We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome vacaciones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Amazing vacation with spacious room and very clean, extremly peaceful place enjoying the sounds of waves in the night. Higly reccommend to the anyone who wants to enjoy the true holiday away from hustle and bustle and clean beaches as well

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RozzalindaFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Was there again aftr a year... Sadly to say it is much diffrnt compare to few yrs back...hv to do somthing wit this htl...room was mouldy smell,furniture vry old,even the shower room also sooo stinky...i sure the smell come out from the toilet...breakfast is not bad but the cleanliness not proper care..the flies evrywhere but no one of the staf do anything with tht,when we turn up them the problem they just say they cant do anything with the flies( ???) shame to say this hotel still 5 *...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Bethanybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Helpful staff, lovely beaches, accommodation clean and spacious! It is out in the sticks, therefore you have to eat in the restaurants in the evenings - certainly stock up on snacks when out to take back with you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a bad day! Our flight from Mulu was cancelled which resulted in 3 flights via Kuching and Miri to finally arrive at K.K. We were then picked up by our couriers and left at the hotel at 11pm. We went to the reception to check in to be greeted by we have no booking for you. After some calls it turns out there are two parts to the Nexus [ the resort and the villas].They then transfered us to the resort where our day started to inprove. The room was very clean and well appointed, staff excellent,restaurants 6 in total were all good, on the whole a good experiance. Breakfast was very varied and great fun to watch the very large water monitor lizards wandering around the grounds. Unfortunately the hotel was some distance from KK or anywhere else really so you could not easily leave the hotel to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked this hotel as my 40th birthday present to myself and my partner. It was recommended to us by friends at work who enjoy travelling as much as we do and had visited here before a number of years before.

Sadly, it didn't live up to our expectations. The staff although very polite and very welcoming didn't know much about what was going on and were putting us into a room that we had not booked. They didn't seem to know how long we were to stay either. Room service was very slow at best which was a real shame.

The Garden room which we stayed in was comfortable but everything was ageing and worn. The gardens were not that well tended to and everything was overgrown and unkempt. There was rubbish such as beer bottles thrown on the ground - obviously by some other guests - but it was not cleared up. I ended up cleaning up some of the rubbish myself and putting it in the nearest bin.

There is a beach attached to the resort and although it has lovely sand and the water is warm the beach is dirty with litter and no effort is made to clean it up. All the rubbish is being washed ashore from the South China Sea but it's no excuse. The pool area is too small and noisy.

We visited the Shangri La Rasa Ria hotel further down the beach and they keep the beach in their area spotless. In fact the Rasa Ria resort is very well cared for and very very clean.

The in house restaurants are only ok. Breakfast is only ok. Food offerings were not great and the quality was poor. We love our food and love to experiment with all cooking styles. We travelled into Kota Kinabalu on a few of the nights and had better food on the street stalls and at a FRACTION of the price.

Although the hotel was a bit of a let down we kept ourselves busy with either cleaning up a spot on the beach for ourselves to relax and swim or exploring areas in different parts of Shabah.

I'm sorry to say I wouldn't recommend this resort as a place to stay considering the price that you're expected to pay. It's a 3 star hotel resort at best. Better spending your money on Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DavidGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and two teenage sons stayed at the Nexus Resort in the Spa Villa units for two weeks in July. We found the staff absolutely brilliant. They were courteous beyond belief and did everything to make sure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The staff in each of the restaurants were exceptional. A special thanks to Ella in the Sunset Bar and Grill for her personal effort to make our stay so memorable.

Sabah is a beautiful place. The Malay people are exceptionally relaxed yet know how to go out of their way for visitors.

Room Tip: The Villa suites are away from the main resort facilities. We were happy to take a beach walk but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

During the first night, the service was great. The service staff took us on a buggy right to our room, made sure the TV worked and left. Food came on time and was delicious. However on the third day, the roof was leaking badly above my friend's bed, we requested to change the room but didn't get an immediate answer. We went to see the hotel manager who told us that a lot of their good staff went to work for a competitor and thus the hotel is very shorthanded. It was also going through renovation and we were unfortunately being put in an older block which has not gone through the renovation. Otherwise, we had a relaxing time there, after the climb at Mt KK, we didn't really want to do anything except to go to the spa and relax by the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank paulineyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £84 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing