We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel management/ service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed over for 1 night during public holiday. the scenery was great the sea was beautiful but the the accommodation arrangement is bad. we booked over Nexus website for a room. the check in time supposed to be 2pm. We wanna skip the queue so we reached around 3pm+ but we only got a room at 6.30pm. and by then, we wont be able to enjoy any water sports or cycling as the hotel's last booking was at 5pm. we basically did nothing on the first day except sleeping at the hotel! no toothbrush in the room. only 1 towel avaialbe for a 2 persons room. every request of the towel or tooth brush took took 30 mins and a few follow up calls.
they have upgraded our room from ground floor to the top floor because of the wait but that didn't compensate the time lost.

Room Tip: just pray everything goes well then you'll enjoy your stay as the sea and beach are beautiful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jigitywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently, I stayed one night at Nexus, but my friends & I really had a bad experience.
Bad attitudes on the management people and certain staff.
Room very dusty and lots of ants.
Poor services, called up for customer service, but the way they speak was unfriendly, impatient & rude.
No well communication among the internal staff, my friends & I just like an idiot being fool by the staff.
That is my last stay, feel so disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank antng05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went in 2010. Approx. 40 mins drive from KK, Karambunai- Nexus Resort.

It's beautiful. The architecture matches beautifully with the surrounding environment. The garden is big enough to take a walk in. The beach is all white sand inside and out without any rocks and clean. Location like Pool area and Sunset Bar are OK. I just spend hours in this resort. Will again visit the resort on my next visit to KK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank KamranTG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for a week.

The whole property was very quiet as we went there outside the school holidays.

Some of the facilities look very tired and they are in need of some refurbishment. The music / live band at the bar was too loud for a quiet season and it drove us to sit outside in the heat in the evening (and not to mention the mosquito bites!!!!!)

Staff were all very helpful.

Quality of food was just average with the exception of the food served at the Korean restaurant by the golf course. The oxtail was superb - apparently it's a favourite dish with the local officials!

Oh yes, as it's a tropical area, don't forget your repellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room where you will have a very good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inthemix516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all, if you are looking for the premium luxury quality at any cost, theres a Shangri-La resort just next to the nexus property.. this resort has been built in 1997 and of course sometimes it shows his age and it may need a renovation but the overall impression is good. Its a really huge property, full of any optional including an extended golf course and a long dazzling white private beach, which is probably the best part of the whole hotel.. never crowded and totally recharging.
We stayed at Borneo garden villas, renovated beautiful huge rooms, with high straw ceilings (the ones at the second floor) wood beams, king bed and a pretty interior design, besides a huge bathroom with both shower and tub. The Ocean view deluxe are still big but slightly older.
When you stay there, you basically experience a full resort-life, that means being 40 minutes drive from downtown KK (90 RM if you call the taxi from the hotel to the city, less if you bargain when you go back from the city to the hotel), being surrounded by nature and far from civilization.. that has pro and con, such as having no choices for your lunch and dinner but the resort's restaurants. They are not expensive but the overall quality isn't exceptional and it can often happen to ask for something that's not available or simply out of stock. Pizza at Sunset Bar and Grill is good tho.. The swimming pool is lovely (3 different pools connected). The resort is quite crowded during week ends (chinese families with children, not really the most mannered people on earth - but also western, japs and koreans - and surprisingly quiet during week days. If you like the resort life this is a good compromise without paying an arm and a leg. A tip, don't relay on accuweather or weather channel for the weather forecast on borneo.. the official malaysian government one is more reliable.. usually in june you find sunny mornings and light rainy afternoons.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

First, the setting - It's beautiful. The architecture blends in beautifully with the surrounding environment. The "garden" is big enough to take a walk in. The beach is all white sand inside and out without any rocks and clean. The rooms are big enough, clean and quiet. The breakfest and dinner buffets are superb. The service is top-notch.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Umit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at this hotel recently and it does has its upside story and the downside story.
The upside is..what else..the scenery and the view of the beautiful beach next to this hotel and the staff is quite nice and thats that.
The downside? Out of 5 days I stayed at this hotel..there is one time the electrical power went out. Thankfully, it was resolved quickly enough. This shouldn't happened to a 5 star hotel. Next, the gym equipment. Very poorly managed. The treadmills create quite a sound and I mean VERY loud sound when you started running on it and It is not comfortable to hear when you are trying to catch your breath. Trust me.
There is a lot of story i would like to share with you but this hotel is quite good but not THE 5 star good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Megat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,187 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £73 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing