We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation supervisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reservation supervisor”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not staying there but my daughter and son in law are currently there on their honeymoon, I e-mailed the hotel asking if they could make it special for them and they were fantastic, Fauziana Admat contacted us straight away to let us know That she had arranged for cake, a Platter of fruit and flowers to be put in their room for when they arrived, this to me is a place that I would be happy to stay in, well done Fauziana hope your boss know he has a gem working there,

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    424
    224
    124
    123
See reviews for
397
447
50
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We are local and Just staying here for one night with friends for a relaxing weekend, but this really destroy the whole trip from my first step in the resort. When we just arrive, the security with an unfriendly way of chasing us away by asking 'what are you doing here?' When i replied check-in, he ask another security to keep an eye on me! I am paying for the rooms and yet was treated like a thief. The check in was fine till i get to the Lagoon Park! The attitude of the working people is so so so terrible!!! When we tried to enter the park, the service person just told me this is not allow to enter and its only open for in house guest, I told her i am staying in house, she told me this place is close and you can purchase the package from the resort and even ask security to chase us out! This is so discriminating to the local as the foreigners get a better treatment! We were ask a few times why are we in the hotel by the security with a rude attitude!!!
The room have musky smell and also the shower water heat is not consistent! Tv channel not clear!


Anyway, the resort do have a great place for sunset.


**strongly not recommend to the locals! Do not try to plan a visit or stay there, as they will treat you like thief and ask some security to keep on eye of you wherever you go!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan7295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Fremantle
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely relaxing environment in which to unwind. I found the staff very helpful and always willing to please. The food was good and reasonably priced. Try the Korean restaurant on the golf course. Activities available for children and adults. The beach and pool area are lovely. Showing its age a little and in need of an upgrade. Sandflies were a little hungry!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gulilfremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This stay was a series of disappointments and had it not been for good company where we could laugh it all off it would have been a trip ruined for sure.

Every time we ordered food, a couple of dishes we wanted to order were not available. By the end of our stay we would ask the server to just tell us what was available instead of handing us the menu. And one of the most annoying and weird rules I've ever come across a hotel that claims to be a 5 star (trust me it is not even a 3 star in terms of service) is that you can't put the check from a hotel restaurant on your room. You need to pay then and there. An alternate is to put a "deposit" against your room when you check in against which these bills can be settled. The system of deposits is a funny story in itself. You want to use wifi, please pay a deposit. You want to use the safe, please pay a deposit.

Not to be entirely critical, there are two things that the hotel has got right. The location is just terrific and since the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and downright bad not many people come here leaving the beach sparsely populated. The food (whatever bit they manage to serve) is good and never disappointed us in terms of taste.

Overall, not going here again for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors give sea views unobstructed by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pm_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

the only good thing about this resort is the beautiful private beach and the sunset

service is just bad. we arrived at 2pm to check in (the stated check in time is 2pm), but was told to wait for 45 min for our room. the receptionist dint even express any regret or sorry for that.

we booked the panorama ocean view room from agoda, but view from balcony is blocked by the trees.

would not recommend for those without own transport, as this place is quite isolated and far from kota kinabalu.

there is sauna and steam room, however, all in house guest still have to pay RM80/entry!

But, we did enjoy our time at the pool & beach and the sunset is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back from the Nexus Resort the hotel is large set over a few acres of land with it's own private beach. The rooms are dated and in need of modernising, they are spacious but they obviously haven't been worked on for a long while, chipped marble around the sink, air con noisy and not really adequate for the size of the room. Meals and drinks are pricey and they wanted to charge me to play pool in the bar!! As the bar was empty I would have thought they would have been only to pleased to have a customer but it appeared not. I won't be rushing back as there are much better hotels in KK.

Room Tip: If your going off peak ask for a really good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank submersiond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very disappointed with my recent stay. The hotel is in Karambunai, approximately an hour from Kota Kinabalu. It will cost you RM75 from the airport and almost RM100 from Kota Kinabalu to get there with a taxi. There are no shops, shopping malls, or restaurants nearby. Hence, everything sold in the hotel costs 500% extra!
Rooms are huge, but very old, and not very clean
The hotel is by the sea, a small beach and there is also a golf course. But I do not think it's worth the money to get a room here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatAli494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,394 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Property: Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing