We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Isolated. suitable for couples. nice view from the balcony. beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilmama00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2009

What can I say? We were very disappointed after staying at the Nexus - especially as it had been recommended by friends.

My husband and I stayed at the Pacific Sutera in KK Sabah for our honeymoon and had such a wonderful experience in the resort and city that we decided to go back with our 11 month old son for a little family holiday.

We stayed at the Nexus on the second part of our trip and was utterly disappointed by the majority of our experience there.

Room:
- view from room was nice. I think all their rooms face the beach, although depending on where your room is, the view can be blocked/partially obscured by trees
- seems very noisy. Because of it's open-style, you constantly hear people walking past your room all day and all night.
- overpowering mouldy smell that kept both my husband and I up the first night!!
- air con didn't seem to go any cooler than 26 degrees celcius
- phone, kettle, fridge and bed side light were all broken
- when we put a call in to reception, we were told quite abruptly that there were no other rooms available (basically "tough")
- when we finally managed to change rooms (3rd attempt), it was for the same room type - no upgrade, no apologies), the toilet and basic leaked - to the point where we had no less than a mini pond on our bathroom floor by the next morning. The mouldy smell was still apparent although nowhere near as bad as our first room.

Service:
- as mentioned in 2nd last point above
- in the 3rd attempt to get another room, we were asked why we didn't mention the smell and tell them about the faults earlier!!!?!??!!!

Location:
- it's about 40mins out of the city centre so doesn't exactly give you the option to try local eateries forcing you to eat at the resort (however, there is a shopping centre about 15mins away by taxi)

Food:
- one word: awful. Esp. having stayed at the Pacific where their vast array of Indian, Malay, Chinese and continental breakfast/lunch and dinner selection leaves very very satisfied!

Cleanliness:
- as allured to under rooms, it feels dirty. The curtains, couches and bed head all seem to smell of mould!
- The pool seemed a tad dirty as well.....

Value:
- Rooms weren't too expensive, but as you're forced to have all your meals there, it works out much dearer than if you stayed in town and were able to eat locally (Pacific Sutera has a free shuttle service into the city which takes about 10mins)

Overall:
- The Nexus is set amongst very impressive landccaped gardens which makes you feel as though you are in a tropical resort especially when you walk into their open-air reception/lobby area.
- Gardens are well maintained
- Their spa is lucious!! As with all day spas, the quality of the treatment will depend on the experience of the therapist (my second one was quite average) but the serenity of the resting/waiting lounge and the decor of the treatment rooms are very tranquil. The complimentary ginger too is yummy too!!

Despite trying to list some positives, one thing's for sure - we won't be going back - ever!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enetsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

When came back to the room from a short trip, unusual signs at the safty deposit box with error sign. Opened up the box and noticed all cash was stolen although passport were still left in the box. Call the management and they do not want to be responsible although they are the one recommended us to use for " SAFETY". The trust was broken and they are totally indifferent to the loss of the money not mentioning the trip being totally ruined for the entire vacation. Police report and their own investigation was only a show to prove that there is no faulty on their part. Do not trust them at all. Be careful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank henryyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I stayed there with friends and I agree with most comments that the place is beautiful and the resort looks great. Unfortunately I have to report that a large amount of cash was stolen from my computer bag inside my travelling bad. This is true it would have been in a better place in the safe, however, the lack of concern, interest and feed back from the security and management is the saddest part of the stay. Still waiting for a call back 2 weeks on. Otherwise, the food is not taking the best advantage of the local cuisine as it propose a lot of western food (average and expensive). It's a very "typical tourists" place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean-Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I got a fair amount of cash stolen from my computer bag which was in my suitcase. Although it is clear that it would have been safer in the safe, the lack of concern, action or feed back from the management is pathetic. The location and the site are fantastic but it is obviously run in a very laid back manner. I liked the look of the resort. The food could make better use of the local cuisine and is expensive for the region. Not a bad resort but won't go there again, too much of a tourist snapping mentality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My partner and I stayed here for a week in March 2009. We were met at the airport by a car from the hotel. The transfer was quick and easy and the drive from the airport through Kota Kinabalu and along the coast was very pleasant. The hotel is situated on its own beach, backed by a lagoon. It has a golf course and plenty of amenities to use.
On arrival in reception, our check-in was a little slow but no worse than many other hotels I have stayed in around the world. We had opted for one of the basic rooms and it was way above our expectations, with a huge bathroom and a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. . There are five different restaurants in the hotel ranging from buffet meals to a la carte mediterranean and chinese. My only complaint here would be the price. While the rooms are not that expensive, the cost of food and drink does add up. The buffet meals are great value but the a la carte is very pricey. That said, the mediterranean restaurant is very high quality.
The beach was long and clean and while the hotel was about half full, it felt like we were the only guests. We had frequent walks along the beach to the lagoon, watching local fishermen hauling in their nets and photographing the abundant wildlife along the shore and in in the jungle which runs down to the sea.
The service was friendly and the rooms were maintained well. The spa staff were very good and this hotel has nice beachside massage tables so you can relax to the sound of the waves. The pool area is clean and kid friendly.

There is some development going on further along the beach: I believe the hotel is building luxury apartments. That may well change the ambience of the resort in the future. However, at the moment, there is no disturbance from the construction work and the beach is still empty. I just hope it stays this way, as we would love to return in future years for a week's RnR.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Arrived at Nexus ... looking for a bit of luxury at the end of our trek across Sabah. Which is was, but...
As this property is now about 12 years old .... the age old problems of plumbing in Malaysia, seems to be never far away...
For a property fo this standard one does not expect the shower to leak out from the shower cubicle, onto the bathroom floor, then into the hallway of your room! It was fixed once we alerted Reception, however, if it is not the plumbing, it is electrical connections! Problems with power points and the television ... all these things should be checked, in a property such as this, before guests arrive! It is the little things that tend to make a property great... they missed out here!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,183 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £70 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing