We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Pros:
- beautiful beach and picturesque setting
- generally helpful staff, housekeeping in particular
- sunset beach bar - cocktails might not be the best but for a beer and well cooked food, this stood out - chef came to the table to check you were enjoying it
- certain residents - good to meet you M&D and thanks for your kind help with our issues

Cons:
- incomprehensibly abysmal management - how could you be this useless and retain a job? Who do you know?

Specific cons:
- broken items: toilets x2; TV (took 4 days for maintenance to arrive)
- filthy pool - had to ban the kids from swimming in it after I got an ear infection - clearly filters are broken
- insufficient loungers resulting in the 6am towel placing by certain people
- kitchen in spa suite but no utensils, no shop where you can buy any food, strict contract that you sign on entry swearing not to bring any food into the resort from outside
- restaurants - some food nice, most average, but ALWAYS a problem. 40% of dishes unavailable. Chefs not sure what they are cooking - especially at Lanai, where we got 2-3 "interpretations" of each Indian dish; restaurant managers/head waiters ineffective or just non-existent
- breakfast - very canteen style, fighting for food, always running out, coffee empty, 30 min queue for one poor guy cooking eggs (not helped by people ordering 10 orders at a time)
- shuttle bus to town - insufficient number of buses, overpriced, rude driver (one in particular)
- shuttle from resort to spa/villas - insufficient and badly managed queuing resulting in anger
- beach debris; general litter - for a place with one key redeeming feature, they almost ruin that too! Apparently it is "not their job" to spend half an hour a day cleaning up whatever has washed up overnight or picking up litter around public areas

Like one of the other reviewers, I'm bored of writing this. I hope management is changed or gets it's act together. I'll keep watching the reviews to see if things get better, only then would I consider going back.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed here with a friend just after Christmas we flew in on boxing day. The staff at the resort were really lovely (especially the male staff), but I agree the same in other posts they seemed unable to solve the simplest problems. The grounds are just beautiful and amazing sunsets our room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom very clean, beds were comfy. The main complaint would be the restaurants. There was never everything available on the menu every time we would go to order something they were out of it. There was one time that we went to one of the bars and they were out of all spirits. So we then we sent to another bar who only had a select few and they told us that they were unable to make cocktails the only option was a cheap like chardonnay and beer. The buffet breakfast was good, cocktails were always inconsistent. When I did mannage to order a singapore sling it was just a randomly mixed cups of juice and ginger beer and whatever they could find to put in it and about half a shot of achohol in the whole drink. The restaurants need updaing majorly a lot of the grounds are run down and the hotel needs renovations. The beach was really dirty with rubbish (probably due to the tourists and their crap) but the sand was very black as well and different to some of the other resorts in Sabah. There was no real entertainment and the place was dead at like 8.30pm and felt almost ghostly in the restaurants and the bars seemed to close early. I just think it needs a really good revamp and boost!
Went to the Spa and was very happy with that! The prices were reasonable and had an amazing facial and also a massage at the mini Spa. This was just divine, the spa was very lovely inside as well. I probably would not stay here again, I would stay at one of the other resorts in Sabah. This is not a five star resort. Needs the star rating changed or a nice overhaul and some rennovations.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel section facing the beach. Stay away from the villas and the section that is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sassymissc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We found the villa to be very good, the beach also. The food was terrible, many items on the menu were not available at every meal. I have never stayed in a place that runs out of butter and coke regularly. The staff whilst happy and smiling we're ultimately ineffective in resolving the most basic of issues. Overall, a disappointing experience. We eventually moved to the Shangri La just nearby. We saw many familiar faces from the Nexus there also, all with the same comments and all had moved. If you can, spend a little more and stay at the Shangri La...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I didn't know what to expect as a first time traveller to East Asia!
The location of the resort is miles away from anything else and it did get costly, with cabs and buses, to get around.
It would have been useful to research the whole area in detail, just to know what I'd be in for! A highlight was meeting a cab driver who took me & my boyfriend to Kinabalu Park, Mountain Garden and close to Mount Kinabalu, for £60 each. The problem is, the resort doesn't promote trips like this, where you can have a private tour.
The inside of the apartment was in good condition but I did see cobwebs on the walls. The whole apartment block was in a worse state - dead bugs, overgrown bushes, large patch of missing tiles covered by a wet piece of carpet (outside our door).
We really enjoyed our private pool area (no one else stayed in the three blocks!) and the beach is beautiful, with tiny white crabs that run SO fast you could never catch them! BUT the sand is constantly damp and there were no decking chairs so no sunbathing on the beach.
The main resort has a spa - VERY nicely furbished with great staff and treatments.
Food was tasty, huge range of flavours from French to Indian to Chinese to Malaysian.

I recommend this resort for people staying for a few days, not 10 days like we did :( Boredom was saved by taking loads of downloaded tv shows!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

You read all of the reviews and they are all the same because it's the truth. This resort could be very nice with a little effort and repairs. Views and sunsets were spectacular. The grounds were also very pleasing to the eye but the common areas were not well maintained. We cabbed it to the resort so we were pretty much stuck eating at the resort restaurants that were just OK. I will say that my rooms were very large and very nice. I found Kota Kinabalu to be my least favorite beach destination in Asia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

terrible food with impossible price, extremely slow restaurant and room service,it takes 40minutes to deliver an orange juice!!! poor facility, lack of shower tower and heat water, dirty swimming poor, noisy in morning. One of the worst hotels I ever stayed, With this price, it's unbearable!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

As someone else has already pointed out, this hotel has great potential but after that it all falls apart. While the staff are friendly and seem to mean well, any idea of real customer service is lacking.

Our rooms were not ready at check-in time and in fact it took nearly 2 hours beyond check-in time to get into them and that was after we tracked someone down to find out what the status was having gotten tired of waiting for someone to tell us what was going on. We had safety locks missing on doors (those were fixed reasonably quickly) and leaking ceilings and toilets and mold in the shower and it is clear that maintenance and upkeep are not a high priority.

The day excursion desk said they required cash payment up front (and no ATM in the hotel) rather than charging to the room bill and listed trips in their book that aren't actually offered any longer (yet they were mysteriously able to charge our room bill for an excursion we didn't take and apparently didn't cancel in time - nevermind that we were told it was only cash payment up front).

The Sunset Bar had about half of its menu unavailable, and instead of informing diners before they read the menu and ordered, they would take the order and then re-appear awhile later to inform you that what you ordered was not available. Honestly, there isn't enough time or space to detail out the amount of frustration we experienced in this restaurant on our last night there - suffice it to say, it was stressful and frustrating and not a good note to end on.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £84 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing