We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful remote quiet place with private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very large compound with long private beach. 30 km away from the city. Nothing around but it has it's own four restaurants, Italian, Korean, Chinese, and international. There are also a sunset bar and a cafe plus mini mart. Price is around 36 Rn per meal and big portion, reasonable quality. Dinner buffet will cost 127 Rn per person. We prefer A. La. Carte. Very good buffet Breakfast. Spa is over price, not recommend. Taxi from the airport cost 75 Rn and easy. The hotel price is 90 Rn for one way. Shuttle buses from the hotel are not foc. They charge 24 Rn per person so better have taxi if you are not alone. Excellent place to rest and recharge your energy but not for active vacation. Some rooms seem to have maintenance problem. There were many tiny jumping fishes in the sea, it got better if you go a bit further out. Tides are still gentle in April.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shwezinhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Kota Kinabalu (KK) is located at the upper north of Borneo island. We spent 4 days in KK, and we were staying in a 5 Star hotel called Nexus Resort. The hotel location is a bit far from the KK city centre (38KM) since it is meant to be a resort hotel, far from city hectic. Adjacent to the hotel is the hotel's golf course which is very nicely maintained. We happened to get a villa suites which is a 2 bedroom villa which comes with a kitchen and a living room. The hotel I believe was once a very luxurious hotel; however, now it is lack of maintenance. Few small little problems are left untouched, such as loosen cap on ceiling fan, loosen inner window frame, battery missing in the remote control unit, broken sliding door locks, outdoor wood stains, dusty television back, wall mildew, etc. Well, it is not as bad as it sounds though. Our room was a water front room which is very nice. Overall, the hotel room was still acceptable; however, there are much room to improve on the detail maintenance. Breakfast were quite nice and standard.
We did some beach cleaning since it was too nice to be spoiled with plastic bottles, plastic stuff.
The hotel was so quite, and you would feel like this was your own private beach. Should you need to go to the city, you will need to use the hotel taxi since there is no public taxi running around the area, unless you booked your own taxi for the whole day (RM 500) or half day (RM 250) including a local driver. Most taxi driver will know exactly where to go in KK.

Room Tip: The hotel villa is 3 km apart from the main hotel, so you will need to ride on a shuttle every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankykoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for three nights in March in an Oceanview room. I have no doubt that when the Nexus was first built, it was likely a stunning resort and spa. The years have not been kind to this huge resort and, unfortunately, it has been very poorly maintained over that time and looks very run down. In my view, this is not at 5-start hotel, but closer to a 3-star. Had it been rated a 3-star hotel, my review would likely not be as harsh.

Service:
I found the service to be good and employees were friendly, accommodating and attentive.

Cleanliness:
Cleanliness at the hotel is an issue -- the showers in the rooms look like they have never seen the end of a brush as there is black build-up in all the grout and nooks and crannies. I don't think the cleaning staff understand that shower grout needs to be scrubbed clean. It was so bad that I considered wearing flip flops in the shower.

The pool area was not regularly cleaned throughout the day, so often you'd arrive in the afternoon for a swim to find dirty dishes, empty water bottles and beer cans left at the chairs and tables -- not lovely when you're looking for a nice spot to soak up some sun.

Food:
There are several restaurants on the resort and only one that offers local food. The sunset bar was beautiful and a great place for drinks, but the food is just basic italian fare. My personal preference is to eat local food when I travel, but to each their own. This resort is a very popular destination for group travelers who come on a package, so most nights, most of the restaurants were only doing buffets for about 100 ringgets per person. If you're a big eater then that might be a good value, but I can't eat a ton so didn't find that to be a good value. On our last night there, the Malaysian restaurant was serving a la carte and we really enjoyed our meal at that restaurant.

Our room:
The four of us had two rooms close to each other, both ocean view. There is a "lagoon" that runs along the side of the hotel in front of the ocean view rooms, so one of our rooms has an obstructed view as the trees from the lagoon blocked the view of the beach and water. The other room had a partial view of the beach and water. The room was decently clean, though I would recommend wearing slippers in the room as the floors looked like they hadn't been mopped in a while. Sheets were clean and we did do a check for bed bugs and found nothing. The room itself was comfortable with working A/C, tv and fridge. They offer 2 complimentary small bottles of water a day and tea/coffee/kettle in the room as well.

Location:
The hotel is pretty isolated from everything -- it's about 20-30 minutes outside of Kota Kinabalu, so you are stuck on the resort. We didn't love this part, especially because we were stuck paying ridiculous prices for not-so-great food in their restaurants. Also it was quite far from the main attractions we wanted to see in Sabah (Mount Kinabalu, etc). But if you're looking for isolation and to get away from everything, then it's definitely set in a beautiful location. It's at the corner of a big, long and empty beach with mountains behind it. The sunsets here are spectacular. The scenery, gardens and flowers all over the grounds are also beautiful, and the golf course in front of the hotel is very pretty when you're driving up to the hotel.

Overall, it wasn't a super horrible experience, but I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone traveling in the area. You can find better accommodation for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors -- we stayed on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful 5 star resort with 2 star service. Front office staffs are not friendly especially night staffs. Different rates quoted by different staff. Told by concierge after check in that we can call them anytime for pickup service with buggy, but we were refused this service when we called, we only called because it was raining and we were going to a wedding. Some lights are out in the room, broken torch, TV remote out of battery, there were tea and coffee bags in the room, but no kettle provided. Housekeeping only clean our room at 17:00 (can't blame them because it seems like the resort is short of housekeeping staffs). Breakfast is terrible for a 5 star resort, inexperienced chefs, buffet was a mess, wild birds seen eating straight from the buffet, ordered fried eggs sunny side up and it comes with 2mm thick oil on the plate. The poolside barman couldn't cope with orders because he was alone.
I wouldn't complained about all these if this was not a 5 star. It is a shame that such a beautiful resort is so poorly managed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DAnY1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

been staying in this hotel back in 2010 and this year in early march we come back and stay in again in this hotel. At first we are in doubt either to stay in this hotel or not after our previous experienced and from reading all the bad comments about this hotel. Anyway because my mum wants to expereince staying in this hotel so I booked through the web.we stayed at ocean view hotel -great big room with nice view of the sea. Our room not far from lobby area. swimming pools great. Breakfast at penyu is great compare to kingfisher back in 2010. Frustrated abit due to no cultural show at night. beach is clean. nice for relaxing. food at sunset bar is far too expensive. its ok to be expensive but with a good portion. But not at sunset bar-food portion doesnt fit the price, even for hotel standard. The pizza--yes its great and value for money.

Room Tip: choose room near to lobby area..other wise you have to walk a bit far to reach your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSZZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Definitely not worth the money anymore. We were here 5 years ago and we can see how much the hotel has run down since. Even the breakfast selection is a joke! We remembered that the hotel used to have one of the biggest selection of breakfast with good quality food. Now it feels like just a 3 star hotel or less at a very steep price tag.

I hope the management will do something and improve this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tjolynn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Upon checking in, the stench was nauseating as a family of bats were living in the roof at the balcony area with guano all over the tables and chairs.Request for rooms change were only done after waiting for 2 hrs. Action by the manager on duty was rather slow and cost us the time to enjoy our holiday for the day. Request to change rooms to Seaview or Pool villas were brushed off with the excuse of high occupancy but we noticed that a lot of these rooms were left vacant.
Next morning, we were then attended by a more sympathetic Manager on duty by the name of Ms Mary. Not only did Mary immediately confirm availability of Seaview rooms but was more professional in her PR. Kudos to Mary which subsequently make our holiday more pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the Garden rooms at Block 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny Chuah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,188 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing