ruin our holiday mood
10. Shamri from the breakfast restaurant, was rude and showed his temper.
11. I called a day in advance to fix a hotel transfer and they mention to call me back but they didnt. When I call in the morning, they asked me to take a cab instead.
12. Borneo Spa is overrated, the toilet was dirty with empty shampoo bottles on the floor, unkempt and dirty, maintenance is obviously not a priority for them.
13. The guard at the entrance to the villas was rude

** refer to pics

The only positive points:
1. Petronella which was the manager there was quite helpful
2. Staff at the lagoon park was good

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Racheal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Brunei Darussalam
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Amenities grade:Pool Villas are 4 to 5 star.
Location:The NEXUS is a giant hotel complex which is 30 KM from Kota-Kinabalu city.The main hotel is a bit dated and has about 5 or 6 restaurants to cater to all tastes. About 2 KM from the main hotel are the 60 nexus pool villas-All facing a private beach. These look new.
Plus points:
Recommend the pool villas...simply great living. Faces the sea and the beach. Spacious and beautifully furnished. king size bed in mast-bedroom and 2 queen size beds in the other-all ensuite. Big enough for a couple with 3 teenage kids!!! Mast -bathroom is large with a jaccuzi and has an enclosed private outdoor garden. Fully equipped kitchen(but strangely no cutlery or crockery!!). Big drawing and dining room. The personal pool opens to the dining room. Not large but cute: 6feet X 15feet X 5feet deep with a proper filter system and the works!!
The pool villas have been quite a different and enjoyable experience. Worth it even with a few minor hiccups as follows:
Negative points:
1)No restaurants in the pool complex; only room service available. Main hotel restaurants are 2 kms away and quite pricey by malaysian standards. Fully equipped kitchen,but strangely no cutlery or crockery /pots or pans. Asked the hotel to provide…………politely ignored!!
2)There are regular hotel shuttle transport. Suggest rent your car-its cheap( from 50 ringgit to 400 ringgit per day according to the car )and keeps you mobile.
3)Avoid the Nexus lagoon water sports/activities center . Its run down and a disgrace to the hotel. For water sports/ island visits etc, contact the main offices at the Sutera harbour marina (sutera hotel complex at KK city). Or the tour agents at the nexus hotel foyer.
4) Poorly trained front desk staff at the villa complex. Many have poor English . For major problems contact the main hotel directly.

Room Tip: Choose the pool villas. Its worth the extra spent. Remember all the villas face the sea in the form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is my fifth visit to the Nexus and it breaks my heart to say it, but it's absolutely terrible. The rooms are clean, as usual, but the resort itself has a very run-down appearance. The gardens are beautiful, I can't fault them on that. It's as though the management is trying to impress on appearance but not substance. The food is almost inedible, and lukewarm at best - a potential salmonella problem, and it is not replenished quickly enough. And how can an international resort run out of beer? No Tiger beer so my husband and son-in-law took their own cans into dinner. The shop is very empty and the excuse is that the suppliers close down for January - I think it's because the resort management hasn't paid it's bills!!! Probably the same reason there's no beer! The biggest problem is that we're here for another two weeks and have paid our accommodation in advance. This review might sound as though I'm just having a good moan, but everything is true. Our previous four visits have been fantastic which is why we booked for a fifth. It will definitely be our last.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing