We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone to wrack and ruin” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gone to wrack and ruin”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I used to live and work in Kota Kinabalu between 2002 and 2008 and I regarded Nexus Karambunai as the VERY BEST resort hotel in the whole of Sabah. Now retired my wife and I return twice a year to holiday in KK and we usually return to old haunts to drink and dine.

This time back we went to Nexus Karambunai to drink at the Sunset Bar and dine at the buffet restaurant.

We could not believe how the hotel had been badly managed and not had any routine maintenance or upgrades done to it for what seems to be the last 5 to 10 years. To us this seems even criminal for such a wonderful asset to be left to decay. Such a fantastic seaside location and such a well designed building and gardens to be left to go to wrack and ruin.

All the other resort hotels have been well looked after and upgraded to keep up with modern standards, but Nexus Karambunai has not.

This hotel is now barely 2 star whereas previously it was definitely 5 star.

I should though say that the staff were all courteous and efficient when we dined there and the food and drink were quite acceptable.

Needless to say we shall not be returning until they bring back the old sparkle to the fabric of the buildings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    407
    215
    119
    119
See reviews for
380
427
47
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice resort to stay. The rooms is big. Facilities in the room is all tip top. Lots of selection on their breakfast menu. Got no complain at all. But only 1 thing they should improve is lack of signage to the resort. Since that we rent a car, we almost getting lost going there. Hope the management can do something about it.

Room Tip: Rent a car if you want to move around the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azharaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I first stay with this resort back in year 2000. It was truly a memorable event back then. The tagline was "Some says it's heaven", and I agreed with it back then.
13 years has passed, nothing has changed. That was the problem, nothing has change. I can see that they are using the same stuffs as last time, only with no maintenance at all.
I am truly disappointed that heaven turning to hell.
Fallen room number plates (multiple), deteriorated painting work, malfunction equipmment are every where.
We booked 3 rooms,, with stucked basin, fused light, malfunction telephones, leaking basin, decolored ceiling, fungus grow wall light, broken lamp shade, dusty floor, it's a total disaster.
We required a room change to a "better" room that was at least clean. I can safely say most room are like that.
The hotel food was ok. The swimming pool was not very clean as I develop rash at my neck the next day (may be is the bed's dust mite). But I am certain is from this resort as my family members suffered the same after we left.
I wonder how can somebody turn an heaven to hell..... From what I see, there were no maintenance (even simple painting work) had been done. More so, the utilities were the same as my 10 years ago experience. Indicating that the owner spend nothing on the resort.
My suggestion is that the owner sell it or let some other good chain hotel take over it, then, only can revive.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel if you want a happy holiday. All rooms (we have seen 5 rooms) are poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NormanChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had a miserable stay in this spa suite Karambunai nexus for 2 days 1 night.

Upon arrival to Karambunai junction from the mainroad, there is only 1 small signboard showing Nexus hotel, so we went there and ask for reception. Then, we were told spa suite is at the other place. Just drive straight and you reach there or "jalan terus saja", it seems like the distance is in 5 minutes. BUT i need to drive pass throught the earlier junction and then you'll see the area of bungalows and apartments which has NO SINGLE signboard showing Nexus spa suite. SO confusing! and the security put a cone there, not welcoming at all!

we reach there around 530 pm, try to rush into our room to catch for evening prayer. However, after payment and deposit made, the receptionist told that, "Im sorry can you wait for another 1 hour, still housekeeping work". This really made me dissapointed and angry as WHY ROOM cant be ready AT 530PM. Your check in time supposedly at 2pm. This not ACCEPTABLE for a 5 star rated hotel/resort. I felt like going to another hotel but we already booked and paid online, we are paying almost 1k per night. MUCH MUCH dissapointed!

After some nagging and scolding..we were given a room. some credits to resort that the room was quite nice and well maintained. HOWEVER, room service is so bad..given 3 airconds and 2 TVs but no remote control to operate it. TVs cant be used as no channel provided. I wonder how and why..DVD player also given but what am i going to watch?? After I able to call the receptionist via my phone (hotel phone not working also), they actually forgot to put our astro decoder! This is not ACCEPTABLE at ALL!!

No spoon given also. how to drink coffee then??

Then..the worst part is the water supply. Its like staying in a hostel as the water tap flow is bad. after few seconds very minimal flow then it goes back again when someone off the water (from other room i guess). I dont think that Kota kinabalu had catuan air. this remembers me staying in boarding school where i had to wake up early in the morning to bath because of water supply.


Breakfast is also the same thing..not enough food. Fried noodles finished as early as 830am but only replaced with white rice to be eated with soy cabbage?? what kind of breakfast meal is that? that is not even malaysian style.

We checked out as early as possible to forget all these bad memories. this is the first and the last im coming to this place.

honestly, the place can be better, the building and scenery is very beautiful but poor maintainance, poor staff and management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kekampitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have stayed and enjoyed most resorts in Kota Kinabalu including Nexus karambunai. I must say it has one of the best landscapes as resort comes around the world. White sand and a magnificent lagoon beach..however to our disappointment all the great image of the old Nexus was totally ruined by the awful smell when we first entered the room. We quickly requested to have a change as the smell was unbearable and it was quite a walk from the lobby. The staff who assisted us with our bags helped us and moved us to another room which was nearer to the facilities. Unfortunately, the smell were consistently everywhere in all the rooms!!! Its like rotten woods with bad moldy stench if to describe the smell.

In order not to spoil our mini honeymooning trip ..we decided to call and ask for assistance on spraying something in the room instead. To our shock again the phone at the bed side was not working!! YES! We actually need to use our own mobile phone and call out to reach for help. The room and the whole resort seriously need refurbishment ..I was also sad to see the beautiful garden became so unorganized and under maintaining.

The washroom even has a sign telling guests to hold on to the flushing button at least 10 seconds in order the flushing to work. Every where in the resort you can see notice in Korean and English telling (obviously to Korean guests) all the don'ts that they need to obey!! I totally think that's very inappropriate and rude gestures to do so when Korean are the resort's most supporters according to one of their manager.

We always love to hang out for a drink or two at hotel lounges especially if there's live band performing. When we visited the lobby lounge for an after dinner drink, we saw one of the server or supervisor using very rude hand gestures to a couple sitting next to us for having rested their feet up on the empty chair. This while the lounge only had two tables that included us. As you can imagine, that couple left. Later, the same supervisor turned down the music to a level we couldn't even hear while we were enjoying the music. She seemed to be trying to empty out the bar so she can go home early. This was at 11 pm and the bar closed at 1 am. Simply put...she was a bad person to the customers.

Just like most other reviews on TripAdvisor the food was worse than you can imagine. Breakfast staffs were mostly not friendly and had attitude when you requested for something. When we got there the staffs initially treated us quite badly and spoke to his other colleagues in malay commenting about us coming for breakfast so last minutely as he thought we were from china he told us rudely not to simply choose table we wish for ..talking about it was 15min before end of breakfast and there's hardly any consumers left . This was beyond worse service that we had ever experienced!

There's so much more to share but I wish the owner of Nexus would kindly consider taking a prompt action on their management and maintaining the good reputation of 5 star (supposed to be) resort

Last thing..my pyjamas was smelled of the terrible moldy stench after sleeping on the bed! Yes even the bed's linens and pillows were molding! What a horrible horrible unforgettable experience that we wish to forget!
Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

Room Tip: book rooms closer to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia,
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not a bad hotel, but for the price you're paying, the service is poor, general maintenance and presentation needs seeing to, and food is mediocre and a poor introduction to Malaysian food.
Examples of cons: - had to DEMAND 2 rooms keys for a 2-bedroom spa suite unit; staff refused to provide 2 on polite request despite common sense that the 2 couples may want to move separately
- locked out of room for 1 hour after a long day out; had to walk to reception as we thought the key cards were demagnetized but it took 2 other phone calls and another 2 trips to reception to get the matter resolved. Apparently the lock in the door had a weak battery (poor maintenance again!). Meanwhile we had nowhere to wait except outside the room sitting on the steps in the dark with 2 elderly in tow.
- For about 15 mins there was no water in the room. We had to leave so we don't know when the water came back on, but because of that one of us was unable to shower before heading out.
- Breakfast was in the sun-filled Lanai which is completely unshaded and the glare and heat from the sun, mixed with the fumes from the omelette station made it uncomfortable.
- had to ask for the chef to come out and prepare eggs for breakfast. One serving of poached eggs in the morning was not replenished. Neither was the bread and butter pudding.
- they bar guests from cooking in the room despite having an induction stove. I had to question and prod reception before finding out that they provide microwaves on request.
- When I asked for 2 plates along with the microwave, they provided non-microwaveable plates that sparked as had metallic lining. What then is the point??
- swimming pool had sand in it that was not cleaned over our 3 day stay. Didn't observe staff cleaning the pool daily either. It's a basic pool, so not hard to clean.
- we had to ask housekeeping to come back just after the cleaning to mop the floor again as it was still sandy and sticky
- check-in was 1.5 hours LATER than the promised 2pm. Nothing to ease the wait as waiting area has NO aircon and few seats, many people were waiting around in the heat and the welcome drink was a small glass with no offers to refill.
- took more than 30 mins for the promised shuttle from the villas to pick us up from the Nexus main hotel. We had to ask another driver to send us as a favour instead. It wasn't even busy.
In short, there is no initiative from the staff whatsoever, everything had to be requested or demanded if the request initially refused. No warmth beyond politeness. Language may be a difficulty if you do not speak Malay.
- only 3 pillows on the King bed.
- one has to ask for toothbrush, shaving kits, conditioner unlike many other hotels that provide them already
- flies in the dining hall Lanai and I had to ask staff to take away a bowl of veggies that were contaminated
-housekeeping needs to clean out the nooks and crannies of the bathrooms to avoid the build up of grime. Bathroom sinks need to be unclogged as water was slow to drain out.

PROS: - long strip of sandy beach with clean waters ideal for swimming and long walks along beach with plenty of privacy, firm sand that makes it easy to walk on.
- shower in master room had steambath function, bathtub spacious with jacuzzi function.
- large spacious bathrooms. if you open the master room doors, you'll have a view from your bathtub.
- good view from our unit (435) to the sea, just steps away from the beach and pool. Quiet and private. No insects/mosquitoes.
- strong air-conditioning
- bottled water, house slippers provided along with umbrellas.
- good bedding
- poor meal options

So much that could be great about the place but poor maintenance and poor staff training have made it a 3-star place.

Recommend (for FOOD):
- If you have a car, head out onto the main road and take a 9 o'clock turn at the next two roundabouts, and drive on till you see Gayang Restaurant on the left along the hillside. Reasonable shellfish and fresh crab, prawns etc. Good freshly made drinks in jugs. Fish pricey. Overlooks a river and a hill makes for pretty scenery especially during sunset.
- Along the same drive you'll pass some roadside wooden stalls with seating areas advertising roasted coconuts 'Coconut bakar'. Stop for cold Coconut Pudding in the shell (big enough to share) and 'Lokan' - a type of clam freshly grilled in their shells. Delicious and makes a light, cheap meal. I recommend the second lot of stalls as not all puddings are made equal :)

Don't go to this resort if you don't have a car or for extended periods of time. You'll be severely limited in your dining and leisure choices. Or just be prepared to pay overseas prices when you could get the same for much cheaper in other parts of Malaysia.
For the price it's still cheaper than Sutera Harbour or Shangri-La if you're in a big group with a great view and beach. If you're travelling as a couple and can afford more, give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Room 435 had a good view from both balconies and a brief walk to reception for breakfast. Avoid pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Berringis resort and spa for 7 days which we considered a good value for money and chose to stay at this hotel for our last 2 days to experience a luxury property...What a Terrible mistake!
First we were not happy with their villas being so far off the main lobby area. We had to commute by shuttle just to eat at their restaurants or to go anywhere in the property. The service is worse than terrible. We asked for a independent villa and were asked to wait 3 hours. After 3 hours when we called, the person who was handling our request disappeared and no one had a clue. It took lot of calling to get changed to a villa Our evening was already ruined by then!

The independent villa was beautiful but sadly nothing worked! AC was not working, they came to check and asked us to shift again! we were aghast and refused. Second day the door handle came out! we could do nothing but laugh. Reminded me of money pit!!

food was terrible too! the buffet was chaotic and insufficient. At times you had to ask them to refill the servings! The food at their various restaurant was palatable but staff was rude and impolite!
The property is beautiful no doubt but it lacks everything else! I would not recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrinaliniruban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing