We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Berringis resort and spa for 7 days which we considered a good value for money and chose to stay at this hotel for our last 2 days to experience a luxury property...What a Terrible mistake!
First we were not happy with their villas being so far off the main lobby area. We had to commute by shuttle just to eat at their restaurants or to go anywhere in the property. The service is worse than terrible. We asked for a independent villa and were asked to wait 3 hours. After 3 hours when we called, the person who was handling our request disappeared and no one had a clue. It took lot of calling to get changed to a villa Our evening was already ruined by then!

The independent villa was beautiful but sadly nothing worked! AC was not working, they came to check and asked us to shift again! we were aghast and refused. Second day the door handle came out! we could do nothing but laugh. Reminded me of money pit!!

food was terrible too! the buffet was chaotic and insufficient. At times you had to ask them to refill the servings! The food at their various restaurant was palatable but staff was rude and impolite!
The property is beautiful no doubt but it lacks everything else! I would not recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrinaliniruban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed for 4 night at the nexus resort it was over the Chinese New Year the staff were very helpful treated like royalty the rooms are out dated and resort need a Little work but lovely place.really nice gardens and pool area, beach is ok 5 restaurants to eat at dishes cost about $15 Aussie dollar and cocktails $8 Aussie dollar a little expensive compared to the other places in Malaysia. Breakfast was great so many things to eat best buffet I have ever had the rest of the food (lunch and dinner) is ok not really traditional Malaysian food tho. lots of activities to do at resort. We went to the shangri la resort which was very nice as well but a lot more expensive for room and food but great place
I would stay at the nexus again :)

Room Tip: Beach view room or garden are both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casey8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel since three years ago. It has always been over CNY with the family. You won't find a tip top hotel known for immaculate facilities and food...instead you will find a hotel with heart warming staff, home cook food and privacy. I have enjoy my stay here along with the family...they love it too! We had an ocean facing villa, great spacing in the room and bathroom, you will love the space. Also, the lawn outside, towards the beach, it is all yours....

The breakfast, as a Malaysian, I like the freshness and the combination of western and Asian cuisine.

If you want a resort which offers price for quality, this is it. Another bonus to note, every day from 7am onwards, you can join the local fishermen out at the beach. Give them a hand, help pull the nets in, listen to their stories, hear their struggle, witness their happiness. Meet some new friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasontancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A beautiful location but really needs an injection of love and a general makeover across the site. The gardens are gorgeous and we loved the pool area and really enjoyed the beach. It would be nice if there were signs to remind people not to litter and to clean up after themselves AND staff dedicated to do a tidy up each day just to keep the area pristine. Waters were as expected cloudy at this time of year (Dec/ Jan) but we were told that it is crystal clear in June/July. Lots to do nevertheless. Had a golf lesson with the pro despite there being a tournament on when we visited (really appreciate you squeezing us in!). A special mention to our housekeeper who was so nice and the fishing guide! Lots of fun! Thank you Nexus Karambunai! We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms would have gorgeous views, I'd imagine, if the resort cut back some of the branche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place use to be wonderful...not 5* or even 4* level but years ago it was a beautiful place.

Sadly, it has fallen into a place of neglect with the new management. Luckily the manager is leaving next next month and hopefully it can regain its former glory.

The staff are as helpful as can be however without a incompetent captain all these years, this is a place to be avoided, at least or until new management can be put in place.

If you do decide to go here, please realize its not the staffs fault for a lack of services such as internet, lights or general maintenance. So please don't take it out on them. Instead you should contact management directly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Based on the very negative reviews we read about the resort, we almost changed our minds and booked another resort!!! On top of that, Nexus kept sending emails to inform us that for the period we were staying, the main resort would be closed off for a private function and that we would only have access to Lanai restaurant and the pool near our suite. We felt that maybe they didn't want us to stay there!

However, we decided to take the risk and continue with our plans to stay in the two bedroom spa suite (as the alternative, the Shangri La, was too expensive). We were travelling as a family of five adults and one baby. When we walked into the suite, we were instantly impressed. It was cool and refreshing, no sign of mosquitoes or bugs that were mentioned in some reviews. The view was breathtaking (especially at sunset!). The main master room was beautiful. The other bedroom was ordinary. I felt the place was clean and well maintained.

They only supplied four bath towels and when I requested for an extra two, they were brought to us with no problem. It wasn't immediate but I wouldn't complain about the wait time. I guess you have to understand with the layout of the suites, it's not like a hotel where there is staff and linen on each floor.

The pool downstairs was lovely. It was very busy at times but still pleasant and relaxing to use. The beach was very close by too, less than five minutes walk from our room. I liked how quiet this section of the resort was. We found no need to access the main resort which was quite far away anyway. We had a car so we ate lunch and dinner around the city of Kota Kinabalu rather than at the resort.

I found breakfast a little disappointing. There were lots of flies around and the food did not look very appetising. It was also very hot, no air conditioning if you sat inside and not all the tables outside had a fan.

We loved the long stretch of beach at the resort and the fact that it wasn't very crowded. My baby did not get bitten at all. I however, did but that was from the grounds of the resort, not from our room.

I think if we didn't have a car, maybe we would find staying at the spa suites a bit inconvenient but because we did, it wasn't really a concern for us.

My review is based on our stay at the spa suites, I'm not sure what the main resort and pool villas are like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumquattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked for 3 nights in January in the 1 Bedroom Spa Suite. Terrible service upon arrival, no proper directions to our villa. Reconfirmed our room rates upon registration and was informed of higher rates when we wanted to settle the bill. After we checked into the room, we sat on the bed and the bedframe gave way. On the first night, we reported the WC was not working and the Steam Bath is not functioning, and we waited more than an hour and had to follow up numerous times for someone to come fix the problem. The maintenance staff fixed the WC but did not manage to fix the Steam Bath. There was no Water for a great one hour and without notice. We informed the Duty Manager whom told us this is normal every day around 11pm.

The breakfast spread is another joke, one would have imagined a 5 Star Resort would have a greater selection but NO, very simple and same food everyday, arranged and presented poorly.

We went out on sightseeing to KK and upon our return at 10:30pm was shocked to find our suite not serviced at all. We contacted the Duty Manager and instead of apologizing, immediately made accusations that we turned the DND switch light on but this was not the case. This was really unbearable and we decided to depart a day earlier and switch to Le Meridien KK.
The Aircon in the Bedroom was not working on the 2nd Night until the time we checked out, and a room change was only offered an hour before our scheduled departure time?

Better stay elsewhere, and avoid paying ridiculous high prices for this 1-Star Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,209 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
303 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £80 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing